A day in my life: Monday January 3, 2011

Thoughts:
One of the things I want with my blog in 2011 is make it more personal. Meaning I want to tell you more about the things I’ve been up too and not just talk about running, exercise and weight loss. Not every post will be about things I’ve done because honestly my life can be pretty boring most of the days and excist only of working, exercising, eating and sleeping 🙂

So let me catch up you what happened since my last regular post on December 29th. That evening we went to see a musical: We will rock you. It was fantastic, only Queen songs which we all knew. We had a great time.

New Year’s eve we stayed at home. We didn’t know how Bella would respond to all the fireworks but she’s one macho dog, she wasn’t afraid at all. In fact I had her in my arms at midnight and she was actually watching the fireworks. At 11.30 pm we decided to walk to my best friends house to toast with them on the New Year. We stayed there till 2 am and I was in bed by 2.30 am.

New Year’s day it’s common here that you visit your family to wish them a happy New Year. First we went to see my Mom and after that we went to my mother in law. At my mom it was just us because my sister is on a vacation in Spain at the moment. At my mil all R.’s brothers and sisters were there.

We were home around 4. We were glad we could spend the night at home and watched “Avatar”. First time we saw this movie and I didn’t know what to expect but I loved it. The setting was beautiful.

Sunday was a relaxing day. I watched some tv shows, did some reading, made a puzzle and took a walk with Bella. It was cold but the sun was shining, beautiful Winter day.

Today I started counting Points again and track everything at Weight Watchers online. And it was back to work, boy 5.30 am is really early again after waking up later the past 1,5 week. But it feels good to be back in my usual routine.

Exercise:
The past 2 weeks I have run just once! And I’m okay with that. It felt good to take a “vacation” from working out and running. But today I had to start again. When I came home I changed immediately into my running clothes and went for a run. I did 5K/3.1 miles to start slowly again, I could feel I haven’t been running much lately. It was not really cold: 2C (35 degrees) and it was dry.

After dinner I took Bella for a 30 minute walk and after that I did week 1, day 1 of the 100 push ups program and did 12 push ups (the real ones, not the girly ones). I’d say today was a success at exercising.

Daily dinner

Monday January 3
Sauerkraut with mashed potatoes and sausage.

17 responses to “A day in my life: Monday January 3, 2011

  1. sounds like a great way to spend new years Fran.
    I too took a break from running, and it was so hard to start up again, but I am getting my 30 minutes of some sort of excersice in and it’s feeling great.
    Looking forward to the new blog layout I love to learn new things about you.

  2. My favorite dinner! I had sauerkraut last night and get to have it again tonight!

  3. I’ve looked at doing the 100 push up plan….but keep forgetting. Might be something fun to start!

    Beautiful winter days. It’s amazing how, if the sun is shining, the cold weather doesn’t bother me as much.

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!

  4. I would love to see that Queen show! Sounds like you are off to a great new year, even if it’s tough to get back into the sound of the alarm!

  5. Ahhh you did much better than we did… Mr. Helen talked me into going to our bed at 11:30 to finish watching the countdown to midnight there and HE FELL ASLEEP! So, I watched the ball drop in Times Square then went to sleep myself. It’s funny because we usually go to a friend’s house and have no trouble at all staying awake. Something about being in the comfort of home.

    You can get back into the running groove… you might have to will yourself to do it is all.

    I am dreading my early wake-up tomorrow. I have enjoyed sleeping in!

  6. NIce start to the New Year – sounds as though it was all very relaxing. Now you are rested and ready to run!

  7. Some similarities here. I was up at 5:30 – back to work- and back counting WW points too! Good luck with it.

  8. Sounds like a lovely holiday. I wish I could have seen that concert with you! Although I would have been singing like that guy behind you 😉

    Are you doing the pointsplus program with WW? I think that is the program that has been over in Europe for a while that just was introduced here.

  9. I love that you are writing more about your life – it’s really interesting to see what you do on a daily basis. I find it fascinating that you can walk to your friend’s house – my town is really not set up for walking (neighborhoods are separated by busy streets with not many sidewalks), so it just doesn’t occur to me that walking is an option. Sad, really.

    I’ve never seen Avatar. But I do loves me some Queen – their music was a big part of my high school experience.

  10. Great to have one’s routine back after a break….
    I havent seen Avatar yet, my family watched it while I edited pics upstairs.

  11. Love the new approach- thanks for sharing…The kraut and kilbase looks yummy..

  12. 12 push ups?! You’re my hero. I can’t do one. I’m not even kidding.

    Sounds like a lovely New Years. I was in bed before midnight! Not the party animal I used to be.

    I look forward to hearing more of the personal stuff. Not that I don’t like what you write about, I do, but I’d like to learn more about you. 🙂

  13. Sounds like you had a very nice holiday. I too am back to work today after being off for a week and a half. The alarm went off WAY too early. We visited a couple different friends for New Years and shuttled our kids to and from their friends places. 100Km on the car that night!! hahaa. I haven’t seen Avatar yet. I hear it’s quite good.

  14. So, did your WW change too? I’m learning the new Points Plus system. I like that you will tell us more about the rest of your life. I’m excited. 🙂

  15. Fun change and or addition to your blogging. I always like it when people switch up their approaches to blogging, it’s fun!
    I’m glad you had a nice New Years and I’m going to give “Avatar” a try. I’ve been resisting!
    Thanks for always being so positive with your comments and sentiments, you are a treasure! I do appreciate you, Fran!!
    Have a nice rest of the week!

  16. Hi Fran,
    Mmmm, sauerkraut, potatoes and sausage…can you tell I am about 80% German:)

    I also just saw Avitar for the first time a few weeks ago and loved it! I agree it was beautiful and so much different than what I thought it would be like.

    Good luck to you in 2011! May it bring you all things wonderful:) Hugs!

  17. happy new year!! 🙂 i love the new WW plan!

Leave a Reply

