A day in my life: Wednesday October 27, 2010

Thoughts:

Remember: next weekend is the Virtual Pink Dress Run.

There’s only 1 rule: wear something pink.

Let me know at the least Tuesday if you ran and if you wore pink or that you mentioned it on your blog and I will visit your blog. I’ll announce the winners in my Wednesday post and will mail the gifts on Saturday.

Due to the time difference I think I will be one of the first to run it on Saturday morning. I haven’t decided on the distance yet, will be something between 10 and 13K.

Question for the runners.

I’m following this plan for my half marathon and I’m struggling with the pace on my long runs and I need your opinion about that.
You have to take the pace (according to the plan) corresponding with your time on the 5K. My PR is 32:36 on that. However I choose the paces that go with a 5K in 31 minutes. I don’t have much trouble sticking to that pace on my tempo and interval runs. It’s the long run.

I should run at a pace of 7:12 to 7:27 per km.
On my last 3 long runs my pace was 6:50 to 7:03 per km and those were runs where I walked every 2K and felt good after the run.

My question is: should I slow down and aim at a pace of 7:12 or should I continue what I’m doing now because I’m feeling good with it. I would choose the last option but like to hear what you think about this.

Exercise:
Tuesday night I went to Pilates. It has been a month since my last class and I felt it right from the beginning. My legs were very stiff and I could start all over with getting more flexible. I’m going to try not to miss another class because it really helps and I love doing it. I even think I’m going to use Wii Fit more often for yoga exercises to get more flexible.

Today I had an easy run scheduled (it’s recovery week) but it rained all afternoon and still when I got home. Since my motivation still isn’t back 100% I didn’t want to “torture” myself by running in the rain and decided to run on the treadmill in the gym, which I did. I played with the speed so that time would go faster because I still don’t like running on the treadmill.

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:33:27
Average time: 6:41 /km
Average speed: 9.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Technotronic – Pump up the jam.

Daily dinner

Tuesday
Red curry with chicken and rice

Wednesday
Pita bread filled with meat and vegetables with a bit of garlic sauce.

Daily summary Monday October 25th:

Watching: Grey’s Anatomy.
Reading: Jamie’s 30 minute meals.

News of the day: In England there’s the Great North run which was held in the 3rd weekend of September. I’ve read a remarkable item about one of the participants in this run.

Sir Chris Chataway finished this half marathon in 1 hour and 51 minutes leaving 80% of the participants behind him. What’s remarkable about that you ask?

Well he’s 80 years old!

I think that’s amazing and hope that I will be as fit as he when I hopefully reach that age.

Shoes of the day:

Daily summary Tuesday October 26th:

Watching:. Didn’t watch TV.
Reading
: TV guide for next week.
News of the day: No news, didn’t have time to find something.
Shoes of the day:

20 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday October 27, 2010

  1. For the long run, try to keep it slow and easy. It’s sometimes hard to slow it down too much so as long as you feel you are keeping the pace easy, can talk with others, aren’t breathing too heavily, etc., I’d probably say you are OK but I’d say try to keep it pretty easy.

  2. some 80 year old man smoked 80% of the other runners on a half?
    OH MY GOODNESS.

    I guess I’ll just keep at it. SOMEDAY.

    and I simply don’t know how to answer your question about running pace.
    my pace is pretty slow and it frustrates me to peices but I also have asthma and flat feet so I know I am doing great for me! Plus I work full time and have a toddler. the fact I am running at all is amazing to me most days.

    but I am still frustrated by my pace. I am actually trying to drop 5 lbs to see if that in itself helps. I have heard it does (plus I would really like to lose 5 lbs)
    I want to be fit when i am 80. cross your fingers!
    xo

  3. I don’t ever really train by pace so I don’t really know how to answer your question. I hardly even time my training runs unless I’m on a treadmill. That said, I think as long as you feel good during your long runs then it’s ok to be a little faster than what your plan allows.
    Wow- I hope I’m still capable of running when I’m 80! That’s very impressive.

  4. Once you get to the half marathon distance, it’s more important to train your legs to get used to endurance. Your 7:03 isn’t far off the pace you should be doing so I’d say don’t worry about it too much. If you start to feel wiped out, you might want to slow down a smidge. Just come as close to the slower pace as you can and don’t worry about it too much.

    My former running partner (he won’t run with me now, says I’m too fast – I miss him so much) is now 84 years old and just did our local half marathon in 2:35. I always tell him I want to be just like him when I grow up!

  5. That pita bread meal looks so good!

    As for the running time, between the km and numbers in general, you are speaking a foreign language to me! All I can tell you is that once I figured that I can run 5 miles in an hour, which translates to a 12 minute mile, that is my goal race pace for the half marathon. But, when I do my long runs, I try to run slower than that – I aim for a 13 minute mile – most of the time I’m more like 12:30, except for that last run when I was walking so much.

    On the virtual run this weekend, I will be running it – I have 8 miles on the schedule. But since I will be in Maui, and the hotel doesn’t have free internet, I’m not sure when I will be able to let you know…hopefully I’ll find a Starbucks with free wifi. But know that I WILL have done my run! In pink! 🙂

  6. I would not worry too much about whether you are matching the pace the training plan lays out if you feel good where you are at. You may find your pace slowing down more the longer you go. It’s all about endurance.

    I’ll be running 5K on Saturday morning at the Goblin Gallop!

  7. I wouldn’t worry about the exact pace so much – as long as it feels easy enough to you and you can complete the kilometers you need to do, then the pace is good. Go by how you feel. Try not to even look at your pace until after you’re done!

    Pretty cool about the 80 year old!

  8. Depends on what you’re looking for. Are you looking to run the distance without walk breaks? Then slow the pace down so you can avoid them. Also, check your overall time. Are you faster overall by including the walk breaks? Some people actually end with a faster finishing time when they include planned walk breaks in a long run. Check out the Galloway method of walk/run for longer runs. I think he has a few books out on it. So figure out your goal– run the total distance, have a faster finishing time, etc. and adjust your running pace for that.

  9. I say that you should do what you feel comfortable with. If running, without walking, is important to you, then slow down your pace and run. It helps to train for endurance runs without such a focus on pace. Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

  10. I haven’t been very consistent with my yoga/pilates workouts, and I really feel a difference… I plan to be more consistent, too!

    Love the shoes!

  11. I enjoy hearing stories about the older folks still out there and even winning, so cool! I heard a whole segment on the Great North Run. I’d love to run it or watch it some day, I heard it’s crazy!
    Love your boots!

  12. I wouldn’t worry about it either! Your shoes are just wonderful. I am going to walk/run a 5K in November, but I really want to run!

  13. Hey Fran,
    Just wanted to drop you a line to let you know that I won’t be able to participate in this weekends Pink Dress Run. 😦 I posted on my blog why (injury is back) I am unable to run for at least the next 3 weeks!

  14. Loving the boots!

    About the long run pace–if it’s not leaving you tired for your other workouts, I’d say it’s ok. However, if you’d prefer not to have to walk every 2k (that’s probably by design, though?) you should try to slow it down.

  15. Don’t worry about the exact pace Fran! You may find your pace.
    Pita bread filled and Red curry with chicken and rice are interesting dishes 🙂
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful weekend Fran!

  16. I posted about your Pink Dress Run on my blog with a link back to you. Very excited about running in the morning 🙂 Thanks Fran!

  17. Had a great time running this morning Fran. I have a full race recap on my blog. I wore pink, and finished at a new record time for me 38:39. Thanks!

  18. So I just posted my pink dress run post on my blog… Come on over for a visit if you like :))

    And congrats on your indoor run… You run TWICE as fast as I do! hehe WTG :p

  19. I’m going out in 5 min. It’s still Sunday officially, and I’m still running 🙂 I have a photo, and will post on my blog tomorrow (fingers crossed).

  20. i participated in your run!
    sorry, i forgot to write to you last week.
    this run was special to me, as this run was my first run after my first marathon. I got injured during the race and the recovery was slow.
    thnx for hosting this run, as it encouraged me to get out there!

    i wore pink and i ran 2.7 miles in about 32 minutes.

Leave a Reply

