A day in my life: Saturday March 5, 2011

Thoughts:
I’m having a kind of post-Winter blues. Life is boring at the moment, all I do is work, run, sleep and I’m feeling a bit down about it. It’s time Spring gets here. And I need to take action and do more fun things from now on.

I have registered for my second half marathon. I wanted to wait after my first because I wanted to find out if the half marathon is something I want to do more often. But I had a particular one in mind and decided to register before the registration is closed. I can still cancel before September 1st if I want to. So it’s kind of official now, I’m doing the half marathon of Amsterdam on October 16th.

Exercise:
Thursday morning at 5.30 am I had an easy run. It was chilly and cold. It was a nice and easy run.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little  wind, -1C (30 degrees)
Distance: 3.8 K / 2.3 miles
Time: 00:27:12
Average time: 7:04 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Only the good die young

This morning I had my long run scheduled. I haven’t been feeling well yesterday, I was so tired and afraid I had catched a cold. I went to bed on time and decided to see how I would feel this morning. When I got up I felt much better than yesterday and decided to go and see how it goes. I could take a turn on my route and do around 6K or take a turn later and do around 10K. But after 2K I got the tempo and from that point it went fine and I did the entire run.

Stats:
Weather: dry, sunshine every now and then, little  wind, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 14.4 K / 9 miles
Time: 01:45:54
Average time: 7:21 /km
Average speed: 8.2 km/hour

Daily dinner

Thursday March 3
Fish, we call it “Lekkerbekje”, it’s made of codfish, rösti, carrots.

Daily outfit
Thursday March 3

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 57 – Saturday February 26
I totally forgot to take pics on Saturday and Sunday so I looked in our photo archive and decided to show some old photo’s. I might do that more often during this challenge. This photo is from Taormina on Sicily where we were on vacation in 2005.

Day 58 – Sunday February 27
Barcelona June 2007. Boy I sure did lose a lot of weight since then 🙂

Day 59 – Monday February 28
My “office” at home.

Day 60 – Tuesday March 1
Monthly picture of our garden.

Day 61 – Wednesday March 2
My blackberry: I love it!

Day 62 – Thursday March 3
Buying fish.

Day 63 – Friday March 4
Miss Bella had an appointment with her “hair dresser” today.

20 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday March 5, 2011

  1. Sorry life is a bit boring at the moment, but signing up for another half is exciting!

    Love your vacation pics. Looking at old vacation pics always makes me happy… 🙂

    Love Ms. Bella’s new hair do! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Well done on the long run today, the weather sure was good for it.
    I sensed you were feeling down this week….no BBM chats as usual and also by the sound of your comments on my blog…your spirit was low. I understand that so much, I had a good week this week and hope with Heinz away next week I will have a good one as well…Planning my running now so that I have it all scheduled so I get out.

    I love my BB as well…what would live be like without one!!!!!

  3. Great job on the 9 mile run!! I usually feel better after the first few miles too. I’m sorry you’re feeling a little down. I think making a point to do more fun activiites is a good idea. Running always helps to cheer me up too. Congrats on signing up for your next half marathon already! That’s good – it will keep you motivated after your first 🙂

  4. Like the photos old and new. I love half marathons. I bet you’ll stay registered.

  5. Love the photos. Run the races – it’ll make your life less boring, I promise. Buy some tulips – they can’t fail to cheer you up!

  6. Your garden is gorgeous! I’d love to hang out somewhere like that. I’m betting you’ll be glad you signed up for number 2!

  7. We definitely have had the winter doldrums around here too. Today on my outside run I kept thinking about how deconditioned I’ve become because of all the TM running I’ve had to do. I am SO READY for spring. I’ve been trying to do things like buy flowers and wear brighter colors to get through for the time being.

    Congrats on registering for your second half. That will surely keep you motivated!

    Hope you’re having a nice weekend Fran.

  8. Bella is a cutie!

  9. I am dying to go to Barcelona! Thanks for all of the great pictures.

    Signing up for a new race will pep you up…how about a new outfit? nudge, nudge

  10. Enjoyed seeing your old vacation pictures. Beautiful places!

    Congrats on signing up for your second half marathon! That is a good sign that you are at least enjoying your training for your 1st since you already signed up for #2. I haven’t done a second half yet but it will happen sometime this year. Then the scary full!
    Love Bella’s haircut. 🙂

  11. I am ready for spring, too. I am really getting worn out by all this snow and cold!

    9 miles you ran? You rock!

  12. Fran, do I ever understand that. Between being sick and the winter blues how is one to dig themselves out of that!

    I think we could all use a little sun!

    Loved all your pictures, and so excited about your second half marathon. I have a feeling you are going to catch the “marathon” bug very sso ;-).

    Bella sure looks cute after her hair cut!

    Oh and that fish looks great, I’m not much for fish, usually only stick to salmon but have been venturing into different types lately.

    Great work on your run, and I will be getting your mail out on Monday, I promise!!!!

  13. Bella is quite a cutie! I know what you mean about the end-of-winter blues – I think we are all having it here in our house. Just can’t wait for spring and for things to warm up!
    Awesome job on your 14K – I am so glad it went well – you are really getting into a groove for your long runs. Congrats on signing up for your second half, too – I know you will do well.

  14. Bella is quite a cutie! I know what you mean about the end-of-winter blues – I think we are all having it here in our house. Just can’t wait for spring and for things to warm up!
    Awesome job on your 14K – I am so glad it went well – you are really getting into a groove for your long runs. Congrats on signing up for your second half, too – I know you will do well.

  15. I love that you signed up for another half – way to be optimistic and committed!

  16. The winter blues are no fun. Keep working hard and look for those signs of spring on your runs. 🙂 You are doing a great job.

    Love your medals that hang in your home office!

  17. I have been having the winter blues also, I am so ready for spring and was happy I actaully got to run outside on Sunday for our long run. I was dreading another 7 miles on the treadmill.

  18. Bella’s haircut looks wonderful!!!

    I love your desk, all the bright colors are very happy. 🙂

    Sounds like you escaped catching that cold….good news!!!!

  19. The winter blues are horrible. I was lucky enough to get to Florida and get rid of some of them but I am ready for Spring. Your tulips (my favorite flower) always brighten my day when I come to your blog!

    Ps- love those black boots! love!

  20. Your dog is so darn cute! And congrats on signing up for the second half marathon. It’s hard to do it so far in advance, but it definitely gives you something to look forward too.

Leave a Reply

