A day in my life: Monday May 2, 2011

Thoughts:

Weekend recap

Friday was my usual 2-weekly day off. I use this day to clean my house but made it a quicky because I wanted to watch the royal wedding and what a beautiful wedding it was. In the afternoon I had an appointment at my hairdresser: same haircut, color a bit lighter what I always do in Spring/Summer. Friday night I took my Mom to see a musical. It’s a Dutch musical named “Petticoat”. It was okay, it wasn’t the best musical I’ve ever seen but we had a fun night.

Saturday it was Queen’s Day which is always celebrated on April 30th. There are festivities all over the country. Normally we don’t go to any of them but this year we went to the centre of our village to walk around a bit. We ran into some friends of ours and talked to them for a bit. At night we watched Iron Man 2 which wasn’t as good as the first one and went to bed early cause R. had to get up early Sunday morning.

Sunday I did some more housekeeping because I didn’t finish all of it on Friday and did administration. Took Bella for a long walk, it was nice but very windy. The rest of the day I watched some TV shows I recorded, spend some time behind the internet and read.

Today it was back to work, we will be going to my Mom tonight because it’s her birthday today. She’s 69 now.

Exercise:
I cannot believe what happened this morning. I went out for a 5K run. It was dry but there was a lot of wind, most of it I had in my flank. I just ran and didn’t watch my pace at all, it was a great run.
Turned out to be my FASTEST RUN EVER! The fastest I’ve ever run was 9.3K/hour.

After my lack of motivation for running last week, I couldn’t have come back better. This is so good for my confidence and motivation. I’m a happy girl today.

Stats:
Weather: dry, lots of wind, 9C (48 degrees)
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:31:32
Average time: 6:11 /km
Average speed: 9.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – P.Y.T.

The Monday Daily Dinner Files:
Tuesday: chicken, potatoes, mixed vegetables.
Wednesday: pasta.
Thursday: pork meat, baked potatoes, pees and carrots.
Monday: beef, potatoes, green beans.
Friday till Sunday I didn’t take pictures.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Monday May 2, 2011

  1. So glad you had such a good run!!! You so deserved it!!!!

    I love the dinner pics!

    Have a great week!

  2. Happy birthday to your mom for today….next year I turn 50 and your mom 70…double celebrations….big birthdays 🙂

    Meals look interesting….mine are so boring compared to yours…but work for us, am sure hubby would love a potato at night but if its not sweet potato I don’t cook…so guess what, he makes his own once a week in the microwave…LOL…
    but he’s on diet now so is okay with my boring meals.

    Queens day sounds so interesting…what is the occasion??

  3. YAY on your fastest run!!!!! You’re doing fantastic Fran.

  4. sometimes all you need is a break to recoup. I have now realized that the negative engery is a sign of burnout! I rested and am ready to go again ;-).
    Congrats on a great run Fran!

  5. Sounds like a nice weekend you had. I am so impressed with your run. You did great!!! Hope you mom had a great birthday!

  6. Some of the best runs I’ve ever had were runs where I ran for the joy of it and paid no attention to my Garmin until the end!

    You and I were Royal Wedding twins… by the end of the day on Friday Mr. Helen was begging to watch something else so that we could sit together, otherwise he was going to another TV!

    Happy Birthday to Mama Fran!!

  7. It sounds like you had some nice relaxing times. I am loving loving Modern Family.So funny!

  8. Happy birthday to your Mom!

    And way to bounce back with the run!

  9. Yay to the great run!

    Hartelijk gefeliciteerd met je moeder’s verjaardag!

    I loved Iron Man 2…I really liked the music…it had a few of my very favourite songs.

  10. I always love a “good run” story – so happy for you!

    Happy Birthday to your mom – she is the same age as my mom (for a few more months, anyway) – sounds like you have nice relationship with her, which is sweet. 🙂

  11. Happy b-day to your mom.
    Congrats on your run. So happy for you 🙂

  12. Wow, fastest run ever! Congrats on that!
    Nice to have that after last week.. now you can look forward again!

  13. Fantastic run! Just what you needed!!!!

  14. I wished we lived closer. Would be fun to get together and go for a run. We’re about the same pace, and we both hate heat (hehehehehe). A good run is exactly what the doctor ordered! I’m happy to hear the smile on your face!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    P.S. You’re cooking always looks soooo good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

