A day in my life: Wednesday October 20, 2010

Thoughts:
Yesterday I’ve made a decision.

I’m cutting back on my workout schedule. I’m going back to workout 5 days a week: run 3 times a week, 1 Pilates class and 1 weight session.

I can’t run in the mornings now Autumn has arrived. Not because I’m scared but even in my village there are too many dark places on my run and on my last morning run I almost fell over something which I hadn’t seen because of the dark. And that’s not worth an injury. This means I have to do all my workouts after work or at night except for the ones in the weekend or on my day off. My body needs at least 2 days of rest a week as I’ve noticed. And on the days I workout after work I’ve noticed I take Bella for shorter walks because I already had a workout, which is not fair because she loves to walk and she’s got so much energy. I want to spend more time on her walks after dinner too.

I’ve had a good laugh yesterday night. I was watching TV (The Tudors, see below). Bella was sleeping on my lap, she loves to do that at night. Suddenly she woke up, sat straight up and started watching TV. At a certain point there was a love scene and when the guy started caressing the woman Bella started to growl. As if she didn’t want him to touch her. It was so funny to see.

Exercise:
Yesterday no workout. My Pilates class was cancelled again, this time due to a school holiday. Instead I took a walk with Bella after dinner.

Today I went to the gym again, this time for an interval run on the treadmill. It has been a few weeks since my last interval run and I really want to pick it up again by doing it once a week. It went okay, average speed not that fast but I guess that will improve once I do that regularly. For the moment I’m happy I did an interval again.

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:02
Average time: 6:52 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Elvis Presley – If I can dream

Daily dinner

Tuesday
Steak tartare, potatoes, green beans.

Wednesday
Sauerkraut with mashed potatoes and a saucage.

Daily summary Monday October 18th:

Watching: Grey’s Anatomy, final season 6. I’m a huge fan of Grey’s and the final of season 6 was the best and most thrilling one so far. I’m glad they continue immediately with season 7 next week. We’re 4 episodes behind on the US.

Reading: a few articles of O (Oprah’s magazine). Bought a single issue of this magazine. Can’t say I really like it and probably won’t buy it again.

News of the day:

I’ve read about a French men Serge Girard, 56 years old, who returned Sunday in Paris after a trip of exactly one year in which he walked/ran (didn’t say which one) 27.011 km (16776 miles) without a day of rest. He crossed 25 countries and did the distance of about 640 full marathons. He walked/ran about 74 km (46 miles) a day. He does this since 1997 but normally does about 10.000 km (6213 miles) in a year. I was so impressed when I read this, can you imagine doing that?

Shoes of the day:

Grey suede boots

Daily summary Tuesday October 19th:

Watching: The Tudors (season 4, episode 1). The Tudors is about King Henry the 8th from England and his 6 wives. It’s a costume drama and it plays in the 16th century.

Reading: TV guide for next week. I always read the TV guide when we receive it. I highlight the shows and movies I want to see so I don’t forget to record it.

News of the day:

A 99-year old man from India has signed up for a study at the university. According to him there is no age limit to acquire knowledge.

I think this is awesome. After I finished my secretary study at the age of 18 I have studied other courses after that. I did that at night and in the weekends and went to school once a week at night. I could do that because I still lived at home. After I moved out I started a few other studies of which I only finished one and that was because my company paid for it so I had the obligation to finish it. It’s not a bright idea to start a study again since I don’t finish them but every now and then I still think about it because I love to learn new things. But on the other hand my life is pretty full now and I’d probably quit again after a few months.

How about you? Do you ever consider picking up a study again?

Shoes of the day:

17 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday October 20, 2010

  1. Good for you on knowing your exercise limits. Winter can be pretty challenging on the exercise front.

    I love schooling. I have several degrees and about 12 years of school post high school. I am still paying that off, which is why I am not going back again. I would love to go back and work on being a nutritionist.

  2. I will probably only run while it’s not snowy and icy. I don’t have to worry about the dark as I can run in the afternoon but I do not want to slip or something when there’s snow (and we do get plenty of snow that sticks around for two weeks or so on the ground here).
    I just finished my graduate degree so for now I’m done with school, though I might someday want to go back to university. I definitely want to learn another language though and work on my Spanish and French some more.

  3. I will probably never do anymore schooling. I finished high school and that’s it for me. I would maybe learn a language, or some type of craft – but never anything serious.

  4. Nope, I do not want to go back to school. I never completed my college degree and all these years later, still have no desire to…funny how what floats someone’s boat does not float mine. My husband would stay a student forever if I’d let him.

    I think you can get exercise burnout (I was getting there with my workouts) so it’s good to scale things back before that happens, and to go with what works and makes you (and Miss Bella) happy!

    Too cute how she didn’t like the love scene on TV – it always cracks me up when Paco watches TV (which isn’t too often).

    Love the shoes of the day!

  5. that Serge Girard guy is amazing! Never heard of ’em. But if he really did this it IS a huge accomplishment and NO I can not imagine. haha I’m glad you are still able to run after work 🙂

  6. What an interesting and full blog entry today.

    I like your new plan, this should work out nicely for you…

    Hearing that mans story makes me see I have no excuse for learning German at my age….I am so nervous to sign up for class next year…the stress it could put on my body and the MS…ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh if only there was an easy way.

  7. Good job knowing your limits. My schedule always changes in the winter, though I do quite a bit of dark running simply by wearing a headlamp. Have to say, it really makes me appreciate my daylight weekend runs!

    The idea of going back to school intrigues me. But the time involved and the debt I would incur do not – lol!

  8. Ok, both the French and Indian man are making me feel like a real underachiever right about now! Amazing.

    Sorry it’s so dark in the a.m.–it does make it tougher. One of my running partners recently fell when we were running in the dark, so you’re making a smart move.

  9. gosh the story about Serge…amazing. I can’t believe he never needed a rest. his joints must be made of titanium!

    and the school thing. FOR YEARS I have wanted to go back and finish. but I have a family to care for a toddler to chase and a full time job.

    it won’t be now, that’s for sure!
    someday, maybe.

    great job on your run. I have speed work to do today. hope I am up for it. I never know till I hit the treadmill.

    OH and I wanted to say I love your shoes of the day. I own exactly 4 pairs and a few flip flops, plus my running shoes.

    boring.

    have a great day!

  10. Good for you for knowing your body and for making the changes to make it happy!
    I would love to learn spanish

  11. You took the right decision and 5 days a week are a perfect solution.
    Steak tartare, potatoes and green beans is my favourite dish.
    I studied too much in my life, now I am 54 and I prefer to enjoy other hobbies.

  12. Sounds like a good workout plan to me! Running in the dark is not worth it.
    Do you remember the “dioxinecrisis” in Belgium in 1999, with the dioxine kippen? I had just had my third baby, was breastfeeding and was freaking out about what was safe to eat…that’s when things started to change for me, I became a lot more aware about food and the connection to health, and then a couple years later I went back to school to study for “Gezondheidsconsulent” – best thing I ever did!

  13. Hi Fran! Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂 Bella sounds like a sweet dog. Amusing about her growling about something on tv! haha.
    You made me really crave sauerkraut and mashed potatoes from that one photo. 🙂

  14. Love the grey boots! 🙂 I think it good that you are evaluating your workouts and going with what feels right. I also need 2 days of rest too. And I wonder if a head lamp or flashlight would help for the dark runs? I know I wouldn’t run in the dark because I am actually scared but I have ran with a headlamp and it was very helpful!

    I think we should never stop learning. I have been on and trying to learn Italian and had it down for a bit when I lived there. But would love to be fluent!

  15. I am finding it difficult to run too early or when I am done work- too dark at both times. And I just hate the treadmill!

  16. I can’t believe the story about that man!! I would love to go back to school for my doctorate. I love being in school 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!

  17. 😦 Fran, I missed your Pink Run…I did not run AT ALL this weekend…78 total hours of work. I was too spent. 😦

Leave a Reply

