A day in my life: Saturday January 15, 2011

Thoughts:
Thursday was a crazy day at work, been in a meeting from 9 am till 3.30 pm. After that it was checking my email and go home. After dinner I did my weekly grocery shopping. Thursdays around 6.30 pm it’s not busy at my supermarket so I prefer to do my shopping at that time.

Yesterday we had an appointment at the bank after work to discuss our mortgage. Never like to do these things but they are necessary. What I liked about it is that they could calculate if we still could pay our mortgage if one of us can’t work anymore or when we retire or even if one of us dies. In all cases we don’t have to worry, we can still pay for everything. That’s always good to know.

I received a Stylish award from Staci, Darlene and the lovely Natalia. Thank you very much ladies, I’m honored. I have to admit that I am always touched if someone gives me an award but I never seem to have the time to sit down for it and pass it on. But this one made me think. You have to tell 7 random things about yourself. What I’ve come up with is that I’m going to put a top 5 or 10 list of things I like or things about me on my blog every Wednesday. This way you will also get to know me better or know what I like.

Exercise:
Thursday and Friday were rest days. This morning I had my long run scheduled: 9.8K (6 miles).

Weather conditions were perfect for a run. I’m still having trouble to reach the pace the schedule recommends. But I am running slower than I did before and am comfortable at that pace. I will keep on trying to run slower but as long as I feel good at the paces I run now, I won’t worry too much about it.

During my run I’ve been thinking about other races this year. I already signed up for the “Marikenloop” It’s the biggest ladies run in Holland. I signed up last year for it but didn’t go. This race is in May. I want to do 3 other races this year: a 16K or 10K in September, another half marathon in October and a 15K in November.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, dry, windy, 9C/48 degrees.
Distance: 9.6 K / 6 miles
Time: 01:11:37
Average time: 7:28 /km
Average speed: 8.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bon Jovi – Living on a prayer.

Daily dinner

Thursday January 13
Pasta with chicken breast, mushrooms, leek and “Boursin” (cream cheese with herbs).

Friday January 14
Have to be honest: we had fast food after our appointment at the bank. French fries and a hamburger. I didn’t take a photo but I did track the Points.

365 days photo challenge 2011

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Day 9 – Sunday January 9
Forest/Park walk with Bella.

Day 10 – Monday January 10
My photo wall at work, always makes me smile looking at it. All photos are work related or with co-workers.

Day 11 – Tuesday January 11
K. is about to open her birthday present.

Day 12 – Wednesday January 12
The Adidas shirt for Pilates I got from K.

Day 13 – Thursday January 13
The fruits and veggies department at my supermarket.

Day 14 – Friday January 14
My new running jacket.

18 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday January 15, 2011

  1. Love the jacket! Which races will you be doing? I signed up for Utrecht 1/2 and I will probably also do the Breda singelloop 1/2 and the Nijmegen one in the fall. Would be fun to meet up!
    Alinda

  2. Love that running jacket!

    bravo to you on talking with the bank. Too many people have no clue as to what is going on in their financial lives.

  3. loved this entry with all the photos, loved the jacket EVEN MORE – So something I would wear ;-).
    Have a great weekend Fran!
    I’m already done my workout for the day, this aft is J’s birthday party 😉

  4. That is a cute jacket, Fran! Perfect for finding you out in the snow. Your market’s fruit and veggie section is wonderful and I notice that no one is there. Perfect! That section of the market at our place is always a traffic jam!
    Can’t wait to read your Stylish Blogger post!

  5. I love the pics. you post!! Always different things! The market here on post is never that empty..lol Looks like your training is going good!

  6. Love the jacket! What brand is it?

  7. Your forest/park walk looks lovely!

  8. I love that Adidas shirt!!! And the jacket is perfect! Your pictures are always so much fun to see. 🙂

    I love looking at our mortgage statement – our company sends one out every month even though I have the payment automatically drafted through my bank. Our interest rate is low, it was a 15 year mortgage, and for the last few years the amount we are paying toward the principal is about twice what is going towards interest, so I can see the balance really dropping. Exciting to know that we will be paid off (if we don’t move) in about 5 years! Glad you faced your mortgage – always good to know what is going on, even if it’s not always comfortable to face.

  9. The shirt and jacket are nice. I want to run in the largest women’s race in Holland. I’m with Meg, the stylish award thing is fun to read.

  10. I like the Adidas shirt !!

  11. Great that you are enjoying your new training program, its been a while where read your blog and its all happy…having good runs sure can lift ones spirits and the weather has been awesome for outdoor runs as well…
    You will reach your goal this time for sure and we are all here supporting you.

    Great to see your different pics for the 364…I love this project.

  12. Love the shirt and the supermarket looks wonderful! Makes me miss holland – good thing my parents are coming over on Tuesday with liquorice and stroopwafels…

  13. I love that you are doing the 365 photos challenges. Great pictures! I love your Pilates T-Shirt.

    Have a great week!

  14. Beautiful color on the coat and I think the Pilates T-shirt is very beautiful.

  15. Two marathon in one year? Woman, you rock!

    I’m looking forward to Wednesdays now.

    Love the 365!

  16. Yes, curious about what you are going to write on Wednesday! I have been very slow with getting back to you on the races by email – sorry about that! I need to get us signed up for Dendermonde and then I will be able to see what other races are coming up…when is Eindhoven, do you know?

  17. You have a wonderful site. I love the jacket!! Two marathon’s in a year is great. Have fun!

  18. That coat is great!!!!!!!!

    Thursdays at 6:30 pm…..our market is packed about then. The only really good time to go when you know it’s going to be empty (here) is either during the local university football game, or early in the morning on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

