A day in my life: Monday January 31, 2011

Thoughts:
Getting back at the books I have. I used to be a member of the library but here you have to return the books after 3 weeks or renew them before that and I often forgot that. Nowadays I buy my books, also because books aren’t that expensive anymore to buy. After I’ve read them I decided if I will read them again someday. If I do, I keep them. If I won’t, I sell them online. The website where I buy most of my books has an opportunity to sell your second hand books too which I use a lot.

When I got back from my run today and after dinner, R. told me I’ve got mail from the USA. I wasn’t expecting anything and when I opened the envelope I was surprised to find this:

My dear blogger friend Shelley had sent me this sticker. Shelley thank you so much, my little blue car is going to wear this one with pride.

She had written on the back that she hoped we could run together one day. Before I read that out loud to R. he asked if it wouldn’t be nice to have a blogger meeting. I know that’s not possible but wouldn’t it be great if we were all rich and could all travel to one place and run there together? If I ever win the lottery I’m going to fly you all in, that’s for sure. 🙂

I don’t usually post on Tuesday but will tomorrow to do a workout and weight review for January, stay tuned.

Exercise:
This week is “recovery week” which means a cut back in the total mileage. Today I had to do 8K (5 miles). In the afternoon I felt very tired and I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it. I decided to go and see how it would go, I could always cut the run short. The first 4K were hard, my right leg was bothering me and I found it hard to find a pace. I walked at 2K and 4K. After that I had planned to walk again at 6K but suddenly I found the right pace, my leg wasn’t bothering me that much anymore and I ran the last 4K without stopping. I’m glad I tried even though I wasn’t feeling fit.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, dry, 1C (33 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 01:00:32
Average time: 7:34 /km
Average speed: 7.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bill Medley & Jennifer Warnes – The time of my life. .

Syl’s Challenge: Syl’s challenge for January is completed. I’m proud to say I did either workout 5 days a week 25 minutes or did 125 minutes in that week.

Her new challenge for February is workout 5 days with a minimum of 40 minutes. Since I’m in the middle of my half marathon training and don’t want to mess with my workouts, I’m going to do make sure I workout 3 hours and 20 minutes each week. My walks with Bella that take 30 minutes or longer are counting too.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Monday January 31, 2011

  1. Love the sticker! 🙂 I hope to achieve my 1/2 some day and maybe sticker my car with something similar.

  2. If you win, you’re flying everyone in for a run. If I win, I’m taking everyone to a spa. Let’s hope we win at the same time!

  3. It would be cool if all bloggers could meet. Wouldn’t it be neat to do a cruise?

  4. OMG! I’m doing my first one in a few months I so want that sticker! 🙂

  5. Great sticker! Have a wonderful week!

  6. Bloggy meetups are fun. Wish I could meet you for sure! Keep reading!

  7. Glad you liked your surprise!!! It would be so amazing to have an international blogger get-together and run…OK, first one who wins the lottery buys! 🙂

    Isn’t it interesting how a run can be going so “meh” and then all of a sudden it turns around and becomes a good run? I don’t understand why, but I’m always glad when that happens, and I’m happy for you that your run ended so well.

  8. I love the sticker! I think it’s great you went for your run even though you were tired. It’s amazing how mental running can be – just getting out and started can be the hardest part. It’s awesome that you were able to pick it up for the second half of your run. Great job!!

  9. Love your new template – sorry I haven’t commented in awhile – and I couldn’t see the changes through my feedreader 🙂

  10. Glad your run turned out well – good thing you didn’t give up!
    I am glad January is done – at least we are a little bit closer to spring!

  11. I love the book idea, I hardly ever read a book 2x besides weight or training books, but love to see my books I have collected over the years on a shelve….but like the selling idea if I should ever change my mind.

    I honestly think you are amazing to be running outside in this weather.I walked across the road last night to teach and thought how do people do it…I have not mastered it…maybe one year, a year where I don’t go home and have the break to summer.

    Lovely that someone gave you a sticker, its always lovely when others think of you…You are always so good at that…
    A department I still have to improve in.

  12. great sticker – you’ll make some friends with that I’m sure, fellow runners will know you’re out there. I’ve had a few blogging meetups and they are the best – really great.

  13. I absolutely love that sticker! So funny!! And yes a blogger meet up would be amazing. I wish we all lived closer.

  14. I think Marcelle, you & I should find a half way meeting point (maybe in the summer). That way we can all meet. I am the closest to you I will ever get. Just a thought. Good Luck on Feb. challenge. I am doing it to but stayed home from work the last 2 days so we can see how that is going.lol

  15. That’s a great sticker!!! Love it!

  16. You’re famous!!! Your picture (and famous pink jacket) is on the Run2Day website: http://run2day.nl/run2day-ladies-run
    Did you know that?

Leave a Reply

