A day in my life: Saturday January 8, 2011

Thoughts:
Thursday one of my best friends had her birthday. My two best friends both are having their birthday in the first week of the year. Last Sunday it was K’s birthday but she’s on vacation in Las Vegas and LA and will be back next week. Thursday it was T’s birthday. R. and I went over there Thursday night and it was very pleasant. Those of you who read my blog for over a year may remember that T. and I don’t exchange birthday gifts. Instead we cook for each other as a gift. So in 2 weeks T. is coming over and I cook for her.

We also decided to have a cooking night 3 to 4 times a year. This will be together with our husbands. We both love to cook and love to cook for others.

Friday was my day off (switched from Thursday to Friday this year). I cleaned my house in the morning and had an appointment at the hairdresser in the afternoon. Got myself a haircut and had a color. I really don’t want to know how many grey hairs I’ve got by now 🙂

Exercise:
I’ve got a new schedule for the training for my half marathon. Before I decided to use this I asked advice at Heidi, Shelley, Helen and Meg and they helped me a lot. Thank you girls, appreciate it.

The schedule is based on my fastest 10K time and on the average km’s/miles I’ve been running in a week. You could choose the day for your long run which is Saturday for me. And you could choose if you want to train easy, average, hard, extreme. I choose average.

After that I got a 15 week schedule that tells me when I have to run which distance at what pace. If I follow this I should finish the half marathon in 2.5 hours which for me is a great time as I’m a slow runner. The biggest challenge in the schedule will be the pace, I have to run a lot slower than I’m used to but I’m going to try this.

The schedule starts on Monday and I decided to do a 6K/3.7 miles run today and try to run at a slower pace. I still have to run even slower than today but it felt so good. My runs in the past half year have almost all been a struggle to complete it and while running today it came to me that maybe I was pushing myself too hard. The past few months there hasn’t been one single run, not even on the short distances, where I didn’t walk for a bit. Today I ran 6K without walking, I stopped once to take a picture. I felt fantastic when I was done.

I really think this new schedule will work for me and I’m excited to start with it. From today I’m focussing on distance at the right pace and no longer on how long I’m running.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, first sunshine, later rain, 10C/50 degrees.
Distance: 6 K / 3.7 miles
Time: 00:45:44
Average time: 7:37 /km
Average speed: 7.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Madonna – Like a virgin.

Daily dinner

Thursday January 5
Veal meat, potatoes, green beans.

Friday January 6
Tried a new recipe: beef tenderloin marinated in soy sauce, sesame oil and garlic. Stir-fried with red onion, courgette, broccoli and noodles.

365 days photo challenge 2011

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Day 1 – January 1
Our garden, every first day of the month I will take a photo of how our garden looks at that moment.

Day 2 – January 2
Photo taken while walking with Bella. Beautiful Winter day: cold but sunshine.

Day 3 – January 3
Back at WW: counting Points.

Day 4 – January 4
Restaurant where we had the New Year’s reception from R’s work. As you can see I need to learn my camera better. Not a good photo.

Day 5 – January 5
I got these flowers from a manager I worked for for the past 8 years. He works at a different department now and I stopped working for him because I have to much work for my other managers. This was his way of saying: thank you for all you’ve done for me.

Day 6 – January 6
My friend T. reading the card with the invitation for a dinner at my place.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Day 7 – January 7
I’m so tired … let me sleep …

Day 8 – January 8
Beautiful sunrise during my morning run.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday January 8, 2011

  1. Your garden is so beautiful. I look forward to seeing it each month. 😉
    Sounds like you have a good half marathon plan!

  2. Awesome pics Fran. Going slow will ultimately make you faster. Maybe you can add one day of speed work. Awesome that you are training for a half.

  3. Poor Bella, she needs to rest after all that work!
    I like your schedule, only a little tip: don’t focus yourself on the pace, run following the feeling of the moment. I am sure 100% that you will easily break the 2h30′ barrier if you don’t watch the clock.

  4. That stir-fry looks amazing. And I love the idea of doing 3-4 cook together days.

    Adorable dog too. =)

  5. All of your pictures made me smile! Great idea to take a picture of your garden on the first of each month – that will make a wonderful retrospective at the end of the year.

    Glad I could offer some help with your running plan. I have to say, forcing yourself to run slower is hard – I did it today, and kept catching myself going too fast. I’m sure with practice it will get easier. You are going to do great with your half marathon and I am so excited for you to be doing this!

  6. Its great to see you doing the 365 Challenge again, I am finding this challenge so interesting and nearly at 200 already…time flies…was easy while on holiday and with guests to photograph, but know I have to put my thinking cap on again when there is no one to photograph.
    Loved seeing the world around you there in Holland.
    The snow has also melted here ~ such a pleasure and temps were 15 degrees…great running weather, I see Christine went for a run today while we walked around Koln and took today as my rest day.

  7. Nice pictures. Bella does look quite tired!

  8. Great job on the run! LOL at the grey hairs. One nice thing about having lighter colored hair is that the grey doesn’t show so much 😀

    Love the garden pictures.

  9. Running slower will teach you how to endure longer distances. Then when you race – voila! You’ll be faster. It works, it really does.

  10. You are doing great! I have to color my hair regularly. I started to get gray’s in my early 30’s – not fair.

  11. That last picture is so beautiful. It’s funny to hear you say your friend is in Las Vegas. That’s something many people from here do because it’s such a short flight (3 hours I think). A little longer for your friend I imagine.

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your run on the new plan. Sounds like it will be very compatible with you.

  12. I also added some new stuff to my exercise routine from last week 🙂
    Nice pictures.

  13. It seems that you worked for a very kind manager, considering the beautiful gift which you got on January 5 🙂

    I hope that the new schedule will work for you. Enjoy your training for the half marathon Fran!

    Thanks for your last comment on my blog about stop running. It was interesting. I really think that you wasn’t inpolite when the car stopped and wanted to know directions. You’re right, we don’t want to stop running. And we can’t sometimes stop running.

  14. That veal looks marvelous!!!!!!

    Glad to hear you’ve found a training plan that you’re happy with. Good luck!!!

  15. pictures are gorgeous Fran, Love Bella!
    Your garden looks so sad in the winter, I much prefer it in the summer, when it’s perky, green, with lots of plant and the sun shine shining over it! Can winter end already?????????????

  16. I love your photo challenge! It’s fun to see all the different photos. And I bet in a year when you look back at them all you will cherish them! Love this idea.

Leave a Reply

