A day in my life: Saturday October 23, 2010

Thoughts:
Do you like the daily summary I’ve added to my posts? Personally I like it because it “forces” me to read the news to come up with something everyday. I’m not really interested in politics but am reading about it now. I try to find other things too like the 99 year old man who goes back to university to study. I like it that some of you respond to the items and give your opinion. This way I get to know you better.

As for the exercise: haven’t been doing that since last Wednesday. I’m not feeling well, don’t know yet if I am going to get the flu or catch a cold. I don’t feel sick but don’t feel that good either. Decided to take a few rest days because I want to do my long run tomorrow.

As you know I’ve been on this eating plan for more than 2 months and as of next Monday I stop using them. It helped me to get focussed on portion control again and make different choices but I think I can do it on my own again. I miss cooking from my cookbooks and recipes I’ve collected over the years.

I have to say last week wasn’t that good, scale showed a small gain too. Reason is that I’ve eaten to much at lunchtime. Somehow I’m very hungry during the day and I have eaten too much at lunchtime. Which is kind of weird because I eat a good breakfast and have a snack in the morning. Need to pay attention to this next week and get back to normal lunches.

Daily dinner

Thursday
Pasta with meatsauce and vegetables.

Friday
R. wasn’t home for dinner and I didn’t feel like cooking and decided to eat just a sandwich and a cup of chicken soup.

Daily summary Wednesday October 20th:

Watching: Glee and Two and a half men.

Reading: Nothing.

News of the day:

We have a new government since last week and already the first scandal is here. One of the State Secretaries has a double nationality. She has a Dutch and a Swedish passport. The opposition thinks she should give up her Swedish nationality as she’s representing our government.

My opinion is that when you represent a country you can’t have two nationalities. You have to choose what your loyalty is. What do you think?

Shoes of the day:

Daily summary Thursday October 21th:

Watching: Modern Family and Two and a half men.

Reading: Nothing

News of the day:

According to the United Nations there aren’t enough women in top functions across the world. Last year there were only 14 female head of states/leader of governments. From the 500 biggest companies in the world there are only 13 that are managed by a woman. The report says also that there are more women who earn their own money but that they only get 70 to 90% of what a men in the same function gets as a salary.

My opinion: same old, same old. I think women can be as good as a leader as a men, maybe more because we are more sensitive and have more compassion. I myself have never had the ambition to get a management function. I love my job but I don’t want the management responsibilities. At the end of the day I just want to go home and work normal working hours in a week. How about you?

Shoes of the day:

Daily summary Friday October 22th:

Watching: The Tudors and Two and a half men.

Reading: Cookbook of a Dutch cook called Mathijs Vrieze.

News of the day:

From a research it appeared that more than half of the Dutch people don’t brush their teeth longer than a day. Only 25% brushes their teeth twice a day, 1 out of 5 only once a day. Researches find this alarming because cleaning your teeth twice a day prevents plaque, caries and infections. Brushing alone is not enough, using toothpick or flossing is important, so is visiting the dentist twice a year.

I do brush my teeth twice a day with an electric toothbrush but I’m lazy about using the toothpicks although I know it’s important. I do go to the dentist twice a year for a check up. How about you, how many times a day to you brush your teeth?

Shoes of the day:

365 days photo challenge:

Need to learn the functions on my camera better as the quality of some photo’s isn’t that great, am working on that.

Day 86 – Saturday October 16
My friend, the birthday girl, singing.

Day 87 – Sunday October 17
The forest where we walked.

Day 88 – Monday October 18
At the pet store buying food for Bella (sorry moved while taking it).

Day 89 – Tuesday October 19
More cookbooks that I’ve bought. I’m a big fan of the cook books of Jamie Oliver, Nigella Lawson and Bill Granger. As soon as they bring out a new book I buy it.

Day 90 – Wednesday October 20
In the gym after a sweaty workout

Day 91 – Thursday October 21
The “Farmers Market” I go to every week.

Day 92 – Friday October 22
New clothes (pants isn’t new).

Day 93 – Saturday October 23
Saturday treat called a “coffee bread”

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday October 23, 2010

  1. I hope you aren’t getting the flu! Good that you took some time to rest up – hopefully that will nip whatever sickness you might be getting in the bud.

    Your farmer’s market looks charming! And I like your new swing top and jacket – very stylish.

    I use an electric toothbrush, which does a great job with not only brushing, but takes care of a lot of flossing too. I still floss, but not every day. I brush twice a day unless I happen to fall asleep too early!

    I like how you were a rebel and put chicken soup in the mug clearly labeled for “chocolate”! 🙂

  2. I’m not sure about the two nationalities thing. I mean it’s okay to have both – but if you’re in government does it make a difference? Hmmm. Not sure. Surely they have the same rights as everyone else? My father was forced to give up his Dutch nationality in the sixties, because the SA govt threatened to take away his adopted child (one of my brothers). Thanks to that – I am now unable to get Dutch citizenship – which is a very painful scar. I feel more dutch than I do South African, so it’s hard to deal with. I think it should be okay for this person to have both.

  3. Regarding the 2 nationalities, why not be both? I don’t think she should forget or not acknowledge where she came from just for a job.

    What does de vitaminbebron mean? I thought Vitamin Barn LOL!

    I brush my teeth twice a day and try to floss at night, but I forget sometimes.

  4. My hubby wont take on the German nationality as he has to give up his South African one ~ cant type more as keeps deleting what I write if I go a little further with my comment….weird
    but will keep trying and see how far I can go this time.
    I am trying to get my British one myself at the moment as it will make my life so much easier…you cant do much with a South African passport these days.

    all seems okay at the moment…so I will keep going.

    I brush my teeth 2x a day….and more sometimes and have a special thing to floss my teeth with…do that as well once a day…I am a pain when it comes to clean teeth…I had plaque on teeth that is noticeable to the eye.

    What the calories in the food you are going to be cooking as most foods in books are not calories considerate and can make on gain weight….and then keep a check on your weight with going back and see if it stays the same…hopefully you will lose as I know you want to lose a kilo or two still to get to your goal weight.

    I hope you feel better soon as tomorrow is your long run…It has started to rain here now so I cant see us girls running tomorrow either, but will see when I wake what the others feel like doing, will be my last run in Germany for a while.
    I cant wait for Cape Town and running in the sunshine again, to feel the sun baking on my skin….ahhhhhhh bliss.

    I love that forest photo in your 365…stunning.

  5. A lot of people have two nationalities here in Italy. That forest looks a beautiful place to run … there aren’t up hills 🙂 I don’t mind that Dutch “coffee bread”!
    Have a nice weekend Fran!

  6. I like your Wednesday shoes of the day! Cute! (the birthday girl also has some cute shoes on!)
    That coffee bread looks delicious!
    I brush my teeth twice a day usually. 🙂

  7. Hope you feel better soon!

  8. Hi Fran,
    I am loving all of your boots:) I also really like your outfit…super cut and stylish:) BTW, I think that Famer’s Market is so lovely. I would love to shop there and walk on those cobble stone streets! You are a lucky girl! My kitchen is full of cookbooks too….I love looking at different recipes. I just wish that I had more time to cook.

    Take care of yourself Fran and get plenty of rest! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  9. I think Two and A Half Men is one of the funniest shows on tv. Both my husband and myself like it which is not that common for us!

  10. I brush my teeth at least twice a day but usually more often. It depends on what I eat and whether I get a chance to brush my teeth afterwards and on when I go out (I usually brush my teeth before going out, and by out I don’t mean drinking or dancing, but just going shopping or something). I am also lazy with the flossing though. I hardly ever do it.
    As for the nationalities: it’s a difficult question to answer. I know that if a German joins the armed forces of another country, he can keep his nationality unless he joins up as an officer. Then he can’t. Sure, one could say they have the same rights as everyone else, but that isn’t quite true for people like politicians and soldiers. In general I am very much pro-dual nationality. In this case I don’t know. I mean, it’s Sweden, another EU country. If it was Iraq or Iran or something … but realistically, it probably won’t affect anything.

  11. A beautiful, interesting, long post with beautiful pictures. I remember I ate a lot of those coffee bread in Amsterdam! About the questions:
    1) I don’t mind about the double nationality if we are similar people (countries);
    2) Both women and men can be good leader or manager. The problem is not sex but professionality.
    3) I brush often my teeth (4/5 times a day).
    I hope you spent a wonderful running week-end.

  12. Hi there Fran – first of all thank you very much for your comment on my blog regarding my 3rd week of the 365 challenge – I was (and still am) ill for the last two weeks and not in the mood to blog and comment and now I am in a terrible rush – just wanted to let you know that I love your week and will start to “come over” every day – love your blogging …… hope that everything will be back to normal soon and that I can enjoy taking time to blog and to comment…. talk soon – have to show my week in pictures later in the afternoon – feel free to come over ….
    great to find another blogger friend – love that blogging more and more….
    cheers
    Kerstin

  13. Enjoyed all your pictures! On dual nationality, my kids all have dual nationality and somehow I think this shouldn’t prevent them from taking a government function in the country they live and work in. Especially if it is a country with a similar political/philosophical background (i.e both western countries).
    Teeth: 2-3x/day.
    have a great week!

  14. what? people don’t brush their teeth daily???? that’s kind of gross! I’m a 2x a day girl though sometimes if I’m exhausted I do admit that I go to bed occasionally without brushing.

    I have dual nationality but to be totally honest with you… I only have kept my US passport in case I need to go back for a longer period of time and I need to work. Say my parents get ill or something and I am really needed. I’m perfectly OK being a naturalized Dutch Girl and I think if I *did* go into politics I would probably give up my US citizenship for good (I’ll probably get flamed for that somehow by someone, somewhere, but whatever). Until then, if the government says it’s ok for me to be both, then I will keep both. Which reminds me, I need to get my passport renewed soon as it expired a couple of years ago and I could get into trouble traveling to the US on the Dutch passport…

    I like the dailys and I like the new look 🙂

Leave a Reply

