A day in my life: Saturday March 12, 2011

Thoughts:
Not much to tell, I’m over my post Winterblues by now. Today we are having another great day with sunshine. It looks like Spring is finally arriving and that certainly lifts my mood.

No big plans this weekend. My mother in law has her birthday today and we are celebrating that tomorrow with the inlaws.

Exercise:
I think I told you that I run in my village while it’s still dark because outside the village there aren’t many street lights. And I don’t like running in the village at all, runs seems longer somehow. So I decided to buy a headlamp and I got it in the mail Wednesday and tried it on my Thursday morning run. It worked perfectly, I could see the road very clearly and I enjoyed being on one of my usual routes again. Just a few more weeks and it will be light when I go out for my morning runs but till then I can use my lamp and run the routes I want too.

Stats:
Weather: dry, windy, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 4.5 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:32:38
Average time: 7:15 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Dire Straits – Money for nothing

Are you sitting down? Yes? Okay here we go:

I
DID
IT!
16K / 10 MILES

And what a great run it was. Everything was perfect: the weather, my energy level, my leg muscles. This was a run that reminds me why I started running in the first place because running is fun.

Random things about this run:

  • First time this without having to wear a thermo layer
  • First time this year without gloves
  • First time this year I wore the Bondi band instead of a hat
  • Between 4 and 5K I got John Mellencamp – ROCK in the USA on the Ipod, that song made me so happy at that moment that I was even clapping my hands during running (gladly there was no one around to see it)
  • Fastest long run of this year and it wasn’t my fault 🙂 it just happened. I felt good and ran almost the entire distance at half marathon pace.
  • I’ve noticed that when I take my gel after running for 1 hour, the run goes easier, this happened on all my runs where I took a gel.
  • Including today I have run more miles than I did last year from January till June.
  • I’m definitely sure I’m going to finish that half marathon.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not to much wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 16 K / 10 miles
Time: 01:54:15
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Pink! – Raise your glass

Daily dinner

Thursday March 10
An omelette with potato, mushrooms and mixed vegetables.

Daily outfit

Thursday March 10

Friday March 11
Shelley: do you see I’ve got my own Paco that wants to sneak into the picture 🙂

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 64 – Saturday March 5
More Spring

Day 65 – Sunday March 6
Forest walk

Day 66 – Monday March 7
Our house, the little blue car (Renault Twingo) is mine.

Day 67 – Tuesday March 8
I had to check a location for a team meeting and to get there I had to cross the water by a little ferry.

Day 68 – Wednesday March 9
This is what you see when you enter my village.

Day 69 – Thursday March 10
My new head lamp.

Day 70 – Friday March 11
This is where I work. My office is on the first floor at the left.

21 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday March 12, 2011

  1. Funny how your head lamp looks like the picture above it with yellow and white dots in the grass.

    Bella approves of your outfit!

    And of course you are going to finish your half. Don’t discount adrenaline to get you to the finish!

  2. Congratulations on running 10 miles!! Even more awesome that you felt great doing it 🙂 It is a good feeling to know that the half marathon is achievable – just a few more miles away!

  3. Wooooohoooooo! Way to go on the 10 miles! Love the head lamp, what a cool idea.

    Those Friday shoes are gorgeous.

    Love the spring pictures and the pics of your house, work and village. It is nice to see where people go everyday.

    Have a great time at the birthday celebration!

  4. Congratulations on having such a great 16K!!! That is a huge confidence booster for your half marathon – you are going to rock it, no doubt about it.
    And it’s so much more enjoyable with this weather, isn’t it?

  5. Frannie Bo Bannie! TEN MILES!!! You are not only a speed demon, you are quite the runner, my friend!!! I can see a huge difference this year with your running (compared to last year) – not only are you not skipping your runs, but you are enjoying it so much more…I am so happy for you! Great job – way to go!!!

    Helen will be so happy to see that you got a headlamp. 🙂 Glad that you are able to run your village now.

    Bella inspecting your clothes in that picture is too funny – our dogs sure are attention-hogs, right? It’s ok, they just know they are cute and SHOULD be photographed!

  6. Pretty spring picture. What brand is your headlamp? I should get one although I don’t run in the dark much, too chicken.

    Great job on the 10 miles. There is NO doubt in my mind you will finish the half.

  7. Yes it is spring as I can see in your pictures and reading your random things.
    Bella seems very happy to enjoy her walks.
    16K, a long distance, congrats!
    I like your shoes.

  8. It Seems a beautiful village, thanks for sharing those photos! I’d like to visit your country.

    Congrats on you long run! I hope you’ll enjoy the birthday celebration!
    Have a nice weekend!

  9. Sounds llike a fab run!!!! you are totally going to do great at your half.

  10. Well done on the fantastic run you did yesterday…thats far!!!!!am so not nearly ready for that as yet…a 12km is my next goal…so really know how those extra 6 must have been like for you….am so impressed!!!!

    I love seeing where you live, where you work, where you walk the dog, what you do etc etc….so love the 365 pics this week again.

    About the bread comment you left in my blog entry.
    I do eat bread on Friday evening and Saturday lunch time, but as a slice of bread ( and good bread ) is 135 calories, that means a sandwich is 270 before you even put something on it, I am only cutting it out during this time while I try get down 2 kg’s in weight.
    Its not forever….I have to play around with foods to see where i can make changes like I did with sugar 4 months ago….I don’t want you to misunderstand and think I am saying bread is bad…cause its not as long as not white bread of course.

  11. Sorry Fran, checked my bread again…its 37g and its 107 calories per slice, which is still a lot higher than yours, but the bread I have been eating has flaxseed and all the good stuff in it….so not a bad bread, hubby takes it to work daily as well….I just want to see if there will be a difference to my weight….otherwise I love bread and find the temptation so hard while I make H’s sandwiches daily…so tempted to smear peanut butter on a slice and eat it….LOL.

    About the runners body shape…am not meaning us normal women who run, I’m talking about those you see at the races or gyms who wear those special running shorts and tops….they got NO shape what so ever and seem to be curved forward. Runner like us are amateur compared to the professional ladies…total respect to them…but I dont want their body.

  12. Very pretty spring photos!Your outfits are really beautiful too.
    You live in a nice village.I hope I can visiting Holland also soon again.

  13. Congrats on your 10 mile run! You are going to rock your half marathon! 🙂 So excited for you.

  14. HURRAY! HURRAY! HURRAY! Oh. My. Gosh. 10 miles at that pace. You are rocking your runs! There is nothing wrong at all with running that fast when you’re just feeling it. I am so happy I am jumping up and down over here… can you see me?

    YOU GOT A HEADLAMP! Hurray again! Oooooh, don’t tell anyone, but since I had the kidlets I haven’t run for 3 days and I am totally rocking the headlamp tomorrow morning for my run – the snow is gone, there’s no rain so no ice and even it it’s cold, it’s so much better than the dreadmill.

    Spring is in the air! We are going to ‘run this city’ baby!

  15. CONGRATS to you!!! Wow kickin butt on that run !!
    The headlamp is a great idea- I might have to get for me too when I start up running again! Thanks for showing some pictures of your daily life!! Interesting !

  16. It looks beautiful there! Are those purple flowers tulips? You hear so much about Dutch tulips here in the US.

    Congrats on the run!!! Whoop whoop!!! So exciting. 🙂

  17. YAHOOOOOOO!!!!! YIPPPEEEEE!!!!!! I’m so proud of you. 10 miles! You’re awesome! ACCCKKKKK!!! I kind of blurred over the rest of your post after I read that. Way to GO!

  18. 10 miles is a HUGE accomplishment! 10 miles is also my favorite distance. It always makes me feel like I have done something awesome but I am not feeling so exhausted like 1/2’s seem to make me feel.

    You are right, you are totally finishing that half-marathon!!

  19. I swear to you that I typed out something on here on Saturday I guess I forgot to hit submit ;-).
    I am so proud of your 16km Fran, I knew you could do it and I have no doubt in my mind that you are doing wonderful things this year!
    Keep up the great work my friend!

  20. Wow! Congrats on such a great run! And yay for 16k!! 🙂 I have noticed that sometimes I run faster with my ipod on because I get so into the music. Maybe that John Mellencamp did something for you! Great job Fran!!!!!

  21. 10 miles!!! Woo Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love seeing the flowers and glimpses of spring. We should start seeing a little of that here pretty soon…I can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

