A day in my life: Wednesday April 20, 2011

Thoughts:
I read on the internet that Holland is the hottest country in Europe at the moment. I doubt that but it sure is hot. When I drive home I pass this building in my village that has a sign on it that gives the temperature. Today it was 30 C (86 degrees). Normal temperatures this time of year are around 15C (59 degrees).

Weather forecast for Monday at the moment is 21C (69 degrees). Still a bit too hot for me but I think I can handle it. My first 10K was at much higher temperatures and I survived that too. What I don’t like about races in Holland is that they are in the afternoon. My start is at 2 pm which means the hottest time of the day.

My health check was excellent! Everything has improved: my weight was lower, my fat% was lower, my flexibility was higher, my fitness condition was much higher. My sight and hearing are still excellent. My blood pressure, sugar level and cholesterol were the same but they were good the last time too. I was happy with the results, it proves again that exercise IS good for your health.

Exercise:
Another short run this morning. Decided to take this one easy, there’s no need to push hard this last week before the half. It was a nice run. I came home when it was light, only about 2 more weeks and I can run again when it will be light the entire run. I’ve got one more run to do on Friday and then it’s a wrap before Monday.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not to much wind, 9C (48 degrees)
Distance: 4.2 K / 2.6 miles
Time: 00:29:54
Average time: 7:07 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bon Jovi – You give love a bad name.

Daily dinner

Tuesday April 19
Omelet stuffed with potatoes, carrots, green peas and onion.

Wednesday April 20
Thai curry with rice.

Daily outfit

Tuesday April 19


Wednesday April 20


21 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday April 20, 2011

  1. Excellent fitness report! I would not like races that started in the afternoon. In fact I would hate them.

  2. 2 pm? That’s late. Mine starts at 8 am.

  3. Congrats on a clean bill of health! Wow–an afternoon start would be really hard for so many reasons. The heat, the eating before hand, resting, etc. That would take some getting used to!

  4. 69 sounds lovely. I went running last night, late (9pm) and it was 90degrees.yeesh

  5. Great test results!!! Yes, exercise is good for you! 🙂

    A 2 pm start time would be tough for me, too…

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

  6. That’s awesome that your health results were so great! It is definitely nice to see that all your exercise is paying off, that has to be a great motivator.

    It’s been HOT here too! It hit 90 where I was this week… yikes. I love 70 degree weather, but I agree it’s not ideal running weather. So exciting that your race is coming up so soon!

  7. congrats on your results FRan, just another indication that your very hard work is paying off ;-).

    Love to hear that the sun is shining down on you, could you send some my way???

    I cannot tell you how excited I am to come here and read your half marathon recap! You are going to do so great, and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  8. 30 degrees is a lot hotter than Germany at the moment…where I lie to tan it gets to about 30, but outside that spot its in the lower 20’s ~ so it could very well be correct that Holland is the hottest place in Europe…

    Great results from your health test. No wonder you happy with that…I wish I could have a health check.
    I want to check a few things like my Vit D levels…etc but never get to the DR…I am like that, have idea’s but never see them through.

    You will do great at the half marathon…..cant wait to hear afterwards how it went…such a build up to this race…I do hope its everything you dream it to be for you…and totally satisfied with huge smiles at the end. Will R be at the end for you??

    Have an awesome afternoon, and long weekend.
    Am going to get dressed and get my food shopping done this morning….I am so desperate to lie in the sun later….

  9. I am loving the weather and you could send a couple more degrees my way if you want! Glad to hear about your health check. I can’t wait to hear about your half marathon!

  10. Cool breakfast. Nice going on the run.
    Enjoy the weekend

  11. We had a hot day here yesterday too. I think it got to abojut 85 F.
    That’s interesting that your races are in the afternoon over there. I’ve only run one afternoon race (2pm start) and one evening race (7pm start). Getting to races in the early morning isn’t always fun but I much prefer running when it’s cooler.
    Sounds like your health check went really well! Keep up the good work. 🙂

  12. That is such a late start for races! Around here, usually 8 or 9 am. Only in winter do they start at 10 or once I saw 11 am. People just want to get the races done and get on with the day 😀

  13. OK, I’m just going to admit that I don’t think I’d sign up for races that start in the afternoon! 69 will be a lot better than running in 86, that’s for sure. I wonder why you guys are so warm?

  14. Awesome news about the healthy check! You will do GREAT on Monday!!! Do you still want to meet in the morning?

  15. So close!! I can’t wait for you to run your big race! And that’s good to take it easy and taper before a race. It’s nice to have fresh legs. 🙂

  16. Ha ha! Here everyone’s been saying Belgium is the hottest country in Europe right now! Makes sense I guess, since we’re so close…
    I’m glad you’re feeling less worried about the heat on Monday. It does suck that races in Europe start so late…but in the US a lot of races start super early which is also annoying. It would be nice if they could start around 10 am – that would be perfect!

    Congratulations on your healthy check!!! To me that is one of the most motivating things about living a healthy lifestyle – when you see it translated into results that make a huge difference in your health.

    And about Breda – my intention is to run it with YOU! My idea was to see how we feel on the day – if we are both feeling good we go at a more challenging pace, if not, we take it easy and enjoy ourselves. Does this sound good? I have run several races with my husband but he generally pushes me to run a challenging pace which is sometimes hard but then afterwards I am happy with my time. And then I ran the half marathon with my mom at her pace, and that was kind of fun and relaxing to run it at (for me) an easy pace. So I am good both ways, or somewhere in between. And we’ll have a better idea as we get closer to the date on how our paces develop. What do you think?

    Enjoy your last couple rest days!

  17. Congrats on a great health check….You can have some of my cold weather and I will take the warm!! Enjoy the holiday!!

  18. I read your comment on Meg’s blog. I wanted to say good luck with the upcoming half. I hope the day is grand! (I would recommend adjusting your pace from the beginning, to compensate for the heat) For too many years, even when conditions where not ideal, I would go out at my “great weather planned pace.” This doesn’t work well, and typically leads to a disappointing race for me. Now, I’m better at adjusting my pace for the weather of the day. I have a half next wknd. Not sure about the weather yet, but suspect it will be hot and humid. If so, I will adjust my plan to run 15-20 seconds slower per mile. For me, it makes for a MUCH better race day. Good Luck! Relax and have FUN!

  19. I cannot stand the races in the afternoon, the best are in the morning.
    Congrats on your healthy check.
    Have a good Easter.

  20. I can’t believe your race is just about here! I can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

    P.S. I love those nude sandals in the pic. So cute!

  21. Oh my gosh, 2 pm??? I was complaining about a half I’m doing on the 22nd not starting until 8:00 am (the one this Sunday starts at 7:00 am). I think I’ll stop complaining about that 8 o’clock start time now. (hehehehehe)

Leave a Reply

