A day in my life: Monday January 24, 2011

Thoughts:
I have some exciting news to share.

First of all I’m going to do a virtual run which is held Valentine’s weekend. The Blogger’s Healthy Heart Weekend is hosted by Lori of Finding Radiance. If you want to join: click here. There are some cool prizes to win. You can decide by yourself the distance you want to run, walk or bike. As I have to do a long run that weekend I’m doing 8 miles.

Second: I’m going to do a race for the first time with a blogger friend. Amy from Fit and Fabulous after 40 who lives in Belgium is going do to a run with me. We are going to sign up for a race in Breda which is halfway for the both of us from where we live. We are doing 15K and it will happen on October 2nd . This will be my first blogger meet and I look forward to that.

What I didn’t mention about my long run on Saturday is that I got dizzy and almost passed out at about 1 hour and 20 minutes. Because I was almost at the end of my run I pushed through. I was scared because in my life I have only passed out 3 times (once I was ill and the other two times were caused by extreme high stress at that moment) and this isn’t me.

Because I was almost at the end of my run I pushed through.  But I knew immediately I hadn’t eaten enough. This was the first time I ran 1 hours and 24 minutes and I only had a banana and a coffee with hot milk before I left. I had water and a sports drink with me but no food.

I need to start fueling during my long runs from now on. So I’ve emailed Helen and Heidi to help me out. The first thing I’m going to do is eat more before a long run and I am going to try on my next long runs what works best for me.

Could you tell me what your favorite fuel during a run is? Perhaps it works for me too.

Exercise:
Yesterday was a rest day but R. and I did take a walk with Bella in the afternoon.

I had a 4.8K run scheduled before work this morning. I slept terrible last night, been awake a lot and when the alarm went off, all I wanted to do was staying in my warm and comfy bed. But I said to myself: get up, get dressed and go and I did. But it was a terrible run, I was too tired and had to walk a lot. But I did finish it even though it was a slow run.

I skipped my strength session in the afternoon because I kept feeling tired all day. I have a busy day at work tomorrow and take my rest tonight and go to bed early.

Stats:
Weather: mostly dry, not much wind, 5C/41 degrees.
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:36:21
Average time: 7:25 /km
Average speed: 8.1 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Run Joey Run.

Weekly review week 3

Syl’s Challenge: workout 5 days a week for a minimum of 30 minutes: SUCCES!

Weight Watchers weekly review
Again no WW review this week either. In fact I cancelled my subscription at WW online by the end of this month. After what happened on my run Saturday I thought a lot about food and eating. I decided that losing weight isn’t my priority this year. I’m at a weight that’s already comfortable now. Of course I still want to lose weight and I think I will by all the running I have planned but I will see if and when that happens, I’m in no hurry.

To me it’s more important now that I eat the right things and that I eat enough to complete my runs and other workouts. And if that means eating more whole wheat bread because it’s good fuel before a run, than I eat more bread. I’m still focusing on eating as healthy as possible, that hasn’t changed.

21 responses to “A day in my life: Monday January 24, 2011

  1. i was having problems with fuel yesterday too, however I set out for a longer run than I thought I would do, and the last few Km were brutal!
    Normally before a long run I have a bagel with Peanut butter, a banana, a coffee and a little water. Yesterday I had a English Muffin rather than the bagel and I think that’s why I felt so weak and run down. Had I had the bagel I probably would have been able to do my mock half marathon.
    Fran, have you thought about taking fuel with you? I have a running belt with a little pouch, I was thinking yesterday as I began to crash that I could put a little snack in there.
    Hope that helps!

  2. Hi Fran,
    hope you are feeling better. Thanks for the comments on my blog 🙂 I have never fainted, but I tend to get very dizzy when my blood pressure plunges. I always eat before any run, especially the long ones. Something that settles very well for me is parel kandij ontbijkoek (any flavor will do). I never thought something so “ethnic” could work so well. For long runs I have discovered Go Gel/SIS at runnersworld does the trick, without water. I live in Breda, so I’ll cheer you on in October!

  3. Well, you know all about me and the fuel I use already so I won’t bore you with it again.

    I’m so excited for your blogger meetup/race! How fun! You’ll have to remind us as it gets closer so we can cheer for you from afar.

  4. Fuel before endurance runs/exercise is so important. For me, I found out that eating a complex carb with some protein and a little bit of fat helps the fuel last longer. That is toast or 1/2 bagel with peanut butter on it. Or some dates with nut butter (my favorite).

    Thanks for the shout out, and thanks for joining the virtual event! Maybe someday our real lives will cross paths 😀

  5. HAHA well guess I’ll just answer your question here – hahaha.

    I hated this answer when I was seeking help for this same thing … but really it is very personal and you need to try a few things to find out what works for you. With that length of run it’s not surprising that you could need some extra fuel and it’s a good time to try it out.

    Personally I don’t do well eating right before a run, and I seem to be OK. But that’s very individual. LOTS of people eat before and during runs. During a long run (for me it’s usually only if it’s close to or over 2 hours) I prefer pretzels and chopped up all fruit bars, or sometimes those gummy candies that are sold in sporting stores for the purpose of refueling. I have not found any gels that I like. I find them disgusting, but many people like them. Experiment with a few things and see what works for you. My friend likes raisins. Other dried fruits would be good too. It has to be something you can easily carry and consume. The gatorade helps a bit too. On really long runs I usually only consume that, no water.

    That’s very exciting that you get to meet up with a blog friend for a run. Very exciting!

  6. Fran, I’m back, I just wanted to tell you that your first comment left me with tears running down my face. Thank you so much for your words, you really don’t know what they mean to me. I was proud myself but for someone to say that from the outside has left me with a warm fuzzy feeling.
    Thank you Fran for all you do
    xoxo
    Syl

  7. Hi Fran. When I was training for my first half marathon I ran with Cliff Shotbloks. They are gummy candy things sold at sporting goods stores. I think for my next half training I might try some gels out. I hope you figure out what works for you!
    Also, does kandij mean candy in dutch?

  8. When I do my long runs, I eat a bagel – a plain, white bagel (not a multigrain like I would normally have) about an hour beforehand. Then I take some fuel with me and have it around mile 3 to 3.5, and again around mile 6, and then again if needed. I have used a variety of things, like Sports Beans (similar to Jelly Bellys), Shot Bloks, Sharkies – these you all have to chew. Which worked until my half – then chewing was a problem. So I’ve been trying GU and I like the chocolate outrage flavor. It took me quite a while before I could bring myself to try the GU or any sports gels as the idea sounded kind of gross to me. But you do need something to get through the long runs, and like Heidi said (and I’m sure Helen did, too, in her email answer to you) – you have to experiment to see what works best for you.

    How fun that you are going to run a race with a blogger!!! That will be very cool. The second race I ever did was with Kelly from Happy Texans. Love having that race memory to share with her.

  9. I really try to eat well the night before a big run since I can’t eat anything in the morning. This really helps and I also have a Hammer Gel after about 40 minutes if I’m feeling tired. This is only if I’m doing a run that is 16 miles or longer. Ultra Fuel is also a drink that I use during hard runs, my husband and I really like it. I think your run sounds fun!

  10. I am really proud of you for prioritizing your running and your health over weight loss. It’s the most sensible and probably the most fulfilling thing that you could do for yourself right now. I Do Not Like thinking about you nearly passing out on a run!

    You’re doing the right thing.

    And your chart is a thing of beauty. 🙂

  11. You and Amy are going to meet and race together! That is awesome. I have only had a few bloggy meetups but I loved them.

  12. I’m in for the 14th. I think that is a great idea. Let’s see, that is about 3 weeks away. I think I can aim for 8 miles too. Maybe 7. I love this idea!!!

  13. I think it’s really good that you are focusing on health vs. losing weight. Fueling through long runs is very important, but like a previous poster said, you’re probably going to have to try a few things out to see what type of fuel works best for you.

    I always eat a whole wheat sandwich thin with almond butter and banana before a long run. I find it holds me over well. If I’m running more than 7 miles, I also take a gu during my run.

    I’ve only tried the gu twice now. I don’t love them (they have a nasty aftertaste), but I have found that I don’t cramp, I don’t feel hungry and my stomach is not upset when I take them, so I think they work for me.

    It is fun that you are doing a run with another blogger!

  14. I am super excited about our race together in October! It is really something I will be looking forward to all year!
    I have the feeling you are going to have a great running year – you are really putting the running first and letting your eating be determined by the fuel you need for that, which is what you really have to do to have a good time during your half marathon.

  15. The furthest I’ve ever run is 16km and had my normal breakfast an hour before I ran, I never take water or eat when I run and coped well ~ so think the experts will give you better feedback ~ great that you and Amy are going to do a run together. I’ve met many blogger friends but only for coffee…LOL

  16. I don’t run any length of distance that would help you but when I know I am going for a 1,000 calorie burn at the gym I eat my normal yogurt breakfast & then a slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter and I am good to go!

    So glad you get to meet a blogger!

  17. That’s cool that you get to run a race with another blogger.

    I always eat oatmeal wiht raisins, cup of cofee & sometimes a banana.

  18. How cool that you’ll be doing a race with another blogger!

    And I like your approach to health, exercise and weight!

  19. Sounds like you have some fun races coming up. That is exciting. 🙂 And I’m sorry to hear about your run the other day. I wonder if you also were a little dehydrated? I like bring a few gu packets or a few pretzels with me in times like these. I hope that you get some good advice from everyone so that you don’t have to feel like that again. Sounded scary. Keep up the good work with all your runs and workouts! 🙂

  20. Almost passed out??? Oh no!!!

    Meeting up with a blogger friend to run, how fun!!!!!!!!!!

    I’ve only just recently started to think about maybe trying different fuel for my runs. During my half marathon training last year, I ran first thing in the am…..nothing in my belly….no fluids, no food…nothing. So I’m not a good person to ask. 🙂

  21. Passing out is so scary! I always use GU- I love it. My stomach doesn’t deal with a lot but it does like GU, luckily.

    We are all wearing red every Friday in Feb for work to support the awareness of heart health!

Leave a Reply

