A day in my life: Saturday March 26, 2011

Thoughts:
I’m done with it!
I haven’t been losing weight for 8 weeks now and am slowly gaining again. I can see it around my waist and feel it at my clothes and I’ve had enough of it. Next week I’m going to follow an eating plan for a week. It’s not about counting calories or something, just eat healthy and smaller portions. I’ve done this plan in August last year and lost weight by using it. I need something to get back on track.

Other part to help me lose weight is stick to my workout schedule. This week I missed two workouts: 1 strength training and 1 short run. No more excuses why I can’t run or go to the gym, just do it!

But … I don’t want to make my weight an issue and I won’t be mention my weight her on my blog until I’ve reached my first goal weight. I don’t want to focus too much on my weight, past experiences have taught me I get unhappy by doing that and go in the opposite direction, meaning eating.

My first half marathon is in exactly a month (well technically that was yesterday). In order to prepare for that the next month I will:

  • only drink 1 or 2 glasses of wine on Saturday night, after my long run.
  • try to do my runs at a faster pace than I do now so I can maybe finish a bit faster than in 2 hours and 30 minutes which is my goal for my first half.
  • drink enough water, especially the day before my long run.
  • eat healthy and get enough sleep.
  • stretch, foamroll, ice, especially after the long runs.
  • but most of all: enjoy running or weight training or yoga!

It’s just me and Bella this weekend. R. is in Italy with his brother for a motor exhibition. He will be back on Monday morning. No big plans for Bella and me except that we’re going to my Mom this afternoon.

Exercise:
WOOHOO! NEW DISTANCE RECORD: 17.6 K (11 MILES)!

It went great till the last 3K, then it got tough and I had to really push myself to keep going and I did. I didn’t run for time because it was a new distance. Goal was to finish it. I walked every half hour to drink or take a gel. I’m confident I’m going to finish that half. I’m ready, not only mentally but also physically.

Stats:
Weather: mostly dry sometimes a drop of rain, cloudy, not much wind, 6C (42 degrees)
Distance: 17.6 K / 11 miles
Time: 02:07:49
Average time: 7:16 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: America – Sister golden hair

Daily dinner

Friday March 25
Whole wheat pasta with chicken, broccoli, mushrooms and low-calorie cream.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 79 – Sunday March 20
The restaurant where we had dinner.

Day 80 – Monday March 21
First day of Spring and still 13C (55 degrees) at 6.30 pm.

Day 81 – Tuesday March 22
This deer I saw somewhere in the middle of my village. People who live there keep it together with 3 other deers.

Day 82 – Wednesday March 23
Winter clothes -> gone. Hello Summer clothes.

Day 83 – Thursday March 24
Had a meeting all day at a different location. We were on the 12th floor and the view was spectacular.

Day 84 – Friday March 25
Yeah for self-scanning. Went to a different grocery store because that was more convenient this week. Been there before and they have self-scanning which saves a lot of time at the cashiers desk.

19 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday March 26, 2011

  1. Fran, part of the trouble may be the half marathon training. Many people gain weight when training for long distance events, even if they are trying to lose. Maybe just focus on the training now and when the half is done, then concentrate more. It is very hard to balance nutrition and training.

    I have seen self checkout lines in grocery stores (we have one here), but not the scanners around here yet.

  2. Great pictures, as always!
    You might want to try leaving the long run as a slower, comfortable pace so that you know you’ll finish it strong and confidently. I do the speed work during the week as intervals or tempo runs and always do the long runs about a minute slower than my goal pace. You can find these goal paces on McMillian web site. You scroll down and plug in your goal time and they will tell you what pace you should run your long run, your intervals and your tempo run. This also keeps injuries away!!
    Email me if you have any questions. Sorry if you already know this and have your own plan in mind. It just reminded me of a couple of things I’ve changed in my running the past five years and what has really worked.

    Have a fun weekend with Bella 🙂 !

  3. Oops, I also wanted to add that long runs seem to burn little to no calories for me but the speed work mid week really makes me speed up my metablolism. You still need to be a good, healthy eater though, yet, I know you already are!! Over the course of my training I usually lose 4 or 5 pounds and the after the race, gain the same 4 or 5 pounds back. I can’t really use running as a true weight loss thing, I just eat well and consider it fuel to be strong. I guess I’ll have to watch it once again, after the race. Grrrrrr….it’s tough getting older!!
    Sorry this is so long and blabby!!!

  4. Great job on the long run!

    I am a calorie counting addict, of course that just lets me know when I mess up – but I think you can do it – if you have a plan just follow that and make sure you still have enough energy for your runs. 🙂

    Love the photos you include, its great to see someone else world.

  5. Firstly my friend…WELL DONE ON THE NEW RECORD…I saw it on Twitter today while driving with hubby in the car…and thought to myself…WOW…SHE IS JUST GETTING BETTER AND BETTER…am really proud of you as thats a LOOONG way to run.

    I have been dieting for the last month, counting calories and training both cardio and weights and burning ample calories and staying the same…I do see my hips are smaller again…when I do lots of running I lose on my hips…so thats a good thing…Next month the ladies on my group and I are going to do The 17 Day Diet Plan…..lets see if I can drop the 4 kgs I have been trying to drop for the last year now.

    That pasta dish looks very yummy indeed ~with hubby on no carbs, I havent had pasta in 3 weeks now.

    It got to 17 degrees here yesterday, but today cloudy and back to 8…actually was very cold today!

    I am still wearing my winter clothing….not the boots anymore…but need the long sleeves and lighter jackets…brrrrrrrrrrr especially today.

    Germany nor SA has those self scanners, have seen them being mentioned and wow…they must make such a difference.
    ONE day we might get them here…lets see.

    Have a good rest day tomorrow with Bella..
    if its cold tomorrow I wont be running…my body is so tired…did a short upper body workout today again….

  6. Love that little square where you had lunch. You Europeans have it so right to embrace the outdoors and enjoy dining!

    Don’t let the weight get you down–as you keep increasing your mileage, keep the calories the same and it will fall off.

  7. Woohooo on running 11 miles! Great job Fran.

    Love your pictures…the food looks great and I really like the deer. Deer are so sweet looking.

    Yippee to spring clothes!!! I don’t have a lot of clothes and they are used all year long…I will need to get some new ones for summer though…maybe some new capris and some shirts. I don’t like shopping for clothes.

    Have fun with Bella and moedertje!!!

  8. I feel your frustration with the weight gain. It’s tough to lose while training for a half…maybe just do one thing for now, like cutting out the alcohol, and see if that makes a difference. You do need to make sure you’re getting enough good calories to fuel your runs.

    And speaking of runs, nice job hitting 11 miles!!! You are doing wonderful with your training – so proud of you! I know you have a time goal in mind for the half, but just keep in the back of your mind that conditions can be off (too hot, too cold/windy/rainy) so even though you’ve done everything to hit that time goal, it may be partially out of your control. Just finishing your first half marathon is a huge accomplishment. 🙂

  9. Congrats on the 11 miles. You will do well in the half marathon. Thanks for the reminder to drink more before my half marathon in two weeks. And thanks for the nice comment on my last post.

  10. Congrats on the 11 miles!! You will have no problem finishing the half, and I think it’s awesome that you’re focusing on a new time goal now.

    I wouldn’t worry about the weight at all right now. I also have gained a little bit while training for my half marathon. But I don’t feel bad about it after finishing some of my runs – I feel strong. I decided that I will wait until after my half (which is tomorrow!) to focus on my weight.

  11. Woo hoo! Good job on your 17K! You are definitely going to finish your half and I think you will surprise yourself on how well you do on the day. Isn’t it a huge relief to have that feeling of confidence now?

    My supermarket also has self scanning and I love it! I bag everything as I go along and it saves so much time.

    Enjoy your quiet time with Bella and hope your legs recover well from yesterday’s run!

  12. The 17.6 K are another step towards your first half but I think you have to make a longer workout before the event (but not the week before).
    Eat healthy and drink the necessary water is very important.
    As usual that dish look delicious.
    Enjoy your walks with Bella.

  13. Good job on the long run. I have been following your training, so this is fantastic news, and you are quite strong throughout. I have no doubts you will rock your half on race day.
    I know the weight thing must be frustrating, but from the pics you post, you seem to have quite healthy meals. Also, you are doing strength training, so could some of it be muscle mass? I am no expert (having put on 10 pounds over the last year), but when my head was in the game, it was easier to keep off the pounds with a balance of healthy eating and exercise. Keep at it, don’t give up and you will find the balance.

  14. Congrats on your new distance record! That’s awesome. You’re so ready for your half!
    That view from the 12th floor is amazing. I love seeing your pictures around your village and country. It’s so beautiful there.

  15. You do realize that every time you do a longer distance, that little bit extra will feel hard, right? Next time, you will feel great until 11 miles then might struggle a bit to go on. It’s OK, though, that’s the purpose of that training!

    Very, very tricky to balance losing weight with distance training. Ive always been able to maintain (or gain – sheesh!) when training for half or full marathons, but never to lose. I think that’s one of the reasons I’ve been reluctant to commit to any races. I’d like to get my weight under control.

  16. Yes water is soooo important! Keep hydrating every day so you are well off for the race! You are going to knock the half out of the park- I think you will surprise yourself!

  17. Mmmm Friday’s dinner looks so good. Isn’t it nice with spring arriving? I’m loving these warmer temperatures. It hit 19°C here the other day. It was lovely, but I’m not quite adjusted yet and it felt SO hot. Not complaing about that though!!!! I love self-scanners. I would perfer to scan a large grocery shop by myself than go through a cashier … but they don’t really like you to do that. I’m kind of a control freak that way. I prefer my groceries to be packed a certain way and the cashiers never do it properly.

    Congrats on the 11 miles! You are doing SO well. You are going to do just fine with the half. Awesome!

  18. I really forgot everything I read after I saw the distance you ran!!! You go girl! I love it. The pics are great to. I really love the last one. Wish we had that here. All we have are self checkouts but they stink.

  19. Congrats on the 11!! 🙂 And don’t worry too much about your body until after your race. I noticed a fluctuation (first I gained then lost) in my weight during the marathon training. You are running a lot and need to fuel your body. I wouldnt focus on that too much until after the race. But i like your mini-goals. I noticed that I was probably drinking too much wine when I trained because I thought I could. LOL… you live and learn! 🙂 Keep up the good work Fran!!

Leave a Reply

