A day in my life: Wednesday January 19, 2011

Thoughts:
Well … I’ve spiced up my half marathon schedule a bit. The only thing I changed is that I changed the average miles I ran before starting the schedule. I made a schedule based on 17-24 km/week, my “new” schedule is based on 25-32 km/week.

Basically this changes not much, the average km’s a week are a bit more (about 5K a week more). The “short” runs of the week are a bit longer (for example 3.2K becomes 4.8K). There are a few more runs now but all “short” distances. But what I liked about it the most is that the building up in long runs changed. In my old schedule the longest run before my half was 17.6 K, in this schedule it’s 19.2K.

I have to do a lot of running the next 3 months and I do look forward to it. My Pilates class is always on Tuesday evening and I will go to that class as much as possible. I also will try to do one strength training a week but will skip this if my week is very busy with other appointments. My running always comes first because that’s what I love doing the most.

Syl hosts a new challenge for February: 5 workouts a week of a minimum of 40 minutes. That’s a total of 3 hours and 30 minutes a week. I don’t want to mess with my half marathon schedule and there will be days when I don’t reach 40 minutes but on other days I will do more than 40 minutes. I’ve decided to take the challenge but instead of 5 workouts of 40 minutes I will go for 3 hours and 30 minutes a week. I believe I can do that.

I’m glad the lovely miss Syl allowed this and I can participate in it. Thanks Syl!

Exercise:
I didn’t go to Pilates yesterday because I got a phone call from the gym that my teacher was ill and there was no class. I could have gone to the gym to do my own workout but I had to do some things at home too so took the day of from exercise. I did walk with Bella for 30 minutes.

Today I had to do 8 K including 2 x 1600 metres speedwork. This was a tough one because I had to run a lot faster than I even did before I started this schedule. I did make it but had to stop a few times to catch my breath. I don’t want to walk anymore during runs and prefer to stop for a minute. My Garmin is on auto pause so the time stops too then.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, 4C/39 degrees.
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:55:51
Average time: 6:59 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Rejects – Gives you hell.

Top 5 list of the week
As promised in my Saturday post I will post a top 5 list of the week every Wednesday on my blog. The list can be about everything (you will see in the next weeks) and are all about me: what I like, what I want to do, what I have done. This way you will get to know me a little bit better every week.

Sometimes it’s more than 5 things, depends on the subject. I’ll start with my hobbies, it’s a top 7 list:

Top 7 hobbies

7. Cross-stitching
I haven’t done this in a while, somehow I just don’t seem to find the time for it.

6. Cooking
I love to try new recipes, I’ve got about 70 cookbooks, I love reading them and try them.

5. Visit concerts or musicals or the theatre
I’ll get back to this in other top 5 lists.

4. Make Japanese puzzles

3. Watch my favourite tv shows or movies
I’ll get back on this too in other lists.

2. Reading
Same as number 3 and 5.

1. Blogging/reading blogs/write on the Dutch woman’s forum I’m a member of.
I love reading your blogs, I get advice if I ask and I love to read how things are done in other countries than mine. I also love getting comments on my own blog. And at the forum I found some very dear friends.

18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday January 19, 2011

  1. You need to expound more on the japanese puzzles – sounds interesting!

    I am going to be setting up the virtual valentine run page this weekend hopefully. There is no set distance, so I hope you will be able to fit it in during that weekend with your training :D!

  2. We share some of the same hobbies…:) I’d like to know more about the Japanese puzzles too!

  3. Speedwork is tough. It’s the one thing that I really have to push myself to do, because it is uncomfortable with all that heavy breathing, lol!

    I used to cross stitch a lot, years ago.

  4. Wow–75 cookbooks! Can you come cook at my house?

    I think it’s great that you’re upping your mileage a bit. It will pay off for your 1/2.

  5. Speedwork is hard but so worth it. I saw my marathon time improve from 5:51 to 4:51 by doing speedwork. That’s a whole hour!

    Crossstitch? Did that while I was pregnant with my only child. Oh dear, that was almost 32 years ago! But I was living overseas with no TV and I loved it.

    75 cookbooks? That made me stop and count mine. I have 112. You were correct Fran, we are soul sisters!!!

  6. Totally agree with 5, 2 and 1! I also love tv shows but pretty much only on DVDs.

  7. That Syl is lovely, isn’t she? 🙂 You’ll have no problem with that challenge the way you have it set up. You’re so devoted.

    I like your Top 5 idea.

  8. Good work on the speed work. You are such an inspiration. Keep it up.

  9. Sounds like you have a good schedule in place for your half marathon training! And you’ll have no problem getting 3 hours and 30 minutes of exercise in per week, with all the running. I am definitely looking forward to meeting up for a race this year – I’ll have to make sure I keep up with you as your pace will definitely improve with your speed work 🙂

  10. Great half marathon schedule, Fran! Long runs are very important before the half marathon.
    Have a good training the next 3 months 🙂

  11. Love reading your list. Makes me feel like I know you a little better. Your running schedule just amazes me!

  12. Good idea on your changes to your half marathon plan.
    I cross stitched during a year in middle school but haven’t really since then. We had courses around lunch time where teachers could teach whatever they wanted and I chose that one once. It was fun but I guess I didn’t have the patience for it back then.
    I love cooking too but I don’t own very many cookbooks. 70 is quite the collection!

  13. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I’m looking forward to reading yours as it looks like we’re both training for our first half marathons the same weekend 🙂

    Great job on your 5 miles! I love that you show the last song you were listening to – you definitely need a good song to push you to the end.

  14. I love that you are doing Top 5 lists now! It’s fun to get to know you a bit better… 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  15. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I will definitely be following your half training too! Good luck! 🙂

    By the way, I see you’re rereading Breaking Dawn. I just read all the Twilight books last month and couldn’t put them down! Which is your favorite?

  16. LOL at your suggestion that I join a new gym and check out the driving habits of the members! I’m still laughing!

  17. Sounds like you have really clicked with your programme! Hope you continue enjoying it and I look forward to reading more over the next three months. Hmmmm Japanese puzzles……tell more! I like cooking too, and have quite a few books. However, I seem to have gone ‘off’ it for a bit!

  18. Fran you are doing so wonderfully, you sound so motivated and you are going to do so great on your half – can’t wait for the recap!

Leave a Reply

