A day in my life: Saturday May 21, 2011

Lately my blogger friends Shelley and Helen had some great posts about not appreciating yourself enough for what you’ve achieved and about finishing what you’ve started.

Their posts gave me some food for thought to think about myself. The first 25 years of my life I had no overweight. I had a great body and I did appreciate it. Looking at photos of myself was fun. At 25 I left my parents house and moved in with R. in the house we bought together.

I had never lived on my own, neither had R., and I could buy and cook the food I want. At home my Mom did the cooking and we had to eat what she made. All of the sudden I had so many choices and not all of them were the right ones. The next 6 years I slowly gained a bit every year, a total of about 4 kg (8 lbs) over 6 years. Not very much but enough to make me feel uncomfortable in my body.

At that time I went to the gym only once a week for a Steps class (till my 27th or so I didn’t exercise a lot). In September 1999 I decided I wanted to lose those 6 kg and joined WW. It worked, I lost it all before December 31th and kept it off till May 2000.

In that month my Dad died and dealing with my grief and loss I ate, ate and ate. This lead to my highest weight ever in 2003: 89.2 kg (196 lbs). It took me a couple of years to get where I am now, somewhere between 78 (171 lbs) and 80 kg (176 lbs). But this is not a healthy weight for me. A healthy weight is 73-74 kg (160 lbs-163 lbs).

Since 2009 my exercising is great! I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished with my running. But my eating is sometimes good for a couple of weeks and then it’s all over the place and I stay at that weight of 78-80 kg.

I’m turning 43 tomorrow and it’s realistic to say that I’m halfway in this life. The first 25 years I had a great body and appreciated it. Then for 6 years it was okay. But the past 11 years I treated my body bad.

Back to finishing what you’ve started. Following Helen’s footsteps is that I’m going to finish what I’ve started back in 2000 and get rid of this overweight once and for all by taking one step at a time (Heidi hope you don’t mind I borrowed the title of your blog). I don’t have a date in mind when I want to be at goal weight but I have decided that once I get there I won’t go back, I won’t look back and I am going to appreciate my body from that point on.

So my birthday gift to myself this year is to give me back the healthy body I once had. Only this time it’s not just a healthy weight but I also will be at a much better fitness level than back when I was 25.

Oh and of course the other gift to myself is ………… shoes! 🙂

Birthday cake May 22

Exercise:
This morning I went out with no goals for distance or pace. Just run. And I did okay, I did walk 2 times but overall it felt good.

Stats:
Weather: dry, sunny, little wind, 17C (62 degrees)
Distance: 6 K / 3.7 miles
Time: 00:40:57
Average time: 6:50 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Hell to the no

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 134 – Saturday May 14
Beautiful clouds on Saturday

Day 135 – Sunday May 15
Went to a city park in a different town for a walk.

Day 136 – Monday May 16
One more photo of Sunday’s walk.

Day 137 – Tuesday May 17
Bella’s got a new friend.

Day 138 – Wednesday May 18
Teammeeting from work.

Day 139 – Thursday May 19
Treat at work for my birthday and 2 other colleagues who had their birthday this week too.

Day 140 – Friday May 20
A heron

17 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday May 21, 2011

  1. First, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! I hope you have a wonderful celebration, and enjoy that lovely cake. And of course we MUST see pictures of your birthday shoes! 🙂

    Thanks for the history of Fran. I did the same thing when I moved out, began eating whatever I wanted. Not good for my size, but it was fun. I love that you are giving yourself the gift of health for your birthday. And I bet that you’ll be in the best shape of your life now that you are running.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. The two birthday gifts which you have chosen are really great 🙂
    Happy Birthday, Fran!

  3. Gelukkige Verjaardag! I think you couldn’t give yourself a better birthday present than your health! Enjoy your day and good luck with the journey to your happy weight – it’s not an easy journey but it is definitely worthwhile.

  4. Happy Birthday, Fran! 🙂 Hope you enjoy yourself. That cake looks fabulous.
    It sounds like you are on the right track with your fitness, and it sounds like you know how you want to go about working on the weight. Best of luck on your journey. Looking forward to hearing all about it.

  5. Fran I loved reading about your journey so far…as the last year you have been writing more about your running than your journey to lose the weight….so it was interesting to find out where you where and when you started gaining and how this journey started for you.
    I know you will get the weight off that you want off as thats your spirit.,…you want you go get….You have to find a plan that works for you and you believe in….
    Loved your 365 photo’s again this week…Holland looked like Germany…cloudy but hot…..
    Will BB u to wish you tomorrow…..but for now….enjoy this Saturday as tomorrow you one year old…..and still HOT!!

  6. Gelukkige Verjaardag Fran! What a wonderful gift to give to yourself!!!

    Have a lovely day tomorrow!

  7. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!!! And I love the gift you are going to give yourself! Our bodies and our health are so very, very precious. I think something often happens around 40 and things click, and we understand that we really have to take care of ourselves. I have found that I look at everything I do much more in terms of health…

    I love all your photos!

  8. Okay, I’ll try it – Gelukkige Verjaardag !!

    Thanks for sharing your story. I was overweight my whole life, so I never appreciated my body at all.

    I hope you have a happy, happy day and enjoy that cake and the great health you have given yourself!

  9. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, FRAN!!
    I was thinking about you this morning and I was happy to see your comment! Thank you so much for the support with the house selling…I hope it goes quickly!

    It was interesting to read your history and learn more about you! I am amazed at how you have turned your life around and have, even now, created some new goals. One step at a time is a wonderful way to reach those goals!

    How is your training going??
    B Day Hugs!
    meg

  10. Happy Birthday! Has it already happened or is it tomorrow? That birthday treat looks great. Good luck on the weight. I struggle all the time. I am not way up but I do have clothes that don’t fit. And who knows maybe I am way up since I haven’t weighed myself. Like the photos.

  11. That is a great way to start off a new year from your birthdate. I always say I am going to try to have the healthiest ____ fill in the blank year this year and some how that’s what keeps me going. To know that they year behind is over and it’s like a new fresh start!

    Happy Birthday My dear Fran, I hope you have a wonderful day filled with sunshine, laughter and love!
    xoxo

  12. Happy Birthday Fran! I think the gift you are giving yourself is the best gift ever. I think I should give myself the same gift this year!

    Hope you’re having a great day and the R spoils you. 🙂

  13. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY sweet Fran! I loved reading this history of you. What a great gift you have in store for yourself this year. Holy holy moly that cake looks delish! Enjoy every single bite of it. Can’t wait to see the shoes!

  14. I hope you had a wonderful birthday! I am with you in finishing what I started. I was on track but I just keep slipping off – here is to living our lives in our happy weight and living like we are 25 again…within reason of course. 🙂

  15. Happy birthday! That cake looks amazing, and I hope you enjoyed it!

    Exercise is something I’ve pretty much always been able to do consistently at least three times a week. Even when I weighed much more than I do now, I went to the gym. I’ve always found portion control and eating healthy to be a bit more challenging, though. Keeping a food journal helps some, but it requires vigilance, goal setting, and rewards for me to keep track of my food intake.

  16. Happy belated birthday to you!I hope you had a great day!All the best!

  17. I’m behind on my reading and almost missed this post. Glad I didn’t because it’s a great post. Sorry I missed your birthday. Since I’m caught up I can say that I’m glad you had a good one. You share my Dad’s birthday. I knew you were special. 😉

    And of course I don’t mind that you used my blog name. HAHAHA I took it from a song anyway, so it’s not exactly mine. 😉

    I struggle with some of the same thing you did back when you moved out on your own. Too many choices, and I remember all too clearly the feeling of “freedom” to eat and buy what I wanted. Which is weird because my Mom did not eat particularly healthy when I was younger so I don’t know what I was reaching for the freedom for. Even now, on the days I do a big grocery shop, I’m overwhelmed with choices and want to have a bit of all the new stuff. Recently I went shopping and bought quite a few things that I haven’t in a while and then could not figure out what to eat. I wanted it all!

Leave a Reply

