A day in my life: Wednesday May 4, 2011

Thoughts:
Today it’s Remembrance of the death which is always on May 4th. We commemorate all civilians and members of the armed forces of the Netherlands who have died in wars or peacekeeping missions since the outbreak of World War II. At 6 pm we hang our flag half-staff till sunset.  At 8:00 p.m., two minutes of silence are observed throughout the Netherlands. Public transport is stopped, as well as all other traffic. After the 2 minutes our national anthem is played. The main ceremony is held in Amsterdam and is attented by Queen Beatrix, Prince Willem-Alexander and Princess Maxima. We always watch this ceremony on TV.

Tomorrow on May 5th we celebrate the ending of World War II in 1945 and our freedom in general.  We also flag on this day. May 5th used to be a public holiday every year but now it’s a public holiday every 5 years (last year we had the day off, this year we have to work). It is celebrated with liberation festivals all over the country (never been to one myself).

I was supposed to start weight training today. My goal is focusing on my upper body with weight training. But I’ve had a little accident on Saturday at which I twisted my elbow and it hurts since Saturday. I can’t twist my arm or stretch it, I can’t even write too long because it’s my left elbow and I’m left handed.  I made the decision to wait a few more days and start next week, it’s been almost two months since I last did strength training, one week isn’t going to make a difference.

Hub is also injured. He had his first motor race of the season last Sunday and he fell and fell hard on his shoulder which is troubling him now. He has another race on Sunday but it’s possible he won’t be going if the shoulder isn’t better by then.

Exercise:
This morning I went out for another run. Right now it’s almost light when I leave the house and it’s completely light not long after that. Love it. This was a good run, not as fast as Monday but still faster than my runs lately so still happy about that.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not too much wind, 4C (39 degrees)
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:33:59
Average time: 6:40 /km
Average speed: 9.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Time Warp

The Wednesday Fashion Files:

Week 18

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday May 4, 2011

  1. I learned alot about May and Holland with this entry today…..wonderful that everyone remembers and gives thanks the way they do.
    so many people gave up their lives during that time, like so many who do today to keep us all safe.

    Good going on the run you did again this morning….is it not cold ~ here its freezing cold and I cant even think of going out to run again in 8 degrees after the beautiful warm weather we’ve been having.
    I do hope Saturday is going to be a hot one for our run…and it looks like 23 degrees according to the newspapers…so lets see as run is at 2pm.

    Smart looking outfits you had this week 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear of your injuries! You are smart to wait until you are feeling better so as to not make things worse.

    This was a nice history lesson of Holland today Fran. I really enjoyed reading it.

  3. That’s really interesting to learn about history of Holland!
    I think it’s important to keep alive the traditional ceremony, which was held today and was attented by Queen, because it makes the Dutch community distinct.

    Sorry to hear about your little accident on Saturday and your injuries.
    I hope you start your weight training soon! I’ll follow it on your blog 🙂

    Have a nice public holiday tomorrow!

  4. Thanks for sharing! I love learning about Holland.

    I am sorry to hear that you are injuried. I hope you heal wuickly.

  5. I wonder if some of your new run speed is sort of from not having done the half? Almost like a relief type of run with all that pent up emotion.

    Those are some point-toed shoes with Wednesday’s outfit! My feet are wide and my toes flare, so I can’t wear shoes like that. My shoe fashion is quite poor.

  6. Thanks for the mini history lesson. I enjoyed it. It is still raining raining raining here. It is discouraging. I only got out to run early the one morning this week. Glad you are getting yours in.

  7. My father remembers being liberated…

    Great outfits. I really like the shoes on Wednesday. Very pretty!

    I hope you and R are both feeling better…I am left handed too!

  8. Oh my, sounds like injuries are going around! Hope your elbow heals quickly.
    I really like your Tuesday dress!!

  9. Oh no – sorry to hear you are both injured! Hope things improve soon…

  10. I remember you writing about the day of remembrance last year – wow, time flies!

    Hope your arm feels better soon. At least you are getting to run, so no worries on delaying the strength training. Love that you are having such good runs lately!

  11. Hi Fran,
    I noticed your comments on Lori AND Helen’s sites, so clicked on. I’m so glad I found your blog – I love it. I’ve bookmarked and will visit often (and someday, I sure hope to visit your country as well!) All the best. (hope your injury heals quickly!!)

  12. I hope your elbow feels better soon and that the hubs injury heals quickly too! Nice job on the run!

  13. I hope your hubs is better soon. Sending get well wishes! I wanted to respond to your question you left me — my birthday is May 23rd! 🙂 YAY! I think May will shape up to be a good month, it has to right? It’s OUR birthday month. And as per usual, loving the outfits! 🙂

  14. Sorry for your injures, I hope you both feel better soon. However you can run!
    The days of remembrance here are source of political fights, quarrels and discussions. This happens because the 1944 and 1945 was the period of the italian civil war: as you know part of us supported Germany and part the Allied.

Leave a Reply

