A day in my life: Wednesday March 30, 2011

Thoughts:
Today it’s my 2-year running anniversary. On March 30, 2009 I put on my running shoes again. I had run only once before that in 2009. In 2008 and 2007 I had ran about 7 times through the entire year.

I started running again because I had joined a team at work to run a 5K in June of that year. I had to start all over again and used a program called “Start to run”. You can compare it with C25K. My first run was 18 minutes of which I ran 9 minutes with walking breaks. I came home exhausted and thought I would never ever run a 5K.

But I didn’t give up and I ran that 5K in June and kept running after that. I did my first 10K in September of that year. Running is the only sport I never gave up on. Everything else I would do for a few months or a year and I would quit because I was bored.

Today I’m 26 days away from my first half marathon. If you told me 2 years ago I would run a half marathon once, I wouldn’t have believed you. I’m proud of myself and of my accomplishments.

At my first 5K in June 2009

At my first 10K in September 2009

Exercise:
What better way to celebrate a running anniversary with a run. Got up at 5.10 am and had 8K (5 miles) planned. But just like my run 2 years ago it was a struggle and I had to cut the run short to 6.2K (3.9 miles). I’m okay with that, most of my runs lately are going great and a “bad” run every now and then is part of the complete picture.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not much wind, 0C (32 degrees)
Distance: 6.2 K / 3.9 miles
Time: 00:45:36
Average time: 7:21 /km
Average speed: 8.2 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Pet Shop Boys – Suburbia

Daily dinner

Tuesday March 29
Chicken breast with clementines, oven baked potatoes, stir-fried green beans with onion and ginger syrup.

Wednesday March 30
Pork tenderloin, couscous and snow peas.

Daily outfit

Monday March 28

Tuesday March 29
One of my male co-workers said I looked smoking hot in this outfit today. Well he got me blushing by saying that and I was very flattered.

18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday March 30, 2011

  1. Happy 2 year anniversary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Your dinners always look so delicious! 🙂

    I bet you DID look great in that dress!

  2. Happy 2 Years of Running!

    That totally rocks that you have stuck with it. Congrats!

  3. happy anniversary! so excited for you half, can’t wait!
    oh and you ARE smokin’ hot little lady!
    xoxo

  4. Happy RUNIVERSARY!! You’ve come a long way baby but you’ve still got a long way to go. Love your attitude about the not so good run. It’s true, bad runs happen.

    You ARE smoking hot so why would you even blush about that 🙂

  5. Before I got to what you wrote about that dress, I was thinking “that dress is amazing” – and I know your coworker was correct in his assessment! 🙂

    Happy running anniversary! Aren’t you glad you started? I am! And woohoo, your half is almost here! I can’t wait!!!

  6. Happy running anniversary! I’m so glad you stuck with running!
    I LOVE seeing your spring dresses! So pretty.
    Your dinners look very tasty and healthy. I’ve never had ginger syrup before but it sounds really good.

  7. Happy Anniversary! Compliments are always nice. 😉

  8. HAPPY HAPPY Running anniversary!! 🙂 Fran, our running anniversary’s are very close to eachother. I started running 2 years ago too, but I can’t quite remember the exact date. It was right around this time though. YAY For you and for your half marathon coming up. So excited for you!!

  9. Happy Runniversary!

    I bet you were smoking hot in that dress – if you’ve got it, flaunt it!

  10. Happy anniversary! How cool that you’ve accomplished so much in that time.

    Love those dresses–I’ll bet you did look great!

  11. I just posted on this today, asking for advice. I’m having a bad run week! And now it’s freaking me out that I won’t be able to do this half marathon. Have you experienced a mental block at all? It’s not physical…just mental.

    Congrats on your run-iversary!!!

  12. Happy Runaversary!! I would totally celebrate the day, congrats!
    I loved the outifts, the gray dress is gorgeous!!!

    I always love these outfit pictures, I KNOW you know that so thanks!!!

  13. Yeah for two years running and so close to your first half. I hope you enjoy it a ton!

  14. Happy Running Anniversary!! It’s awesome that you’ve kept it up for so long 🙂

  15. Happy 2nd running anniversary. How wonderful is it that you have never got bored…
    Lovely to see your first pictures in this entry…
    Both outfits are lovely….and can imagine you looked smoking HOT!!!

  16. Congratulations on your running anniversary! The great thing about running is that it is wonderful to see how you progress and get better if you stick with it!

    Love that dress – wish we could see it on you!

  17. Congrats on celebrating your second year of running. That is awesome. I can’t wait to celebrate my first anniversary of running 🙂

  18. Congrats on your 2yr anniversary. I just had my 3 yr one. I have a half marathon in 23 days too!!

    Love the dress & your food. Wish I lived closer and could come over for dinner LOL

Leave a Reply

