A day in my life: Thursday May 19, 2011

Thoughts:
Thank you all for your comments on my last post. It helped me a lot and although I’m not back at my regular workout schedule and my healthy eating isn’t really good yet, I’m more positive than I was on Monday and my motivation comes back more and more everyday.

I’ve had an absolutely great and fun day yesterday. We had a teammeeting from work. Usually it’s at the office and the managers of the different departments do the talking. Yesterday we went to a different location and my colleagues had made presentations of their department and they did the presentation too. They had put much effort in it and the presentations were very good. This took all morning. At noon we had a lunch break and in the afternoon it was time to play and have fun.

We had 7 groups and 5 activities. Every group had 2 x 30 minute breaks. I had a great group and we laughed a lot and had so much fun.

We started riding a motor bike. Something I had never done before and was a bit scared off trying. But I did and I kept sitting on it and I didn’t fall and it was great.

After that we did cross bow shooting. I haven’t done this because they didn’t have a cross bow for left handed people (which I am) and I tried a right handed bow but that wasn’t a success.

After a break we rode quads. Something I had never done before either. This was very fun too although the guys were much faster and had me eat their dust several times.

We also went on the water in an RIB boat which was very fast. It was awesome.

We also did off road riding in a landrover of which I don’t have a picture. After all this I totally deserved a glass of red wine. I’m sitting next to one of my favourite colleagues.

We ended the day with a BBQ and all went home after that. It was great, everybody was smiling and enjoying themselves. I’ve got a lot of compliments because I had organized the day and found the location.

Exercise:
Tuesday morning I went out for a run again. I haven’t started with my new schedule yet but am trying to run at the paces in the new schedule. I had to run 7:11 /km this morning. It wasn’t the best run. The distance was short but I still had to walk twice.

Stats:
Weather: little bit of rain, little wind, 13C (55 degrees)
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:31:26
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bob Seger – Running against the wind

19 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday May 19, 2011

  1. Looks like a very fun day!!!

    Glad you are feeling better and are more positive! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  2. That looks like a great team building day Fran – can tell from all the smiles everyone had a good time. You did a super job!

  3. What a fun day! You sure got to do a lot of neat activities. We have a few quads and love to take them out riding. Too bad they didn’t have a bow for you. You would think with a group that size that there would be a few people needing a left hand option. Glad you had a good time.

  4. What a fun day!!!

    I am trying to get back on a schedule also – I just feel off….my new workout plan starts June 1st! A few more weeks of being lazy then time to get my act together.

  5. What a cool company to set all that up for you guys!

  6. What a fun day Fran! And kudos to you for organizing it 😀

  7. Dang!!! Now that is what I call a team meeting. I think I will see if my boss will go for this. Congratulations on staying on the bike!

    I love the pictures. Especially the one at the end with your friend, you look so happy and relaxed.

  8. Wow! That looks like a super fun day at work! We don’t have days like that in my job. The best we do is a holiday party but this looks way more fun. So cool you got to try so many new things.

  9. Wow, that sounds like SUCH a fun day!!

  10. I want this for a team building day . What fun!

  11. Wow, sounds like you guys had a blast!

  12. Awesome Team Day you had…sounds like so much fun with lots of laughter.

  13. I want to move to Holland, play in tulips, work with you and have three week vacations 🙂

  14. What a fun team building day it looks like!!!! Well done on organizing the event! Have a wonderful weekend!

  15. What an amazing day you planned for your colleagues. They must totally love you. That would be the day our agency would get people on motorcycles on quads. They’d be too afraid someone would get hurt and sue us. (We have a crazy labour lawyer. Completely nutso)

    So glad everyone had fun. You definitely deserved that glass of wine.

  16. I wish I worked with you, Fran – what a fun, fun adventure! Kudos for planning such an awesome day…it looks like everyone had a blast!

  17. A very fun day!
    The Black Knight Army needs an archer ….. are you available?

  18. What a fun fun day! I loved all the pictures! 🙂

  19. I know you are starting to watch your eating and weight…but if I may say so, you are looking great!! Don’t beat yourself up too much. 🙂

    That day looks amazing!!! Very, Very fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

