Workout goals March 2011

Quote of the month:
There are as many reasons for running as there are days in the year, years in my life. But mostly I run because I am an animal and a child, an artist and a saint. So, too, are you. Find your own play, your own self-renewing compulsion, and you will become the person you are meant to be.
George Sheehan

March has been a fantastic month:

  • I’ve reached all my running goals this month.
  • I’ve never ever run this many km’s / miles in a month.
  • I’ve run 284 km / 176 miles in 3 months. Last year it took me till half of you July to reach this mileage.
  • Yes, I could have done much better on the Strength and Yoga. I’m not promising this will get better in April because I’m still 100% focussed on running this month. May should be better concerning strength and yoga.

On April 25th it’s finally going to happen: my first half marathon. I’m excited but I’m ready. My goal is to finish under 2 hours and 30 minutes. My first half is about finishing, my second I will try to improve my time.

Goals March:
Running: 15 times. Done: 16
Pilates: 5 times. Done: 1.
Yoga: 4 times. Done: 1.
Strength: when I have time for it. Done: none

Goals April:
Running: 14 times.
Yoga: when I feel like it.
Strength: when I feel like it.
Races: Half marathon of Utrecht, April 25th.

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in February: 15 workouts, total time 12 hours and 38 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in March: 18 workouts, total time 16 hours and 47 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Goal kilometres/miles in 2011: 1011 K / 628 miles

Goal March: 110 K / 68 miles.
Total March:  127.1 K /  79 miles

Goal April: 120 K / 75 miles.

Total till 03/31: 284.1 K / 176.5 miles
Total running time: 34 hours 15 minutes
Still to run to reach yearly goal: 726.9 K / 451.7 miles  -> aanpassen maart

Personal records I want to achieve:
Run a   5K < 32 minutes
Run a 10K < 1.08

Races:
April 25, Half marathon of Utrecht
May 15, Marikenloop Nijmegen, 10K
October 2, Singelloop Breda, 15K, with Amy.
October 16, Half marathon of Amsterdam.

Other goals:

Pilates and Strength training
Go as much as possible to Pilates once a week and do a weight training once a week.
March:
start with yoga once a week.
March:
stopped with Pilates and replaced it with strength.

14 responses to “Workout goals March 2011

  1. You will love the changes to your body once you started adding weights to your workouts, but right now its all about running…..we have to get past that half marathon first.
    I’m interested to see how many km I ran in 3 months like you have set out here, never thought of doing that….so will go check and see where I ended as my running has also been good since I got back from holiday…even if I ran on treadmill a lot.

    You have lots of personal goals…and am here to cheer you along,….you will be able to reach them in no time…so exciting for you.
    I’m proud of you my friend…you work all day and are still able to train…well done.

  2. I see you’ve got Shelley’s favorite type of post here Fran – lol!

    It makes me happy to see you so satisfied with the progress you’re making. You are smart to have your first goal “to finish.” Time does not matter at all. I have no doubt that you will finish spectacularly no matter what the time is.

  3. What a great month! I might steal it to recap my month.

    You are going to do amazing on your first half, I am with you having a time in my head but just getting across the finish line is the ultimate goal.

  4. Helen busted me – I skipped all the numbers except for your completed runs for March – you have done a GREAT job with your training! So proud of you; I can’t believe the race is coming up so soon – eeeeek!

  5. Congratulations on meeting your goals in March. And April is another big month for you!

  6. Congrats on meeting your running goals! And congrats on running more miles this month than any before 🙂 79 miles in a month is a LOT!

  7. Now you can start an official countdown with 25 days to go!

    You have been consistent with your training and that is the most important thing to a successful race.

  8. What a great month! You got in so much running. You should be very proud of yourself Fran…you will be ready for the race!

  9. Awesome!!! You had a great running month! I know you will meet your goal in Utrecht and probably even suprise yourself. Let the countdown begin!

  10. Congrats on reaching all your goals this month- isn’t that just the best feeling!

  11. Noly nice mileage this month Fran. You are racking up those miles. WOOOHOOO!!!! So proud of you! Keep up the fantastic work. You must be getting so strong these days. Can’t wait for your half.

  12. A great running month. I think that now you have only to focus on the half. You are plenty of time to reach new training goals. Have a good week end.

  13. Wow, I’m checking in on blogs that I’ve missed with my travel and craziness. This is fantastic! Way to go with your goals….you blew them out of the water. 🙂

Leave a Reply

