A day in my life: Wednesday March 16, 2011

Thoughts:

Thank you so much for all your comments on yesterday’s post. I really appreciate all your advice. I promised I would tell you today what I have decided: Pilates or Strength.

Drums please ……  for now I’m going to stop with Pilates and replace it with Strength training. That’s also what most of you adviced me.

I have to take a look at my workout schedule when I’m going to do it. Maybe through a double workout or combine it with hill training on the treadmill which I want to start with after the half.

I will do at least one weight training a week, maybe 2, I will have to find out what works best for me. I’m going to focus on my upper body. A few weeks ago I already found a schedule for beginners which I am going to use. Tell you more about that once I started weight training.

Tomorrow it’s been 1 year since we lost our beloved dog Roussy. Looking back a year flies by and is over before you know it. We still do miss her and still talk often about her. Of course we are very happy with Bella but Roussy will never be forgotten either. Her ashes are still in our living room, close to Bella’s basket. I like to think that this way Roussy is watching over Bella. Roussy was our first dog, she was almost 17 years old when she died, we have had her for almost 12 years (we got her when she was 4.5 years old).

Roussy 06-08-1993 / 03-17-2010

Exercise:
I didn’t go to Pilates yesterday. I didn’t really feel like going so I skipped. This morning I had speedwork on my schedule but after doing 1 mile of that I knew today wasn’t my day. It weren’t the legs, they are back in shape and felt good. I just couldn’t motivate myself to do it. I had to do 9.6K (6 miles) but ended up doing 4.3 K (2.6 miles). I’m okay with that, this can happen and tomorrow probably will be a better run.

I did decide however that this can happen again and if it does I won’t make up for the “lost” miles in a next run. As long as I can continue to run 4 times a week, I’m happy with that.

Stats:
Weather: dry, a bit windy, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 4.3 K / 2.6 miles
Time: 00:30:57
Average time: 7:12 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Lily Allen – It’s not fair

17 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday March 16, 2011

  1. Awww, sweet Roussy. I wasn’t reading your blog back when you had her but she was a gorgeous dog.

  2. I cant believe its a year already, I remember the day you lost her like it was yesterday….
    Sweet that she still lives with you in your home…
    Enjoy the run tomorrow….
    Thinking of you.

  3. I can’t believe that it’s been a year since Roussy passed away. I had just started reading your blog…

    Good luck with the weight training. I know you’ll figure out what best fits into your schedule.

  4. I remember reading about Roussy passing. Time goes by so fast.

    We have a picture up of our kitty that passed away 2 years ago, whom we had for 18 years. I still miss her so much.

    I am glad you chose strength training because I didn’t want to have to fly out there and make you do it…

  5. A Roussy looks like she was a great dog – hugs!

  6. Gosh, I remember when Roussy died – I cried for you. She was such a sweet dog. I like that she is watching over Bella. That is a nice thought, you know?

    Wouldn’t it be fun to have Lori fly all over the world and kick our bloggy behinds into shape? Just a thought. 😉

  7. Losing pets is very tough. Have fun with the strength training.

  8. Roussy was adorable. It is so hard to lose a pet, they really become family members. My family lost both the dogs I grew up with this past year, it is tough.

    Good luck with the strength training, I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with! I really love Jillian Michaels DVDs for strength training.

  9. Nice photo of your first dog:
    I hope you’ll have a good Strength training!

  10. Hugs Fran, I Know what you are going through, losing a pet can be so difficult because they are a big part of your everyday life.

    I’m interested to read more about your strength training!

    I had the same thing happen on my run the day before last, I wanted to do more than 5 but just didn’t feel it, so I walked / ran the last 3.
    Yesterday I did the whole run and enjoyed every second of it.

    Sometimes it’s just our bodies way of saying “I AINT GOING ANY FARTHER AND YOU CANT MAKE ME ;-). You will make up for it Fran I know you will. And there is nothing wrong with cutting a run short, sometimes that makes us stronger for the next one.

    Hugs to you today, I know it’s probably a tough day for you!

  11. It took me FOR.EV.ER. to get running this morning. It was dark and foggy – those two don’t mix for me so I had to hit the TM. I was up for almost 1 1/2 hours drinking coffee before I could get myself to go. Oy. Once I got started I did OK but this is the second time this week I’ve had to negotiate my way through a run. I’m blaming it all on the stupid time change!

  12. Being able to adjust your schedule when you need to is part of life. You’re listening to your body, and that’s what is important! 🙂

  13. *big hugs* Fran. I think losing a pet is a super hard thing to go through. And I know that she will never be forgotten.

    And about your missing miles, yah when I miss a run sometimes I don’t know weather to tack them onto another run or just go on as normal. But I think it’s good that you listened to your body. And hey congrats for going 2.6 – that is farther than I would have gone if I wasn’t feeling it that day! 🙂

  14. You’ll make up the miles….sometimes the motivation goes. It happens, but it comes back. You have been doing really well, and looking forward to reading about the strength training.
    Losing a member of the family is always hard – and our pets are just that, part of the family, but sometimes new members join and even though the sadness passes, the memories remain.

  15. Roussy was so pretty! I like that she is looking over Bella, just like a big sister…
    Good luck with the strength training!

  16. I got your card yesterday Fran. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!!! So cute. I’m sorry I disappointed by not going, but I REALLY appreciate your support and encouragement. I’ll nail it on another day. Hope you are having a great weekend!

  17. A year certainly does pass quickly…so nice that Roussy is now watching over Bella.

    Good luck with the strength training…glad Lori didn’t have to make the trip all the way over there…she is so funny!

Leave a Reply

