A day in my life: Saturday April 30, 2011

Thoughts:
In my last post I told you about what’s next after my first not-half. This one is about what I’m going to do different.

I’m very happy and satisfied with how my training went from January till the half last Monday. I have never run so much and so consistently since I started training for the half. But there’s always room for improvement.

Since I have no intention to run a full marathon, the half will be my longest distance. This means there won’t be any records to log in longest distance. But there can be another goal: PR. From this point forward I want to try to PR on  the next distances: 5K, 10K, 15K, 10 miles (16K) and half marathon. My training schedules from now on will be focused on that.

To reach PR’s I want to do things differently:

Lose weight, the less I weigh, the faster I will run.
During training I gained about 2 kg (4.4 lbs), I’m okay with that but now it’s time to work on weight again.

Add weight training, aiming for 2 times a week.
I believe strength training benefits your pace too.

Add yoga, once a week for flexibility.

Eat as healthy as possible.
The past couple of months I ate healthy most of the times but there were too many unhealthy meals too. No diet here! I’m going to try to eat healthy for 6 days and then have 1 day I can eat what I want, probably Saturday.

Drink less wine.
Same as healthy eating, there have been to many empty bottles of wine the past few months.
There have been weeks where I drank a glass of wine every night. I love a good glass of wine and I have no intention to skip it completely. I will only drink one of two glasses at the weekend and on special occasions on weekdays.

And last and very important: sleep!
I function best when I have at least 7 hours of sleep. But I also love my evenings, especially on workdays.  But lately I’ve been going to bed around 11 pm and when you have to get up around 5 am for a run a few times a week, that’s not enough sleep.

I believe that if I follow the above things the best I can, it will make me a better runner and a PR is definitely possible. Sure not every day will be a good day but as long as there are more good than bad days I will be very happy with that.

What do you think? Do you have any other suggestions?

Exercise:
I’ve ran only once this week (3.2K/2 miles). I actually put on my running clothes this morning, went out, ran 3 minutes and went back home. My pleasure for running isn’t present this week after my fiasco on Monday. That’s okay, I’ve worked hard for 3.5 months, a week of (almost) no running is okay. I’ll pick it up next week.

Workout review April 2011
I’m not going to do a special post anymore on a workout review/goals for the month. I’m going to approach this a bit different starting in May. The only goal I’m going to set is the mileage I want to run in May. Then by the end of the month I will give a short review how it went this month.
I don’t feel like doing a review for April, the month didn’t turn out how I supposed it would and I’m kind of disappointed by that.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 113 – Saturday April 23
Sitting in the patio with my laptop on a sunny day.

Day 114 – Sunday April 24
First icecream of the season

Day 115 – Monday April 25
Race bib, only picture taken during the half

Day 116 – Tuesday April 26
“Self portrait”

Day 117 – Wednesday April 27
Miss Bella was with us exactly a year this day.

Day 118 – Thursday April 28
Got some magazines from K. We always exchange the magazines we have read so the other can read them too.

Day 119 – Friday April 29
Went to the theatre with my Mom to watch a musical called “Petticoat”.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday April 30, 2011

  1. I think your approach sounds perfect. On the wine–I’m the same; have to keep it to just a glass or two on the weekend. I find that it lowers my inhibitions towards food, so it;s important that I stay away from it as much as possible!

  2. Knowing you the way I do, you have put much thought into what you want to do for yourself from here….so for me its all good for you….
    The one area I know well is the eating part of this plan…and I do think following a plan is the way to go….or else you fiddle and faddle all over the place.
    Read a blog today about getting a better body and its all about less carbs _ I saw with myself ~ an experiment I did ~ I did the 17 DD plan and was not hungry and had LOADS of energy for my KB and running….and then last week I stopped and ate carbs again…Muesli, All Bran, Wholewheat bread, Rye Bread and felt so sluggish and slept in the afternoons and wanted to eat all the time…something that I don’t normally do…so this Monday going to go on the plan again but will add oats to every 2nd day’s breakfast, and keep bread to one day a week only….I saw my body was also more defined and in a week I can see its not as defined with the carbs…
    You will find your own way for sure…..

  3. What a lovely patio!

    You really have put so much thought into your plan. You are very organized, Fran – and I admire that very much!

    I’ve never been a wine drinker. I really like beer, but just don’t have it very often.

  4. I hear you on loving my evenings. I have a hard time getting to bed as I enjoy my quiet time of blogging, watching DVDs, reading, just relaxing. But last week I got up super early twice to run and I always get up quite early so I was beat. I need to work on this too.

  5. I think your plan sounds very good. You really looked at the areas where you could improve. Cutting back on wine and beer and too many extra bites and licks is something I have to do myself right now…

    Have a good weekend!

  6. Your plan looks great! I really like your awareness of good and bad days. I think I try to be perfect too much and when I am not perfect I figure why bother?

    Bella is just so cute!!!

  7. Hi Fran,
    How are you? I have missed reading your posts and it is good to see you still blogging and running. Congrats on having Bella for a full year…she is so adorable:)

    Take care of yourself Fran! I miss you!

  8. Nice goals you have lined up for yourself.

  9. great post Fran 🙂 I love that you seem to really have your focus back. You sound a bit like me – though I finished I still feel really disappointed about the whole experience (I finally posted the re-cap but almost didn’t because I feel so negative about the whole thing). I’m about to go out running now, but my heartfelt desire isn’t back yet, so who knows how it’s going to go??

    focusing on PR’s is a great idea! and You sound like me with too many unhealthy meals, too many empty wine bottles and weight gain during the training. It really is time to re-commit to OURSELVES isn’t it?

  10. Fran! 🙂 I’m sorry for my lack of commenting this week, I was thinking about you and your half marathon. I love your little goals, and I think they all sound great. I have added yoga twice a week and it’s made a world of difference in how I feel when running. I notice though, it’s hard to fit in ALL the workouts I want and to run 4x a week. But I think adding the strength and the yoga will be great. And I know about giving up wine, it’s so hard! I used to drink a glass a night too, but the more I run the less I crave it. I’m excited for what to come in your future training.

  11. Great plan, Fran! I completely agree with you. At first lose weight. Secondly, I go swimming once a week instead of yoga. Then eat as healthy as possible (I’m going to post something about this matter next week), drink less wine or beer ( I sometimes drink it on Saturday only but not the week before the race 🙂 ). Moreover, we have to try to sleep better. I’d add to don’t lose energy the week before the race (for example hard work at home such as gardening and walking a lot through the town or the countryside).

    I Hope you’ll have a nice training soon!

  12. I know, that the next time we see a race bib of yours, you will be wearing it as you cross the finish line!

  13. Sounds like you have a pretty good plan. I’m making some changes right now too. Time to lose weight again.

    I find it interesting how many english words are on your magazine covers.

  14. You have a lot of great goals and I think they will all help you become a better runner.
    You have such a beautiful name. 🙂 I like that they printed it right on your bib.
    I generally only set monthly mileage goals and try to meet them. I might set weekly mileage goals when I begin marathon training but we’ll see. This is all new to me.
    Also, you definitely deserve a nice break from running this week. You earned it.

  15. I think your plans and goals are great ones!!!

Leave a Reply

