A day in my life: Monday March 7, 2011

Thoughts:
We had such a beautiful day yesterday and today. That immediately lifted my spirit up. Yesterday it was sunny and not to cold and we drove to a forest nearby to take a walk with Bella. She had so much fun running around and collecting sticks.

Exercise:
Yesterday morning I did my first online yoga session. It was 25 minutes which is perfect for me. I did the morning sequence podcast from www.yogajournal.com and it was a great day to start my day.

I got up at 5 am this morning to do 8K (5 miles). Normally I get up at 5.30 am so it wasn’t that early compared to normally. When I turned on my Garmin it said “battery low” but I thought maybe it would take a while before it died. Well it didn’t: it stopped after 2 minutes. A few months ago I would be pissed off by that and turned around but not today. Today I kept running. I always map out my route before a run so I knew which route to take for my 8K. I watched the time before I started running. The distance and time therefore are an estimation. I have never run this far early in the morning before work but it felt great. I’m definitely a morning runner and I think I will stick to this routine.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little  wind, -1C (30 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:55:00
Average time: 6:52 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Aerosmith – Crazy.

I’m very pleased with my workouts last week, I did 6 which is absolutely great, don’t do that often. I also was able to walk at least 1 time a day with Bella for 30 minutes since the beginning of this month. One of the benefits of running in the morning is that I have energy and time to take her for a long walk after work or after dinner.

Daily dinner

Saturday March 5
No dinner picture but pic of the apple pie I baked Saturday.

Daily outfit

Monday March 7

21 responses to “A day in my life: Monday March 7, 2011

  1. Sounds like a good run, I still get frustrated when my Nike+ dies, but I think I have worked out the kincks in it. Oh my that apple pie looks delish!

  2. MMMMMMMMMM appeltaart! And I love the outfit – very nice indeed. Great to hear how you’re motivating yourself -it’s inspiring.

  3. Bah Humbug on the Garmin. Irritating. Once I get to running outside more again I’ll have to get into my habit of automatically charging it every weekend.

    Bella looks like she’s having a ball enjoying spring!

  4. So glad to hear the morning run worked out for you. Too bad the Garmin died on you. I try to plug mine in after every run, but once in a while I forget and it dies on me. Good that you already knew your route.

  5. You sure are becoming the dedicated runner woman! Great job! Now *you* need to bring that pie on over to upstate NY 😀

  6. Bella looks like a mini Noah with her stick – so cute! I have never had Ricky Bobby die on me, but I am ridiculous about charging him. Good deal that you kept running anyway!

    Lovely apple pie. I am drooling over here!

  7. Ground without snow on it. I am so jealous. Enjoy!

  8. I love the pics of Bella in the forest!

    And good for you to not give up when the Garmin didn’t cooperate! Glad you had a good run!

    Have a great week!

  9. Hi Fran, lovely post, and what a delicious looking apple pie. Your running seems to have really taken off, and I am very happy that you are enjoying it so much, and having a ball doing your longer distances. You have definitely found the formula that works for you, and I’m very proud of you! You go girl!

  10. I love that you kept on running even though your Garmin died. Great job.

    Love the beautiful scenic pictures…and cute little Bella!

    Yes, my son calls my moeder and vader Oma and Opa…my family is very Dutch…my dad didn’t even move to Canada until he was 25.

    Here is a funny story about my dad. He didn’t know English very well when he came to Canada, but he was studying it at night school. He was also looking for a place to live so he looked in the newspaper for somewhere he could get room and board (a room to sleep and meals).

    Well he saw an ad in the paper and it said room available, meals optional. He thought that was just great because he thought optional meant he could tell them what he wanted to eat…he thought he had the option of pork chops on Monday, steak on Tuesday etc. We still laugh about this now!

  11. P.S. Great job on the yoga!!!

  12. Thanks for the comment!! And I LOVE the new spring background. 🙂
    That’s awesome that you signed up for your second half! When is it?

  13. Your apple pie looks delicious! It’s great that you’re able to run in the morning and walk your dog in the evening. I wish I could get myself to wake up earlier, but I’m just not a morning person.

  14. Good morning from a beautiful 9 degrees at 9am in DE…I was so surprised, but so happy as we running at 10.30am this morning, Christine, Claudia and me…

    Your forest looks like ours at the moment, sad…but very soon its going to look beautiful ~ love the forest in summer time. Do you ever run that route, or is it your walking route only?

    You did well last week…..not at many km’s as the week before, but you trained most days so thats really awesome.

    Did you get a run in this morning before work???

    Love the look of the Apple tart, its something I don’t eat…never liked cooked apples….but have eaten at tea’s with cream…LOL

    Have a good day that side of Europe.

  15. Great job on the run!! I am not a morning person so there is no way I am getting up that early..lol

    Wish I could make an apple pie & have it in the house but I have no self control.

  16. Aww, you’re so sweet Fran. I will keep my eye on the mailbox and let you know. We’ve been having problems with mail theft lately. Our box was broken into 3 times – but I don’t think we’ve lost anything yet, I hope! I have to go today to get a new key for it.

  17. You’ve really been cranking out the workouts…that’s awesome!!! I’m definitely a morning runner as well. My work day goes by faster, and I have much more energy.

  18. Bella is so stinkin’ cute! 🙂 Glad you had beautiful weather for some walks. It’s gotten warmer here too. I’m hoping we don’t have anymore really cold days!
    I love your outfit. I would never think to pair the plaid jacket with the flowered skirt but it definitely works.

  19. Yum yum – apple pie! I am so excited you did the yoga journal class – was it with Jason Crandell? I think he explains everything really well.
    Great running too – I have had the same thing with my Garmin having a low battery when I want to go and run, I would have done the same thing as you in the past, but now I know the distances of my routes, so I don’t have any excuse! But it is a bit annoying that the battery doesn’t seem to hold a charge for very long…

  20. I agree – beautiful weather can so lift one’s mood. Glad to hear that the weather was so lovely that side of the world 🙂
    Good work on your exercising.

  21. Great job on all of your workouts last week! Sounds like you had aa productive week. And I hate when my garmin does that — I seriously have to charge mine before every single run because it runs out of juice so quickly. But I’m proud of you for running “naked” so to speak. I have relied on my garmin so much, it would be hard to run without it.

Leave a Reply

