A day in my life: Saturday April 9, 2011

Thoughts:
I’ve been thinking and thinking about the New Rules of Lifting for Women. After the advice of Helen, Lori en Amy who all done the program and reading about it on the internet I decided that right now is not the time for me to start with the program. Maybe at the end of this year.

Instead I’m starting over with a fitness program for beginners because I don’t have much base in that department. The program is from the book 101 Workouts for Women and it has a lot of other programs that I can do after the first one. I will start in May with 2 workouts a week.

About the Garmin: I decided to charge it after every run. I always understood it was better for a battery to use it all up because your battery would last longer in the end. But I’m not going to play with this anymore. I used it on Thursday and today and it worked perfect.

Exercise:
Thursday morning I had an excellent short run of 4.8K (3 miles).

This morning I had to do 17.6K (11 miles) again. I decided to run an extra K and ended up doing 18.6K (11.5 miles). The run itself was very good, I had to walk a few times more than on previous runs but overall I’m very happy with this run. Only 15 days to go and 1 more long run before that. I’ve never been more ready for a race than for this one.

And … I wore capri tights! Finally! I put away my Winter running clothes and changed them with my Summer running clothes.

Stats:
Weather: dry, sunny, not to much wind, 12C (53 degrees)
Distance: 18.6 K / 11.5 miles
Time: 02:12:44
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Keep holding on

Daily outfit

Wednesday April 6


Thursday April 7


Friday April 7

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 92 – April 2
Went to the market and bought tulips and the first Dutch strawberries: they were so good.

Day 93 – April 3
Every year we have a fair. We never go there but I went there just for the photo.

Day 94 – April 4
Cherry blossoms, love these trees.

Day 95 – April 5
I’ve bought two maxi dresses for Summer.

Day 96 – April 6
Spring has definitely arrived in our garden.

Day 97 – April 7
The lovely miss Bella

Day 98 – April 8
My sky Friday

Day 99 – April 9
Had to stop during my long run because you don’t see much ostrichs in Holland 🙂

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday April 9, 2011

  1. You getting stronger and stronger with your running and doing such good distance…amazing how many people I have recently met who have completed a half marathon…I take my hat off to everyone….its total dedication.

    Love the two dresses, I also bought two summer dresses on Wednesday when I went to collect my glasses.

    Your outfits you wore this week sure does shout SPRING!!!

  2. That is a great picture of Bella, and I love the patterns in your clothes – you should come over here and shop for me!

    Your big race is coming closer and closer – so dang excited for you!!! Congrats on wearing capris, too – woohoo, spring is there! (It feels like summer here already).

  3. Great clothes!!! I love all the bright colours you wear.

    Yippee on being so ready for the race! You will have a terrific time with all this training.

    I think that big birdie is an emu…very cute!

    Garden is beautiful and so is Bella!

  4. Some pretty pics. I always charge my Garmin as soon as I am done. Didn’t know about the battery thing. Maybe that is why I have had no problems.

  5. I can’t wait to see you in those maxi dresses – they are pretty!

    I think running in the 50s F is about the perfect running temperature, do you?

  6. Yay for capris!!! I am looking forward to my run today – just waiting for the sun to come all the way out and things to warm up a bit.
    Oh – and thanks for reminding me to plug in my Garmin – I am going to go do that right now…

  7. Oooh, those dresses are adorable. I love the one on the left.

  8. I’m glad your Garmin is working again! I don’t know the science behind it, but I’ve always heard the opposite on batteries – that you should never let something completely run out of battery, but I’m not sure why.

    I love the cherry blossoms! I was traveling up north in the US this weekend and got to see some beautiful cherry blossom trees. I wish we had them here!

  9. you are so head of us as far as the blooming of flowers. I have a cherry blossom in my back yard and it doesn’t start blooming until late May early June ;-(.
    However this weekend we had nice temperatures, in fact today I ran in a tshirt it was plus 11, and I love it!

    You are doing so great on your distances Fran, WTG!

  10. …and yes, you have done so amazingly well on your long distances, I have to agree with you – you are so ready for this race! I am excited for you because I know you have done everything you can to have a great first half. I’m not saying it will be easy, it might not, but you are very well prepared and that is more than half the battle on race day. Knap gedaan!!!

  11. The photo with Dutch strawberries shows beautiful Dutch flowers too! there are wonderful trees along the routes in Holland! What a nice place to run!
    Bella looks the queen of your garden 🙂
    Have a nice week!

  12. Omigawsh, love the ostrich pics!! And super yay for warmer weather! I love it that it’s time to put on the capris! 🙂

  13. It sounds like you are more than ready to rock this half marathon! So excited for you.
    Your summery clothes are so pretty! Love the dresses and skirts.
    Love your flowers in your garden. I have a small garden now and I have some things blooming. I just need to clean out the leaves but I still need to unpack things inside first.

  14. I was doing so well in the strength training department, until my sister stopped going. Now that it’s nice, I don’t want to go to the gym, but meeting her there was motivation to get me to go. Oh well…gotta figure something out. 🙂

    They are, surprisingly, quite a handful of ostrich farms close to me….

    This half marathon is going to be great!!! You’re going to do so well!!!!!

Leave a Reply

