A day in my life: Wednesday April 27, 2011

Thoughts:
First I want to thank you all for your warm and loving comments, some of them made me cry. I was really touched by them and you’re all such wonderful people. I’m glad I found each and everyone of you through the internet.

Today I received this card from the lovely Shelley with a really sweet message in it. I didn’t get my medal on Monday but this card is a very good alternative and I’ve put it on my “victory wall” next to the medals I already earned.

Well now I didn’t finish my first half marathon, what’s next?

This week I’m taking it slow, I will go for a short run tomorrow morning and then another short one on Saturday. After that it’s 2 weeks training for the “Marikenloop” on May 15th. This is the biggest ladies run in Holland. And … it’s only 10K. I remember the time when 10K was a huge distance for me.

I already signed up for what would be my second half marathon but now will be my first again in Amsterdam on October 16th.

I’m going to use the same training schedule for that as I used for this one because I really liked the schedule. Also I’m going to follow the schedule for 16 weeks (you can also choose a shorter period of time if you want too) because I like to build up the distance slowly. Training will start somewhere in June, I have to calculate when to start exactly. Till that time I’m going to cut back the weekly mileage a bit, it will be kind of a rest period.

The half on Monday wasn’t about time but I expected to finish around 2 hours and 30 minutes. Now that I have another 6 months of training for the next I’m going for a faster finishing time. The next 3 weeks I’m going to run at a pace that feels comfortable to me and based on the average pace of those runs I’m going to decide what finishing time to train for.

During this training I already signed up for two other events: 1 on September  18th, the “Dam tot Damloop” which is 16K (10 miles) in Amsterdam which I will run with a team from work and on October 2nd the “Singelloop” in Breda where I will run together with blogger friend Amy and we’re doing a 15K.

And: remember this little cutie?

Bella on April 27th 2010

Today it’s exactly a year ago the lovely Miss Bella came to live with us. And we’re still very happy we bought her. She’s such a great dog, always happy, she plays a lot and loves to walk.

The Wednesday Fashion Files:
I’m going to do something different with the photos of my outfits. I will post them once a week in a collage on Wednesday instead on every post. I’m going to do the same with the daily dinners and post that on Monday.

Week 17:


18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday April 27, 2011

  1. I’m glad you are going to try again on October 16th. Of course, I’ll support you for the Amsterdam’s half marathon and I will be following your training on your blog! Take care, Fran!

  2. Great plan! Amazing that you can use the word “only” in conjunction with a 10k!!!!! 🙂

  3. What was the 5th stage????? Very fun card!!!!!!!!

  4. Happy Homecoming to Bella! Glad you are feeling okay about your half!

  5. Love the card!!! You will do amazing at your next event!

  6. Bella is so cute! 😀 I can’t believe it has been a year already. Time sure flies.

    I like your running plan.

  7. Great card! You have a lot of running planned! Go Fran!!!

    A year with Bella already, time sure does fly. She is such a cute doggie!

    The collage is a great idea. You have such lovely clothes…it will be fun to see them all together.

  8. It makes me very happy that you liked the card so much! And I love that you say “only” when you talk about a 10K – you have come a long way my friend!

  9. I’m happy for you that you have a new plan and are looking forward. 🙂 It sounds like you have some great goals ahead and I can’t wait to see you accomplish them.

  10. You have the future all mapped out nicely for yourself.
    Besides running are you going to add any weights or eating plan to the future.

    Happy one year to you having Bella in your lives!!!

  11. I like your medal wall – motivating! I am really looking forward to running together in October! Glad you are feeling better… 🙂

  12. Do you think you might just run a half on your own to prove to yourself that you have what it takes? (or did you already do that?)

  13. LOVE THAT BELLA!!! You are doing great!! XOXO

  14. There’s no way you can feel sad when you look at that Bella!

    You’ve got a great attitude about the whole process Fran and since at times running can be more mental than physcial I think you are good to go!

  15. I’m glad you have some really good races to look forward to Fran.

    What a lovely card! and what a great anniversary having Bella around 1 year!

  16. Looks like you know what is next. 🙂 My first marathon is on Oct 30th so your training for your next half will coincide with my marathon training!
    Bella is such a cutie. Happy anniversary to you guys!
    Love your striped skirt.

  17. OMG- Bella has been here a whole year! Wow- I cannot believe how fast time goes!

  18. I am sorry for you half. The heat is a terrible enemy and you made the right thing, however now you have more experience to face the next half. Don’t worry that was not a defeat, all of us had similar “adventures” and to push (or continue) in such situation could bring bad damages to our bodies. Now forget and go on towards new goals.
    You received a lovely card and that is a very good prize.
    Happy anniversary!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

