A day in my life: Monday May 16, 2011

Thoughts:
I loved reading about all your comments about how many vacation days you have. That’s why I like to read blogs from people in different countries: I like to learn and know about how you live and how things are done in your country.

You might remember I signed up for a 10K run this month. Well this run was yesterday and I didn’t go. Reason: I’ve lost motivation and passion for running and confidence in my capability for running.

This has started after I did not finish the half marathon. At first I said “oh well, I’ll finish next time” and tried to put it behind me. But the mind can play dirty tricks and a little voice kept saying the past 3 weeks: “you can’t do this, you will never run a half marathon, you’re weak, you have no perseverance to do this”. And I let the little voice win.

My birthday is next Sunday and I’m turning 43. Last year I thought I would have run a half marathon before my 43th birthday and I would be at my target weight. But neither happened. I’m no where near my target for both.

When it comes to perseverance I do know I have that when it comes to running, I just need to find my motivation back. What helped was that I made a new training schedule last Saturday for the half in October. I’m starting with that tomorrow. What doesn’t help is that my elbow injury still isn’t over, I can’t lift heavy things and because of that I still haven’t started weight training. I hope to start it this week and at the least next week.

Perseverance and reaching target weight is not a good combination in my book. I always start motivated but after 2 or 3 weeks I get careless and slowly start eating more again. With all the running I’ve done up till April 23th that wasn’t a big deal because I could maintain my weight. I don’t feel fine in my body at the moment. I hate my upper arms and my belly. Especially my belly feels uncomfortable these days.

But enough is enough and I’m going to take action. Tomorrow I start with my new running/workout schedule. Because of my birthday coming up and a bbq next Wednesday I’m starting with an eating plan next Monday. I’ve done this plan before and it worked. It’s a book and contains 84 days with daily meal plans. I’m not going to say I do all 84 days but I try to follow it up to the 84 days. All daily plans are between 1250 and 1500 calories. I need to get my portion size straight again.

And maybe, maybe when I turn 44 next year I can say proudly I did run that half marathon and I’m at target weight.

I’m usually a positive person. Usually I can always look on the bright sight of things and I don’t want to finish this post negative so what’s positive:

  • Almost 43 and in the best shape of my life
  • I may hate my upper arms and my belly but I’ve got great, long, strong legs.
  • I did run 20K (12.5 miles), something I never thought I could do.
  • I’m healthy, R. is healthy and my family and friends are.
  • We’ve got this great little happy dog who always brightens our day.

What do you do when you lose motivation for working out or eating healthy or both?

The Monday Daily Dinner Files:

Tuesday: Noodles with vegetables and meat balls.
Wednesday: chicken with sauce, French fries, salad (went out for dinner).
Monday: minced steak, potatoes, endive with bacon, yellow peppers and cashew nuts.

20 responses to “A day in my life: Monday May 16, 2011

  1. I’m glad that you are looking at the bright side! Even though you lost your motivation for a little while there, you are getting right back and planning and working towards your next goal! I think that’s great!

    When I lose motivation, I usually remind myself how great I feel when I focus on making healthy choices. Looking back at old photos or blog entries also helps. Plus, I always do a lot better when I plan my meals and workouts.

    Have a good week!

  2. RUN when you can,

    WALK when you have to,

    CRAWL if you must,

    Just NEVER GIVE UP!

    motivates me every time! you can do this FRAN!!!
    xoxo
    p.s. I’ll send you an email with the list!

  3. I love your positive wrap up!!! Be kind to yourself, your mojo will come back soon I’m sure!!!!

  4. Fran–I think everyone goes through ups and downs with running. You’ll get your mojo back and it sounds like you are well on your way!

  5. Fran, maybe that voice is telling you something else. Do you really love running? Or do you feel like it is something you are supposed to be doing? I know you are very capable of doing a half marathon, but sometimes you have to ask yourself to what end you are doing something.

    With that said, there are those times when it is not motivation that keeps you going, but dedication. You just slog it out until the mojo comes back. Because it will come back if you truly love what you are doing. It could be a good time to try some other things (more biking 😀 ). Sometimes a break can bring you back refreshed.

  6. Love the way you ended your post on a positive note!!! When I lose motivation to eat healthy or exercise I just try to do something, anything positive. I feel that way now, but I haven’t eat gluten for two days now and I plan to go to yoga tomorrow night. Small steps, but in the right direction.

    Have a great week!

  7. I am glad you ended on a positive note. You certainly listed some great things. I didn’t start running until I was almost 50 so you are way ahead of me. Who cares when things happen as long as you make happen what is important to you? Set a non running non weight related goal. I hear you though on the weight. I am not where I want to be either.

  8. We all have ups and downs in our running, our motivation, our taking care of ourselves. It sounds like you are moving back in the right direction. I struggle with portion size and making healthy choices in my eating, but each day is a new one. Maybe break your goals down into smaller ones and give yourself little rewards when you reach them.

  9. That is your mind playing dirty tricks on you. You are one of the most dedicated people I know. Your new plans and your perseverance will bring your confidence back up. I know you will run that 1/2 in October and we’ll all be so proud of you!

  10. You were a half mile away from running a half marathon during your training…to me, that is success! You can totally run a half – you practically did! I hope you do get your running mojo back because if you read your posts made while you were in the thick of training, you sounded so happy and in love with running, and also you had a ton of confidence. I’m sorry the awful conditions of that race affected you so much. I hope you can put that in the past and move forward…and get our happy runner Fran back! 🙂

  11. You can do anything you set your mind to…..I know you can!!!
    I remember turning 43…..ohhhhhhhhhhhh so long ago 🙂
    Enjoy it.
    I became a granny at 42…..when does Bella have puppies…..hehe

  12. I’m sorry you’ve been feeling discouraged…you probably are going through some mourning for what happened in the half and it’s natural that it will get you down for a little while. But do not despair! You are definitely capable of doing a half marathon, and you will do it, when the time is right. And once things get moving again this summer and we are training for the fall, your confidence will surely come back.
    I am so looking forward to our run in Breda together and I know we are going to have a great time. So hang in there and wait for the sun to come out again, as I know it will.
    Dikke knuffel!

  13. This down feeling is pretty common after training for a big race – whether you finsh or not. Really! Some runners fix that by jumping back into training. Personally, I fix it by running for fun for a while. It feels good to me to have the freedom ‘not’ to run, or when I do run ‘not’ to have to make a pace or a mileage. Then there’s also the fact that running is just cyclical. Some times are good, some times are bad, just like everything else in life.

    Patience will be a virtue along this path… and I am sure you will make all your goals Fran because you are strong!

  14. Great strong legs are a hell of a thing to have!!!!

  15. Just get out there and run. Take a few weeks and forget about schedules and races…put the past in the past…and take hold of the future. Find the joy in running you know if within you, and then feel that joy carry you into and THROUGH any event you sign up for. You passion for the sport was too strong for it to just disappear all together. You’re going to KILL that first half marathon!!! 🙂

  16. I love that you took all the posatives from the last year and are focusing on those. You have accomplished some pretty amazing things and you should be proud of yourself. And don’t worry too much about having a running burn out, it happens. Give yourself a wee little break and then pick another race to train for. That is usually what I do! 🙂

  17. Hi Fran!
    As you know I’ve lost my motivation too and unfortunately I’m putting on too much weight. Thanks for your support! All my blogger friends letf kind comments which gave me suggestions about the relationship between running and motivation.

    I think that our strenght can’t always be at 100 %. I’m sure you’ll find your strenght soon, Fran, because you know that RUNNING MAKES YOU FEEL GOOD! Maybe, it is good to have a little break 🙂
    Eating healthy is important too. I’ll do it!

    Happy Birthday a little in advance, Fran 🙂

  18. I too loved reading the comments on your previous blog about the vacation days. Just like you, this is one of the big reasons why I too love reading blogs of people from other countries. I know I won’t be able to travel everywhere in the world of how expensive it is but through blog reading, I learn a lot from other countries 🙂

  19. Sometimes it’s nice to take a little break so that you can fall in love with running all over again. You took a nice break and now you seem ready to get back into it. I’ve been feeling a little blah with my running lately as well and I’m just trying to reason that it’s ok to slack on it now when I’m not training for anything in particular. I’m really hoping that marathon training doesn’t crush my love for running. I’m staying positive about it though. I have faith that you CAN run a half marathon.

  20. I didn’t run my lst half until I was 57 so you’re way ahead of me. I’m betting that by age 44 you will have run one.

Leave a Reply

