A day in my life: Saturday October 30, 2010

Thoughts:
Thanks for the advice on the pace. I’ve decided not to pay too much attention to it. My goal is to run my first half marathon and finish it. After that, when I’ve set a time, I’m going to work on pace.

I’ve made a difficult decision today. I’ve been thinking about this for a few weeks now. I signed up for a race on November 21, it’s one of the toughest races in Holland because it’s got a lot of hills. The closer it gets to this date, the more nervous I get, I’m not ready for this. I’ve spoken a lot of people who have run this race and they all say it’s hard. After thinking a lot about it I cancelled this race and to continue with my half marathon schedule which basically means I will have to run 15K on that day too.

Another reason why I don’t want to do this race is that I’m having serious stomach problems. This is not something new, I think I’ve got it more than 6 months now. All the symptoms direct to PDS which means I have my stomach is upset. I haven’t seen a doctor yet mainly because there’s nothing to do about it except watch what you eat (lots of dietary fibres), drink a lot of water and exercise. I’m not going to share the nasty details but it’s really bothering me, it makes me insecure because I never know when I have to go to the bathroom. Stress can make it worse and I think that worrying about this race (I think about it all day long) caused me stress. Normally I don’t get stressed easily.

My main goal right now is to focus on my eating (going to eat as clean as possible), drink enough water every day, avoid stress and exercise and hopefully my stomach gets better. If not I definitely will see a doctor in a few weeks.

Exercise:

Due to my stomach problems I was kind of scared to run a long distance and decided to do a 5K today and try to beat my PR on this distance. It was a good run, there was a lot of wind which I had mostly at my side or in the back, no rain, good running weather. It went fine right from the beginning and my stomach didn’t bother me. I had to push really hard towards the end to get under my old PR of 32:36 but I did: new PR 32:19!

Results:
New PR
First in my age group 🙂
Overall winner of the run 🙂

And of course I wore something pink:

Stats:
Weather: dry, cloudy, windy, ± 15C/59 degrees.
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:32:19
Average time: 6:28 /km
Average speed: 9.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Robbie Williams – Millennium.

Daily dinner

Thursday
We ate at R.’s work.

Friday
Made pancakes for dinner.

Daily summary Wednesday October 27th:

Watching:. Glee, Modern Family, Two and a half men.

Reading: Nothing.

News of the day: A 22-year old woman from Jacksonville, US, confessed in court that she shook her baby to death. She was angry because the baby interrupted her while she was playing Farmville on Facebook.

Can you believe this? That you are so hooked to the internet/playing games that you would hurt your kid because it is crying? This kind of stories make me very sad.

Shoes of the day:

Daily summary Thursday October 28th:

Watching:. Brothers.

Before leaving on his second tour in Afghanistan, Marine Captain Sam Cahill, a leader, an athlete, a good husband and father, welcomes his screw-up brother Tommy home from prison. He’d robbed a bank. In country, Sam’s helicopter is shot down and all are presumed dead. Back home, while Sam wastes away as a prisoner in a remote encampment, Tommy tries to take care of the widow and her two children. While imprisoned, Sam experiences horrors unbearable, so when he’s rescued and returns home, he’s silent, detached, without affect, and he’s convinced his wife and brother have slept together. Demons of war possess him; what will silence them?

This was a very good movie although I didn’t like the end very much. It left me with questions that weren’t answered and I don’t like that in a movie.

Reading: The Vampire Diaries, The awakening and the Struggle.

News of the day: A 22-year old woman from Jacksonville, US, confessed in court that she shook her baby to death. She was angry because the baby interrupted her while she was playing Farmville on Facebook.

Can you believe this? That you are so hooked to the internet/playing games that you would hurt your kid because it is crying? This kind of stories make me very sad.

Shoes of the day: Same as Wednesday.

Daily summary Friday  October 28th:

Watching:. Two and a half men.

Reading: The Vampire Diaries, The awakening and the Struggle and Women’s Health.

News of the day: The Brazilian court decided that McDonald’s has to pay a former employee 12.500 euro’s because the man gained 30 kg (66 lbs) in the 12 years he worked for the company. He said that he was “forced” to taste the quality of the food every day because of mystery visits that could check the quality. And he said he’d gained because of the free lunches the company gives to employees.

Shoes of the day:

365 days photo challenge:

Day 94 – Sunday October 24
Bella buried her bone.

Day 95 – Monday October 25
On my way home, hooray for traffic jam

Day 96 – Tuesday October 26
View of my village.

Day 97 – Wednesday October 27
New outfit: the dress.

Day 98 – Thursday October 28
Hub at work in front of a machine he made. They had an open house for business relations and family.

Day 99 – Friday October 29
Our “anniversary”, living together for 16 years. The picture is an “oldie” taken 2 years ago.

Day 100 – Saturday October 30
A friend of mine who always reads my blog send me a very sweet card and a “medal” for the Pink Dress Run. Thanks M. I was so surprised and it’s so sweet of you. The “medal” is on the victory wall next to my other medals of previous races.

29 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday October 30, 2010

  1. Love the new look Fran. It was so nice to see “r”, and put a face to who you were speaking of. I don’t think I’ve seen a picture of him before, you make a lovely couple!
    Congrats on completing your run, I haven’t decided if I will do mine today or tomorrow, on the treadmill or outside, I’m just so undecided…But I will do it ;-).
    Have a great weekend Fran!

  2. I love your anniversary picture!!! My husband and I need a detailed explanation of your plate of food. Sometimes, I see things that you post that are so different from our little WORLD over here in California, and I definitely need some explanations!! I love blogging with you…it’s a small World, yet one of differences. Thanks, Fran.
    I also think it’s so neat that you’ve been with someone for 16 years and never married. That isn’t common here but not unheard of. I think it’s neat and also, just another thing that makes our cultures unique.
    Not sure when/how I’m going to do the pink run since it’s raining. Maybe this afternoon!!
    Hugs,
    meg(Hugs are very California, right?)

  3. Love the picture of your village! And congrats on all the wins in the race!!

  4. hey Fran, just finished my run and did a video for you ;-), hope you like it!

  5. Congrats on your PR in the 5k! Great job!
    Love the village picture. You live in a beautiful area!
    Also, I like your new dress.

  6. I came in first place in my run too Fran – hahahahahaha! My blog is up, proof that I was out there. Love the photos of you: dressed down for running and dressed up. So pretty in both.

  7. Run is done…messy but done! I don’t think I am ready for my first 5 km next weekend! Oh and I wore a pink running jacket LOL

  8. R is a hottie! You two look so cute in that picture 😀

    Hope your tummy gets better. Maybe try a gluten-free diet for a while? I did my 5K today dressed in costume!

  9. Hi Fran…I just posted my Pink Dress Run pics and results on my blog too! Thanks for doing this – it was a lot of fun!

  10. Me again Fran…not sure if you can view my blog or not, so here is the address: denita-myweightloss.blogspot.com

    I’m very blog challenged! 🙂

  11. Congrats on your PR. Hope your stomach gets to feeling better. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  12. Hi Fran, thanks for visiting my Blog. Pancakes for breakfast? You Dutch got some whacky eating habbits 🙂

  13. Hi Fran,
    First of all, I love the new look of your blog! I need to do something with mine too…it is in need of a makeover:)

    I am the queen of GI issues! I totally feel for you and understand how frustrating running with tummy problems can be. If you ever want to chat about your issues feel free to e-mail me. We might have a few of the same issues.

    Happy Anniversary! I love the picture…you are such an attractive couple:) We just celebrated our anniversary on October 19th:)

    Take care Fran!

  14. Whoa! When your blog popped up I was amazed by the new look! It looks really good – very sophisticated.
    Congrats on your PR and happy anniversary! and I hope you figure out what’s causing the stomach problems – do you only have it when running?

  15. Fran, I did the Pink Dress Race – here is my report: http://fitandfabulousatforty.blogspot.com/2010/10/happy-halloween.html
    Thanks again for organizing it – it was fun to know we were all out there this weekend!

  16. Good job on your PR. I’m sorry to say I am still to sick to workout yet slowly getting better but not completely there yet.
    Run a few miles for me until I can get back to it. Thanks….

  17. Very nice! Love the pics of you and your husband at the end–what a cute couple! I’m going to write up my virtual run now

  18. I ran my part of the virtual race- check out my posting!! Thanks for a great site an I love the new dress!!! Very cute!! You and hubby are adorable!

  19. Oh I love that medal, it’s so cute!

    I did my Pink Dress Run today, and I’ve blogged about it here: http://www.hello-gorgeous.me/2010/10/how-pink-dress-run-made-me-give-running.html and I’ve posted it on DailyMile here: http://www.dailymile.com/people/hellogorgeous/entries/3909918
    Distance is 2.84km and time is 29:14 (C25K W2D2).

  20. I ran my 5k today! I think I forgot to wear pink….the one rule and I forgot. So sorry. I was so focused in getting the run in that I forgot the rules…..But, it was a great run, so I think I win in that regard.

  21. Nice photos and oh that boerenkool makes me homesick – we’re having it for supper tomorrow night although you can’t get proper rookworst here – I have t use franks.

    Great stuff about your pink dress run – next time I’ll join you! And so sorry to hear about your stomach problems – hope you feel better soon!

  22. OK I did it! http://wp.me/pYtEO-eX
    I have to go prep my food for tomorrow and then I can read your post properly!
    R is sure a handsome fella 🙂 and I LOVE that dress!!

  23. Excellent decisions Fran. You need to do what is best for you physically and emotionally. Congratulations on the new PR! That is amazing.

  24. The picture of you and your husband is great!!! Have a wonderful week and I hope your stomach starts to feel better!

  25. Congrats on your PB, the first place in your a.g., the first place overall, the first place woman ecc.
    I hope that you will solve soon your stomach problem. You made the right thing to cancel that race, the thought must not stress you. I like the picture of your village (and of course all the pictures on this post).

  26. Interesting post about Soestdijk Palace Fran!
    You posted a view of your village: I’sure it is a nice place to run 🙂
    And beatiful photo of you and your husband!
    Happy Wednesday Fran!

  27. Love those Friday shoes!!!!!!! 🙂

  28. Whew, I’m finally catching up on my blog reading! Your R. is very handsome and you two make a great looking couple! Congratulations on your anniversary. 🙂

    Your recap of the run cracked me up – love that you won! As for the hill run, I don’t blame you for not wanting to do it – hills are hard! And you have to be at peace with a race…a little nerves are normal, but thinking about it all day long means that you probably aren’t ready for it. Hope your tummy resolves itself; having been there, I know it’s no fun to deal with.

Leave a Reply

