A day in my life: Monday March 21, 2011

Thoughts:
Welcome to the first day of Spring my friends. I hope you all had the same wonderful Spring day we had today, nothing but sunshine and clear blue sky.

Yesterday R. and I went out for dinner. It was National Dining Week and we made reservations in our favourite restaurant. We had a 4 course dinner for only € 27,50 (39 USD), normally we pay double for that. Here’s what we had:

We got a glass of Prosecco with some bread to start with.

First course was rocket salad with feta cheese, green peppers and sundried tomatoes.

After that I had a bouillon soup (R. had onion soup).

Main course was 3 little pieces of duck, kangaroo and ostrich meat.

Dessert was a grand dessert

Exercise:
My legs weren’t half as sore after the 16K on Saturday than the week before and I decided to do my temporun this morning. It went great, I ran nonstop without walking. I left in the dark and halfway during my run I saw a beautiful sunrise and came home when it was light. Sunrises are amazing and I enjoyed this run very much. I miscalculated that it was freezing and had no gloves on but my hands were warm after about 1 mile in the run.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, -1C (30 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:55:26
Average time: 6:56 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: REM – Losing my religion

Daily dinner

Monday March 21
Chipolata sausages (that’s what they’re called here), baked potatoes and a delicious salad of tomato, mango, corn and red onion.

19 responses to “A day in my life: Monday March 21, 2011

  1. Your 4 course dinner looks amazing…I have never had duck, kangaroo and ostrich meat – but it looks tasty! Oh my the dessert platter – yummm. Nice run also!

  2. That dessert looks fabulous! What did R. have? 😉

    Your three meats for dinner? I’ve never tried (and not being adventurous, probably never will).

    I had to laugh at your comment on my post today – glad I have a sister in silly music!

  3. What a nice dinner out!

    Running at sunrise is great! Glad you had such a good run (minus the cold hands)!

    Have a great week!

  4. That looks like a delicious dinner! I have had duck and ostrich, but never kangaroo.

  5. Your meat trio at your nice dinner out sounds really interesting. I’ve never had kangaroo before.

  6. What a WONDERFUL dinner, yum. The dessert plate, was of course, my favorite! It looks like you’re training for your race is coming along, 5 weeks will fly by! I’m so excited for you!

  7. I hope you and Bella had a good walk. Do you typically eat kangaroo and ostrich? I have no idea what they would taste like.

  8. Date night sounds like fun, and the dessert looks awesome!

  9. That dinner looks fabulous! Love that you started with some prosecco, too–fun to celebrate a bit.

    Your runs sound great lately…glad you’re enjoying it so much.

  10. Nice dinner! The desserts look great.

    Sounds like you had a wonderful run, nice to see the sun rise!

  11. Yay for dining week! I loved all the dinner photos, and super curious as to what in the heck kangaroo tastes like. 🙂 Hopefully it tasted delicious!

  12. That meal you had at the restaurant looks divine as well as the one you made on Monday. Yum.
    Good work on the 16k. Well done to you

  13. What you think of Ostrich, its very popular in South Africa as considered not a RED meat…cause a bird.

    Amazing how the body adjusts to long runs….

  14. No gloves – brrrr! It’s still been quite chilly in the mornings, you are very brave to get out there. I am waiting til it warms up a bit.

  15. Yum on that dessert taster. That’s my favorite way to have dessert I think! What a nice dinner overall.

    You are rocking your runs these days girl. Love seeing those numbers you’re putting up!

  16. The dessert and the potatoes+corn look delicious!
    You are working hard, long distance and tempo runs are special training!

  17. Food looks yummy though not sure I could eat any of that meat for dinner. I am not a brave woman…lol Great job on your workouts!!

  18. I left on my run this morning wishing I had my gloves…but my hands always warm up pretty quickly after I start. I even got snowed on a little. Kinda funny!

    Both of the meals you have pictured look marvelous!!!!

    Way to go on the tempo run!

  19. The meal looks absolutely fantastic. I love ostrich – it kind of reminds me of really lean beef. I’ve never actually had kangaroo but I’ve heard good things!

Leave a Reply

