A day in my life: Monday May 23, 2011

Thoughts:
Thank you all for the birthday wishes. I had a great day, exactly how I wanted it: quiet and easy. In the morning my best friend T. and her daughter came for coffee and cake. I got my usual birthday gift from here: an invitation for dinner at her house. We’re doing that in July.

In the afternoon we went to a restaurant for a high tea. My Mom and Mother in law were also invited and off course Miss Bella went with us too. It was delicious and we had a great time. We ate more than enough and didn’t have dinner last night because we both still had a full stomach.

Next to me my Mom. Next to R. his Mom

The sweet plate

The sandwich plate

The hot snack plate

I didn’t get any gifts because R. and I have decided that we stop doing that and we told our mothers that too. We both find it difficult to think about something we want for our birthday, that’s why we stop doing that. We’d rather spent the money on a weekend away together or something like that.

I did buy shoes by the way. Not 1 pair but 2 pairs, I couldn’t choose. Bought them online and will put a photo on my blog as soon as they arrive.

I did get a gift however this morning from my other best friend K. A lovely shower set with shower cream, body cream, body scrub and foot balm.

Exercise:

Today is the start of Operation Fran back to 73 kg I will do a report on how this goes, including weight loss of the week, every Saturday on my blog.

I do have a problem though: still little motivation for running/strength training/yoga. This has to stop because the longer it takes, the more difficult it is to start again. Today I skipped my run, tomorrow is my rest day but on Wednesday I really need to pick it up. I’m going to post my schedule for the week to come on my blog, starting today. Maybe this will help me to stick to the plan.

I did walk 45 minutes with Bella after dinner. It was such lovely weather and at least I got some exercise in today.

17 responses to “A day in my life: Monday May 23, 2011

  1. I love high tea! What a perfect birthday – so glad for you. I’m ready to stop with the gift exchanging too, I just have to convince Mr. Helen.

    You do realize that you can train for a half marathon in 12 weeks, right? Which means you wouldn’t have to start actual training until the beginning of August. In the meantime, you could just run as you feel – or not. Sometimes a layoff helps bring the mojo back. At least it has worked that way for me. And I always do come back because running is my first exercise love.

  2. It looks like you had a lovely birthday…have never been to a High tea, so its a first for me to read about yours…High tea sounds like something the British people do at Harrods….haha

    You’ll get back into your training again…..I know you will and you will reach the weight you need to be…

    Have awesome evening that side of the world.

  3. Happy belated birthday! Looks like a great day with family, friends and good food!!

  4. Glad you had a lovely birthday. The tea looks fabulous!

    Great job on the walk!!!

  5. Oh your birthday tea party looked like such a fun one! I love all the plates of different foods! Yummy! Glad you had a great birthday!! 🙂 And i like your idea of not exchanging gifts but doing a trip instead.

  6. Glad you had a wonderful birthday. Good to know I am not the only one who feels like they are in a training slump.

  7. High tea is something I have always wanted to do. It looks so fun! But what could be more fun than small yummy treats shared with family??

    Sounds like a great birthday. I have trouble thinking of things for Christmas and birthdays as well. I like gift certificates, but no one wants to give me those because they seem too impersonal, but I don’t think so.

  8. Glad you had a good birthday. I have never had high tea.

  9. Happy belated Birthday to you Fran! I hope that it was everything fun and fantastic!

    Miss you and always smile when I see your comments:)

    Take care! Hugs!

  10. I’m glad that you had a wonderful time on your birthday. Everyone deserve that on their birthday.

  11. looks like a wonderful way to spend a birthday Fran!
    Hubby and I have really scaled back on the presents as well. I would rather spend time together, go for a nice dinner, or to a movie then stress about what to get someone who already has so much ;-). I can totally relate to that! we usually just get each other something small and say it’s from the kids

    I am looking forward to reading more about your new plan. I know this half marathon has thrown you a curve ball, but I know you will stand back up and succeed in everything you want. Looking forward to it!

  12. I’ve only done high tea once in my life, and really want to again! Glad you had a chance to enjoy it! And that you had a great birthday weekend!!!!
    Take care of yourself Fran, have a good day!

  13. High tea looks very tasty. 🙂 Bella got to go with you? That’s cool. I bet she had a blast.
    I see a bit of family resemblence between you and your mom.

  14. A belated happy birthday! My hubby’s was on Sat.

  15. What a perfect way to spend your birthday! You had a great day with family, friends and good food. Please, let’s see the birthday’s gifts which you mentioned. I’m curious 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed!

  16. And what about Bella’s gift? 🙂

  17. What a nice tea! Looks like it was a special day for you, and I’m glad. 🙂

    Some years it’s super easy to choose something for a gift, some, not. This year I can’t think of anything to tell my husband to get me for my birthday, which is bad because he WANTS to get me something. But I’m not doing much of anything besides swimming and yoga…not as much cool gadgets or outfits for that.

    I hope you get your love of running back.

Leave a Reply

