A day in my life: Monday April 4, 2011

Thoughts:
What a lovely day we had Saturday, I have been sitting outside with my book the entire afternoon. Such beautiful weather.

To answer some questions on my last post:

Giorgio, the Dam tot Damloop is on September 18th It starts in Amsterdam en the finish is in Zaandam.

Blackhuff, it’s correct that the Dutch language looks a lot like Afrikaans. Marcelle and I can understand each other when I speak Dutch and she Afrikaans.

Helen, our country is not particularly a cold weather country. But a day as we had Saturday was warm for the time of the year. Looked it up for you:

The Netherlands has a maritime climate, with cool summers and mild winters. The average temperature is 2° C (36° F ) in January and 19° C (66° F ) in July, with an annual average of about 10° C (50° F ). Clouds generally appear every day, and in the winter months fog often abounds, while rainfall occurs frequently. Average annual rainfall is about 76.5 cm (30 in). The mild, damp climate is ideal for dairying and livestock raising, but the limited sunshine restricts the growing of food crops.

And I don’t have to train “my” team for the run. They are all runners already and all of them faster than I am. But I will be the team captain. 🙂

Exercise:
This morning I had to do a 9.6K tempo run. Due to the time change last weekend it’s still dark outside and when I was running for about 20 minutes I decided I didn’t want to run an hour in the dark. And I decided to break up the run in 2. I did 6.2K this morning and the remaining 3.4K after work this afternoon. That wasn’t the smartest idea because my legs felt heavy and hurted a lot during the afternoon run. But I look at it positive: I did 9.6K (6 miles) today and I’m happy with that.

Stats:
Weather: dry, windy, 15C (59 degrees) in the afternoon.
Distance: 9.6 K / 6 miles
Time: 01:06:20
Average time: 6:55 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Ricky Martin – La vida loca.

Daily dinner

Monday April 4
Pork meat, potato salad (a bit too much dressing), green peas (the yellow stuff is egg).

Daily outfit

Monday April 4


10 responses to “A day in my life: Monday April 4, 2011

  1. I loved your reply to my friend Blackhuff….we both South African’s so yes find Dutch very much like our other language…I think its Blackhuff’s first language and my second.
    Blackhuff is doing the 17 Days plan with me…we are keeping each other motivated…she is a great diet partner to have as she is like me…an all or nothing person…she won’t back down half way and I wont as I dont want to let her down…LOL>>.

    FANTASTIC that you got the idea to split the run today….and you did nearly 10km which is a great way to start the week…
    My week is not going to be as great as I didnt run today and won’t tomorrow either….Wednesday my man leaves for 15 days…

    Have a great evening ~ and yes Saturday was the most amazing day as well here…we BBQ and suntanned…xx

  2. Now see, I guess the reason I thought Holland was cold is because, to me, 66 degrees in July is COLD! I think I’m just getting old and looking for somewhere that it would be 75-80 year round. I would find that blissfull 🙂

  3. That definitely seems like a cooler climate to me. Of course, I live where there are large swings in temperature and 4 full seasons.

  4. I’m surprised Holland is so cool in the summer – no wonder your garden always looks so beautiful – it never burns up in the sun!

    I like that you always answer questions, either here or in the comments on our blogs…you really help to make this world a smaller place. 🙂

  5. I have seen some Afrikaans on other blogs and I find it easy to read too…so close to Dutch…

    I really like your top…gorgeous!

    Great job on the 6 mile run…you are a machine!

  6. You got your kilometers in, which is what counts! I am hoping we get some more nice days like last Saturday at the end of this week…I am being a baby right now and considering going to the gym to run so i can be warm! It’s just a bit chilly and gray and rainy here today – boo!

  7. Team Captain, love that!!!

    I was thinking of packing for Boston today(I know, ALREADY)and I laughed as I thought about the non-running clothes that I’d need. So if you lived next door, I’d force you to come over and help me pick out the outfits! I think we’d have fun together, no?!
    I hope your training is going well, it looks like it is! Big hugs, Fran and I hope your week is going well.

  8. That’s about how long my 10K’s take in training as well! Good idea to split the miles up! Hope all is well, looking forward to meeting you in Utrecht.

  9. Thanks for the answer Fran!

  10. Interesting info. I read about you!! Love it! Your dinner looks yummy minus the peas. That is one thing I do not like but my daughter loves them!

Leave a Reply

