A day in my life: Saturday February 19, 2011

Thoughts:
Thank you about your advice and tips about the strength training. I’m going to try something new on this. On Tuesday I have Pilates at 7 pm. Usually I’m ready to go at around 6.15 pm and sit at home waiting to go. Next time I will go as soon as I’m ready and do some upper body exercises till it’s time for my class. If it’s only 20 minutes that’s okay, that’s better than doing nothing.

Tomorrow it’s date night. We are going to the theatre, we’re not going alone but with my best friend K. and her husband. We’re going to see a cabaret artist called Najib Amhali.

We will bring Bella to my Mom in the afternoon, she’s going to sleep over at my Mom’s house. Before we go to the theatre we go to K’s house (who lives close at the theatre) for coffee.

I’m looking forward to this because Najib is very funny and it’s a nice break in my work-sleep-running life 🙂

Exercise:
Thursday morning at 5.30 am I had a nice short run. Not much to say about this run except that it went easy.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, fog, 1C (33 degrees)
Distance: 3.3 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:42
Average time: 7:06 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Freestylers – Push up

My longest run ever! That’s what I did today. I ran 14.4K (9 miles) and it was also one of my best runs ever. Everything was right today: my legs, my breathing, my joy for running, the weather! If only every run could be like this.

I also tried my first gel on this run. I have 4 different kinds now and I’m trying to see which one is best. Today I had one with orange flavour which I took with water. I had no trouble taking it in and no stomach problems after I took it. I had water at 30 minutes, a gel with water at 1 hour and sports drink at 1 hour and 30 minutes. I also eat more breakfast now: whole wheat bread with peanut butter, a banana and coffee with hot milk.

The first 8K of the run I had the wind in front of me but it wasn’t really hard to beat that. After I took the gel I also had the wind in my back and I think it was the combination of both but that part of the run was even easier than the first part.

This is a happy girl who’s writing this today because I’m getting more and more confident I actually can run a half marathon!

Stats:
Weather: dry, windy, cloudy,  2C (35 degrees)
Distance: 14.4 K / 9 miles
Time: 01:44:24
Average time: 7:15 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Milk & Sugar & Vaya Con Dios – Hey (Nah Ney Nah)

Daily dinner

Thursday February 17
Beef tenderloin with mushrooms, onions, garlic and crème fraîche light with rice.

Friday February 18
Whole wheat pasta with ham, vegetables, tomato sauce and some Parmesan cheese.

Daily outfit

Thursday February 17

I won’t be posting weekend outfits because on those days I don’t really pay attention to what I’m wearing. Usually jeans with a top on it. Except when I go out in the weekend.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 43 – Saturday February 12
K. and I. at the store where we worked that day.

Day 44 – Sunday February 13
My package with sports drink, protein bars and gels arrived on Saturday.

Day 45 – Monday February 14
My best friend during my runs: Edward.

Day 46 – Tuesday February 15
I love this house, can’t stop looking at it everytime I pass it.

Day 47 – Wednesday February 16
Saw these birds, no idea what they are. Don’t seem like ducks or gooses to me.

Day 48 – Thursday February 17
I was so surprised and happy to find some Spring during my walk with Bella.

Day 49 – Friday February 18
Bella is working on her circus act.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday February 19, 2011

  1. I think those are barnacle geese. My sister is a bird champion for identifying. She can even do it by the song. She’s smart 😀

    Love the picture of you and K – you both look so happy 😀

  2. Congrats on your new distance record!! That’s awesome! 🙂

  3. Glad your run went so well! And tomorrow night sounds fun! Have a wonderful time!

    I think your plan to add a bit more weight lifting sounds good. My lifting sessions are quite short; I think whatever you can fit in is great!

  4. Congrats on your longest run ever! 9 miles is an awesome accomplishment, and I’m glad it was such a good run for you!

  5. Bella plays football better than many italian players!
    Congrats on your long distance run, you were wise to run the first half with the wind in front of you.
    The pasta dish looks good and appropriate for the runners.

  6. There is NO doubt in my mind that you are going to kill that half marathon beautiful lady!

    Loved all of your pictures especially the last one of Bella.

    I am also looking foward to the theatre tomorrow. It also gives me a break from everyday like and an opportunity to sit back and enjoy my moms company.

    Fran, one last thing I received your card in the mail yesterday all I can say is that I definately needed a smile on my face, and you made that happen. Something so simple yet heart warming. I wish we lived closer I’m pretty sure that we would hit it off really well! Thank you again, it really made my day!

    xoxo
    Syl

  7. Yeah, Fran! I love your confidence about the half marathon! I’m excited that your long run went well, this is great news for your upcoming race.
    I loved it that you took Bella to your moms, my daughter brings Sandy Pockets here for us to watch….so your mom is officially a grandma. So cute!
    It sounds like you’re having a fun weekend, enjoy!

  8. Great job on the run!!!!! You are a machine!

    Love all the pics…Bella is so cute!

    Hope you had a great time!

  9. Of course you can run a half marathon! Love that your dog goes overnight when you go out!

  10. I’m so happy you are having such great runs! You are going to have a wonderfully successful half, I just know it!

    Love Bella the circus dog. She’s so talented. 🙂

  11. Congrats on your longest run. I’m glad it was a good one for you too. Enjoy your date night.

  12. Congrats on your run!! You rocked it!! I love the picture of the house. It looks like something you would see by the beach. Hope you enjoy your date night!!

  13. That was a wow weeeee run you did today….and so well planned as well. You sure are going to be able to do that marathon run as you are getting stronger and stronger with each run….our Running Queen this month.

    I’ve not run at all this week….so am off to the gym now to do my first run on the treadmill for this week as minus 2 degrees here today….
    I am going to get to gym every day this coming week, I have to get myself out of this rut I have found myself in during FEB month, but see a lot of my blog friends are feeling it, so don’t feel alone.

  14. You can totally run a half marathon Fran! In fact, I’d say you’re going to run it faster than you even expect to. I can’t wait.

    Just think, now every time you do a long run, it will be longer than you’ve ever run. What an accomplishment!

  15. 9 miles, way to go!!! Of COURSE you can do a half marathon!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

