A day in my life: Saturday January 29, 2011

Thoughts:
Some chitter chatter today.

I skipped my long run today. I haven’t been feeling well all week and this morning when I got up, I didn’t feel good either. I’m not sick (yet) but decided I could better take a break early in my half marathon schedule than towards the end. I could have tried a shorter distance but I just wasn’t up to it. R. called me a jerk and maybe he’s right but running doesn’t feel good. I take it easy this weekend and pick it up full speed on Monday.

After my horrible experience with Bella last week, I’ve bought a new leash and collar for her yesterday. They are more solid. Since it happened I’ve been afraid on every walk it would happen again.

I’ve been trying something the past two weeks with sleeping. Usually I get 6 tot 6.5 hours of sleep a night which leads to being tired by the end of the week. The past two weeks I’ve made sure I was in bed by 10.30 pm (get up at 5.30 am) so I get 7 hours of sleep at night, which I need. This does miracles: I haven’t been as tired by the end of the week as before and my workouts feel better because I’m less tired. Going to continue this.

At my workouts in the gym I use my Polar heart rate monitor but on Tuesday during Pilates the chest strap died and I couldn’t see my average and maximum heart rate nor could I see afterwards how many calories I’ve burned. I’ve ordered a new chest strap which came in the mail today. I hate it when my gadgets don’t work.

365 days photo challenge 2011

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Day 23 – Sunday January 23
View during our walk with Bella.

Day 24 – Monday January 24
My cook book collection.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Day 25 – Tuesday January 25
Gooses at the waterfront.

Day 26 – Wednesday January 26
My books. The ones on the cupboard on the left I still have to read.

Day 27 – Thursday January 27
Our beautiful Bella.

Day 28 – Friday January 28
View during our lunchwalk, do you see the perfect blue sky? It was perfect weather: cold but sunny.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday January 29, 2011

  1. It’s great that you’re getting more sleep! I always thought I was someone who didn’t need more than 5-6 hours of sleep a night, until I started getting 7-8 hours. Now I feel much better when I get just a little extra sleep.

    I hope you feel better soon!

  2. The sleep is the best cure and you made the right thing.
    I like the landscapes, I miss my business trips to the Netherlands (I used to work with the Amsterdam and Rotterdam Port Authorities).
    Impressive library.

  3. I like the pictures. I like to have lots of books to choose from and it looks like you do too!

  4. My sleeping pattern is all over the place at the moment with H not being home and with the flu which keeps me away…so understand the need to sleep more…

    Love how neat your books are…mine are neat now but you had to see the before photo that I posted on FB…shocking that I allowed my space to get into such a mess.

    Love seeing your 365 pics.

  5. Sometimes you need a mental break from exercising. As long as it isn’t multiple days in a row, nothing wrong with altering your plan on occasion.

    Love all your books. We are big time readers and just hit the library. We got rid of a ton of books when we did our cross country move and just kept the absolute favorites that I have tattered from rereading so many times.

  6. I hope you feel better!

    What a beautiful blue sky.

  7. Oooh, Fran has a crush on Jamie Oliver! 😉 You DO have a lot of cookbooks – you weren’t kidding about that, lol!

    Sorry R. called you a jerk – sometimes, a long run just isn’t in you. You’ll get it done soon, I have no doubt.

    I used to have an entire wall filled with bookcases and books – many shelves were doubled up with books. Then we moved (coming up on 11 years now) and I couldn’t face packing all of them, so I chose my favorites and donated the rest. And since then, I’ve bought very few books, but I do get a lot from our library. It’s like the book-buying spell was finally broken (which was a good thing, as it was breaking my bank account, lol!).

  8. I made it out on Friday, but like you I felt terrible! Definitely the worst run in 2011 so far. I’m trying again today (feeling much better), but something must have been going around. I’ve heard from other runners that they felt pretty bad this week. Maybe the sudden cold after the pretty mild weather last week? Hope you feel better soon!

  9. Love all the books. I have some of mine in Colorado at home and here & there in this house. Having to move every 3 yrs. is a pain. Hope you are feeling better!

  10. Just read your Bella scare from you last post. Glad everything turned out well!

    Glad you are listening to your body when you aren’t feeling well. It took me a looong time (and getting old!) to finally do what’s right for me…

    Hope you are feeling better and your Sunday is going well!

  11. I follow a similar sleep schedule. I try to be in bed by 10pm and wake up at 5am.
    I love that photo of the geese. They are way cooler looking than the geese we have here.
    I read something yesterday that said that in the Netherlands, chocolate sprinkles are a common thing to put on sandwiches. Is this true?

  12. What a cute picture of the ducks. Hope you feel better soon.

  13. Gosh, I can’t believe Bella ran away like that – right into the road – that would give me a heart attack! So glad you got her safely back – yes, definitely buy a new, strong leash and collar!
    I hope you’re feeling better – sometimes you just have to listen to your body and follow your instinct. And tomorrow is another day!

  14. I have a cookbook bookcase that looks very similar to that! They are a guilty pleasure for me.

    If running doesn’t feel good then you shouldn’t do it. Sorry you were called a jerk because that’s so obviously not true. Sometimes a break is just the ticket, especially when you’ve not been feeling well physically.

    So now you know my secret: I need 7-8 hours of sleep every night. Because I get up at 4:15 to run, I try to be in bed no later than 9 p.m.

Leave a Reply

