A day in my life: Monday March 14, 2011

Thoughts:
Suddenly I’m kind of busy, not only at work but also private. But that’s okay, I like it when I’m busy.
But this will mean I probably won’t be able to read all of your blogs on the day you post but not to worry: I will read and comment on them. Just wanted to let you know that.

Our weekend was good. Saturday night we had a quiet night at home, as most of our Saturday nights but we like it that way. We watched Shutter Island, we hadn’t seen that movie yet.

Sunday we went to my mother in law to celebrate her birthday. We also had dinner there, we had Chinese take out food. It was a nice day yesterday and before we went over there we had a long walk with Bella.

Exercise:
I did something stupid Saturday after my long run: I forgot to stretch! And till today I’m paying for that. I’m sore in mostly my upper legs. Because of that my morning run this morning wasn’t a very fast one, had to walk a lot. The energy was good but the legs didn’t cooperate. I’m glad I decided yesterday to move my speedwork of this week to Wednesday and had just a short run to do today.

I also miscalculated the weather. I had my headlamp on so I could run outside the village. But it was very foggy and I couldn’t see much, not even with the lamp on. It was a bit spooky that I saw so little. I saw so little that I didn’t see the cow pat on the road and stepped right into it: gross! I cleaned my shoes immediately when I got home. All things considered not the best run ever but that’s okay, they can’t all be good.

Stats:
Weather: dry, very foggy, no wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:30:19
Average time: 7:35 /km
Average speed: 7.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Whatever happened to Saturday night?

I’m (again) pleased with my workouts last week. Again another weekly mileage record.

Daily dinner

Monday March 14
Piece of pork meat, baked sweet potatoes, spinach salad with oranges and walnuts.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Monday March 14, 2011

  1. I can relate to being busy! Oh no for the cow pat! Hopefully your shoes cleaned up ok.

  2. eeeeww cowpat! Well (sh)it happens – glad you didn’t let it put you off!

  3. It seems like it’s a busy time of the year for a lot of us – no hurry on the blog reading, you’ve got a life to live! 🙂

    The cow pat (they call them pies here in Texas – no matter, it’s still gross) sounds awful! You know you’re a true runner when you’ve stepped in animal poo.

  4. You are so brave for running in the fog! After living in California for 20 years, I have become so “soft”… 🙂

    Enjoy whatever you are up to!

  5. Ewwww for poo on shoes! I hate it when that happens. Nasty. At least cow flop isn’t quite so bad as dog poo.

    Don’t worry about commenting on blogs. We all know you are abandoning anybody when you just get too busy 😀

  6. Your poor shoes…glad you were able to clean them soon after. That reminds me of the movie Forrest Gump…the same thing happened to him.

    Great work on all the exercise!!!

  7. I like being busy too!
    Has it been getting warmer?

    By the way, a dutch baby pancake takes up a whole place. It is thin like a crepe but a little puffier and golden brown on the edges. We eat them with butter and powdered sugar, with a just a little bit of lemon.
    You can have one when you come and visit!

  8. Don’t stress about commenting on blogs on the day that they have been posted. As long as you comment on your time, all is good 🙂
    Sorry to hear about the soreness in your muscles because you did not stretch – hope it gets better soon.

  9. Its great that you are so busy. I love times like that myself….
    I cancelled my run with neighbor this morning due to sore legs….so understand the feeling, we will run tomorrow morning instead…so today I did a weights workout with KB but only upper body and abs…no squats…my poor legs need a rest 🙂

    Do you bake your sweet potato????
    I have been baking one for lunch daily instead of cracker bread or bread and boy they taste so lovely and sweet….

  10. As long as you are happy with being busy, then it’s good! If I get too busy I get stressed out, and then I’m not a happy camper – I need my quiet time!
    Oh no for the shoes! I hate getting gross stuff on my running shoes – my biggest fear is stepping in dog poo because it smells so bad… I have stepped in goose poo out at the lake before and that is nasty too.

  11. I just have to say that I love oven baked potatoes I could eat them for every meal ;-).
    I find that once spring arrives everyone gets busy in prepareation for summer. Hope it’s a good kind of busy my friend, and that you have room to breath and have some fun ;-).

  12. My busy-ness tends to pick up as better weather arrives. We all go through it.

    I agree about running in fog. I think it’s super hard and can be dangerous. Depending on the fog I’ve had to opt for the treadmill as much as I hate it.

    I think your long runs have reached the point where you should not only be stretching but you should be taking an ice bath. Yes, it’s hard, but you only have to sit there for 10 minutes and it will make all the difference in how your legs recover.

    Stepping in animal poo, no matter the kind = you’ve officially been initiated as a real runner lol!

  13. I’ve noticed that I am lot busier lately too! But I too like it better when I’m busy. I feel less lazy – because I have cram my workouts into my schedule. If I have too much time on my hands I somehow put them off. Great week of workouts Fran! You are rocking!

  14. I loved Shutter Island! I hope you enjoyed it.

    Ugh… I can’t believe you stepped in a cow pie, I would have been so grossed out! At least you got out there and did the run. I’m usually pretty stiff after a long run, hopefully it will go away soon.

  15. I’ve been busy too. So much going on!
    I don’t recall ever running in fog but I’ve heard it can be the most dangerous weather to run in with terrible visibility! Be safe out there!

  16. Did you enjoy Shutter Island? I haven’t seen it yet.

    The last time I ran in really heavy fog (last year), a deer came running out of the row of bushes I was running along…and we nearly collided. I guess he couldn’t see where he was going either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

