A day in my life: Saturday March 19, 2011

Thoughts:
This week it wasn’t home improvement week but Fran-improvement week. I had an appointment with my pedicure on Tuesday night and Thursday night I had a facial treatment. My beauty salon gives massages too and I decided to book one on the day after my half marathon next month. I thought that is a perfect reward for that.

Yesterday evening we had an invitation from my mother in law to go out for dinner. She has recently moved to an apartment and R. and his two brothers did a lot for her: painting, putting in new floors, moving. She also gave them a balloon ride as a gift, something R. always wanted to do so this will be fun for him. I didn’t take pictures of the food because I my family in law don’t know about my blog and I didn’t want to explain why I took pictures. The portions were big, actually too big for me, never thought I would say that LOL.

Tomorrow night I have a dinner date with R. It’s national dining week here in Holland and you could make reservations at a lot of restaurants and you get a 3 course dinner a lot cheaper than normal. This year our favourite restaurant participated in it too and we made reservations there.

Exercise:
Thursday morning’s run was as expected much better than Monday and Wednesday. It was a nice and easy run. It felt good.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:52
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – You can’t touch this

This morning I had to do another 16K (10 miles). There was panic here when I wanted to go: my Garmin didn’t work, it did nothing. After looking it up on the internet I gave it a reset and it worked again but it said “battery low” which was odd because I charged it yesterday night. So I waited for another hour and decided to go. During the run at about 50 minutes it said again “battery low” but it kept working till the end of the run (luckily).

I had no idea how this run would go after the dinner yesterday and the 4 glasses of red wine I drank. But it went surprisingly well. I decided not to watch the pace but go for endurance this run. Last week I walked at 30 and 90 minutes and stopped at 60 minutes to take a gel. Today I ran a full hour and then walked to take a gel, after that I took only 1 more walk. I’m very pleased with this. My time was a minute slower than last week on the Garmin but last week I had auto pause still switched on and the 2.5 minutes I stopped at that run weren’t counted in my total time.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 16 K / 10 miles
Time: 01:55:20
Average time: 7:12 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Eminem – Without you.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 71 – Saturday March 12
Buying flowers at the market.

Day 72 – Sunday March 13
Random spot in my village.

Day 73 – Monday March 14
My gym.

Day 74 – Tuesday March 15
Children playing football on the field that’s across my house.

Day 75 – Wednesday March 16
Today I saw these narcissuses while walking Bella.

Day 76 – Thursday March 17
It’s been a year since Roussy passed away. This photo of her is hanging on the wall in our living room.

Day 77 – Friday March 18
I placed our lounge set back on the terrace and guess who was the first who sat on it ….

Day 78 – Saturday March 19
Just a view of where I ran today.

19 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday March 19, 2011

  1. sounds like a great week of pampering Fran!

    WOW on your run! I’m so happy for you!

    Loved all the pics

    Have a great weekend 😉

  2. You are rockin’ those long runs! Way to go.
    Loved your pics! I have been slacking on the 365 challenge but hope to pick it back up when I move. I’ll be taking before and after pictures at the new house for sure.

  3. Love the Fran-provement!!! I need to get a pedicure soon too. I thought I was having one the other night at spa night, but it turned into a manicure. Since spring is coming, I think a nice, bright pink on my toes would be lovely.

    Nice that you get to dine out a couple of times…family time and date night. Perfect!

    Great pictures…thanks for sharing them.

  4. That dining special sounds like a great opportunity. We are doing something similar this Wednesday.

  5. Bella is certainly enjoying her time in the sun! Spring certainly has sprung there. It has here too and I love it!

  6. Fran-improvement – I love it!

    I think a massage after a 1/2 marathon sounds like the perfect reward!

  7. Glad you had a week of pampering – well-deserved! 🙂 And the massage after the half will feel WONDERFUL – great planning!

  8. Fran-improvement week sounds like fun! Glad you were nice to yourself! I know I should do some improvements myself…

    Good job on your run! Glad the Garmin decided to cooperate after all…

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  9. I think a massage sounds like an excellent way to pamper yourself after your half marathon!

    Your national dining week sounds like something we call Restaurant Week here. I love it, there are always really good deals at restaurants we normally wouldn’t go to. I hope you enjoy your date night!

    Great job on your 10 miles!!

  10. Great run! I have been having battery issues with my Garmin, too, it’s rather annoying. I had to reset it once as well, it just wouldn’t respond.

    A massage after your half will feel wonderful!

  11. I haven’t been for anything pampering besides my nails which I dont call pampering in about 3 years…am desperate for a facial again or a body massage, but with not earning my own money I feel too bad to do this with the saving I have to do for my next holiday home….

    Well done on the fantastic run ~ today when we finished our 14km long run I told Christine that 2 more km is what you did….so we will attempt that in about a months time, first we have to get used to the 14km.

    Great looking gym you have and we also have the flower sellers ~ lol, so much the same with us living in Europe.

    Hope u had a good rest day today and that next week is a good one for you…I see its going to be 18/19 degrees here next week…no guessing what I will be doing…hehehe, running and tanning!!

  12. Hi Fran,
    Thank you for all the encouragement. I tried to keep up with my blog but had some trouble following others’ (I still can’t read very well). Great job on your training! You will totally rock the half in Utrecht. Den Haag was good, maybe a bit more people that I was comfortable with: I never felt as if it wasn’t crowded. And yes, it is a very funny coincidence that we have three runs in common this year. I bet you that means we both have excellent taste! Do you want to try and meet up in Utrecht? Since we are both running the half we could start together? Or meet up beforehand?

  13. You are kicking butt with your running. You deserve a little pampering. I like the idea of getting a massage the day after your half…I might copy that idea and sign myself up for one. 🙂

  14. oh pampering how I love thee!!! Sounds like you deserved the pampering.

    Love your daily photos. 🙂

  15. A little pampering goes a long way!
    Massages are great – Something I need to do more often.

  16. You are so going to enjoy that massage! Very smart to wait until the day after. I like how you said it was Fran improvement week. I need to do that.

    You’re smart not to compare runs. Every run is different. Any little thing can change the outcome. Besides now, you’re just getting used to turning those legs over. Doesn’t matter at all if one is slower.

  17. Oh yeah ….. great job on the endurance. You are dong SO well Fran!

    Looks like you are a little ahead of us with spring coming. The narcissuses (we call them Daffodils here) won’t be up for a couple more weeks. I did see Crocuses today which usually are out a few weeks before, so they’re coming.

  18. I love the pictures. The gym looks great! I am glad to hear you pampered yourself. I was thinking of setting up an appt. for a massage. Sounds wonderful!

  19. You are doing really well with this whole running thing. 🙂 Keep it up!!!!

    It seems like our dogs use our deck furniture more than we do. (giggle)

Leave a Reply

