A day in my life: Monday January 17, 2011

Thoughts:
Andrea asked me what brand my new running jacket is: Asics. I love Asics running clothes and usually buy this brand.

Saturday afternoon I watched some TV shows that I recorded and took a nap. After my long run on Saturday I’m having trouble staying awake in the evening and I thought that a nap wouldn’t hurt and it didn’t. Saturday night we watched a movie: Hachi (see below).

Yesterday R. was to a motor show with his brother so it was just me and Bella. We took a nice long walk because the weather was wonderful and again I watched some TV shows.

Today I got permission from my manager to get a team together with co-workers. I’m going to form a business team with at least 5 and maximum 10 people and together we will run the Dam tot Damloop in September which is 16.1K (10 miles). I already got 7 people (myself included), all runners. The fee will be paid by my company and we can also order team shirts. I already look forward to this, will be so much fun to do this together.

Exercise:
Woohoo: double workout today!

I tried to do two workouts in a day for the first time. This morning I got up at 5.10 am to do my short run of the week: 3.2K (2 miles). I had to run at a pace of 7:56/km but I decided not to watch my pace and just run at a pace that felt comfortable for me. It has been a while since I ran before work but I loved it again immediately.

After work I went to the gym and did my strength workout of the week: legs, chest and abs. Maybe it’s my imagination but after 4 strength and Pilates workouts it seems as if my legs already benefit of this. Is this possible?

And to make things complete I walked Bella for 25 minutes after dinner.

Good, good day! 🙂

Stats:
Weather: dark, dry, not much wind, 9C/48 degrees.
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:58
Average time: 7:11 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Madonna – Like a virgin.

Weekly review week 2 (January 10-16):

Day What Distance Time Calories burned
Monday Strength: legs, chest and abs 31 minutes 123
Tuesday Pilates

Walk with Bella: 30 minutes

1 hour 225
Wednesday Running 8K /

5 miles

58 minutes 678
Thursday Rest
Friday Rest
Saturday Running

Walk with Bella: 40 minutes

9.6K /

6 miles

1 hour 11 minutes 799
Sunday Walk with Bella: 40 minutes
Total workouts 17.6 K /

11 miles

3 hours and

40 minutes

1825

Syl’s Challenge: workout 5 days a week for a minimum of 30 minutes. Succes!

Weight Watchers weekly review
It’s no use to post my weekly review because I didn’t track on Saturday. Somehow I forgot and noticed by the end of the day I didn’t track. By that time I didn’t want to anymore and decided to let it go. Because of that I didn’t track on Sunday either. But it’s going great. I’ve lost weight two weeks in a row.

Daily dinner

Sunday January 16
Pork meat with mushrooms and onions made in the oven, baked potatoes, green beans.

Warning: this is not a low calorie picture! Dessert: Poire Belle Helène (new recipe).

Monday January 17
Mashed potatoes with endive, a bit of bacon, walnuts and saucage.

Movie review:

Hachi

An American adaptation of a Japanese tale about a loyal dog named Hachiko. This very special friend would accompany his master to the train station every day and return each afternoon to greet him after work. Sadly his master departs one day, passes away and never returns to the station. Hachiko faithfully returns to the same spot at the station the very next day, and every day for the next nine years to wait for his beloved master. During his daily visits, Hachiko touches the lives of many who work near and commute through the town square. He teaches the local people love, compassion and above all unyielding loyalty. Today, a bronze statue of Hachiko sits in his waiting spot outside the Shibuya station in Japan as a permanent reminder of his devotion and love.

This movie is based on a true story. The story has been made an American story, the true Hachiko lived in Japan from 1923-1935. I cried and cried watching this movie. As a dog lover myself I know how attached dogs can be to you. Every day this dog waited at the train station till the day he died. Talk about love and devotion! I would hardly recommend you to watch this movie but if you cry easily at movies: get your tissues ready.

The real Hachiko and his statue in Japan

16 responses to “A day in my life: Monday January 17, 2011

  1. I love that you will have a team run with your company! What a great way to keep yourself motivated and to inspire others. 🙂 Nice job on the double workout too. That is tough…I am just not an early morning worker-outer.

  2. What a great Monday you had!!!! I did some abs and arms today. First time in a very long time. Glad your company is allowing you to put a running group together.

    The review of the movie almost brought tears to my eyes. Not sure I could make it through the movie.

  3. That’s neat about being able to form the team at your workplace, that’s a great way to motivate each other…as long as you all like each other, just kidding! 🙂

  4. That is fabulous that you get to form a team at your company and they are giving you a corporate sponsorship for the race! That says a lot about the company you work for – and also about your dedication to running.

  5. Great workouts! I have been slacking a lot this week. I haven’t been at work and my usual routes by my house are still ice/snow covered.
    That movie sounds so touching (and would certainly make me cry). I might have to check it out.

  6. That is so cool to have a team run with your company – and that they are sponsoring you!

  7. Just reading about the dog movie made me tear up – you and I would be a mess if we watched it together!

    I love that you are getting a running team together – how fun!!! What a great motivator that will be to train together for the race.

  8. I like the fact that you post pictures of your meals, which is great for ideas.
    Good for you to get a team together, to run a race. Get people involved for fitness.

  9. AH I see my Blackhuff has found your blog via mine…She is my star on group….has lost so much weight and is now running as well after following a program I suggested to her…she really is amazing and I am so proud of her.

    Love that pink jacket….and again I love the way you present your weekly workouts.

  10. Do you know the Greyfriars Bobby’s sad story? He was a dog of Edinburgh, I took a picture near his statue. I think I told you that I am an animalist.
    2 workouts in one day and a company team: great news.

  11. Great job on the workouts and congratulations on getting a team from work together to run – that will be great fun!

  12. That is so great that your boss is sponsoring the run for you and your co workers. What a great place to work.

    You’re the second person this week to tell me about that movie. I cry so easily at movies, I’m sure I would be a blubbering mess.

    Way to go on the two workouts in one day. I’m sure your efforts are showing results already.

  13. That’s so great that your boss is so supportive, what an amazing idea!
    I’m so proud of you Fran, you are doing so great and I can feel that this is going to be a great year for you!
    I’ve wanted to see that movie so badly, however at this point in time I think it would be best for me to surround myself with “happy” things, one day I will watch it.
    Oh and one last thing, thank you so much for your offer Fran, that was so sweet of you. Heidi has sent me a chart and I have been using it, as well as on my blog and on a calendar in my kitchen, I think I’ve got my running covered 😉
    xoxo

  14. Hi Fran,
    I love Asics running clothes too and … baked potatoes are very good!
    I sometimes eat them the night before the race (carbohydrates).
    It’s great to share the run with your colleagues 🙂 I’ll go to see the movie about the loyal dog named Hachiko as soon as possible. Thanks for that!
    Have a nice workout!

  15. I love Asics gear as well, especially their tops. The color of your coat is great!

    A work team…what a good idea! There is a local 10K race in September every year that our company pays for us to enter. It’s always fun…but this year, I’m hoping to get quite a few more signed up!!!!

    I’ve heard of that movie, but have never seen it. It sounds good, I might have to check it out.

    Your pear dessert (it’s pear, right?) looks marvelous!!!!!!!

  16. oh all right…I’ll let you join 😉

Leave a Reply

