A day in my life: Wednesday May 25, 2011

Thoughts:
Remember this line: “I am never going to count calories again!”

I’ve started Monday watching my food intake again. I follow a meal plan and don’t really have to count calories but I have been thinking to do it for a while again just out of curiosity.

I’ve been looking on the internet for websites with calorie counting programs which I could use on my Blackberry too. But the Dutch websites don’t have apps for it (at least not for Blackberry) and the foreign sites usually only have American products to choose from.

Today I read on Renée’s blog that she joined My Fitness Pal and I checked it out and it’s great because it has an app for the Blackberry and (more important) lots and lots of Dutch food and products in the database.

And I’ve joined it. It will be much easier for me to track my food when I can use my phone for it. I’m not going to be very strict, I estimate a bit what I’ve eaten. For me it’s about the big picture and to have a global calculation of my calorie intake for the day and how much fat and protein I’ve used.

No idea how long I will do this, if I like it I might use it for a while. But I will give it at least one week to try it. The moral of this story: never say never. LOL

Exercise:
I am happy to say that this morning I had a great run. It has been a while and it felt so good. I actually looked forward to my run of this morning yesterday evening. The weather was perfect, a bit chilly and a bit of fog (only on the ground which gave an amazing view). I saw the sun rise and met some rabbits along the way whom I scared because they didn’t expect to see a human at that time of day LOL. I just enjoyed the beautiful morning and didn’t run for time or distance. This is why I run, a run where everything goes smoothly and I can enjoy the things around me. Is it too early to say: I’M BACK!

Stats:
Weather: dry, fog (on the ground), little wind, 17C (62 degrees)
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:04
Average time: 6:53 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Verve – Bittersweet symphony

The Wednesday Fashion Files:
First let’s start with this (as promised): my new shoes.

17 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday May 25, 2011

  1. LOVE your new shoes!!!

    Never say never – so true! Glad you found a calorie counting program that works for you. And I like your attitude. Getting an overall idea of how many calories we are eating is a good idea. Things get a bit out of control so easily…

  2. You back…..well did you ever leave, or stop!!!!! NO>>> you took a breather 🙂
    Looks beautiful out, but for me too cold that time of the morning….here it was 17 degrees when I started at 11.30am and was cold till I started warming up…do you dress in jacket etc at that time of the day??

    I am counting calories but not that serious either anymore, I do write down what I eat, and have been checking my sugar this week out of interest…shocking honestly and I eat well….besides the chocolates/ but June will do a challenge for myself to go off chocolate again….if I dont buy I dont eat!! simple.

    I like the 2nd pair of shoes…but even those heels would kill me…as I wrote in my blog the other day, there are so many cobble streets and heels get stuck in them and I dont work, so where do I wear fancy heels to…but love seeing how other girls wear heels…my daughter in law and sister in law wear the most amazing high heels, I want to fall over when I try walking in them…so funny!!
    Old age…for me 🙂

  3. Never say never – I know that saying well! I used My Fitness Pal when I was tracking my food and really liked it – thought it was very easy to use, plus you can customize it a bit if you want. Really helped me also when I was trying to up my protein intake.

    I love those shoes, especially the second pair. LOVE. WANT. 🙂

    HURRAY, your running mojo is back!!! You don’t know how happy I was to read this. YAY FRAN!!!

  4. I use My Fitness Pal too, and I love it. Having to log on and record my food really makes me think twice about what I eat, and I like the instant calorie count to help me plan my next meals.

    By the way, I love reading your blog and especially the log of your running and what songs you have on your iPod.

  5. Nice shoes! How do you buy shoes online and have them work? Have you bought this brand before? I have such trouble with shoes (especially heels) fitting well. I used to wear them all the time, but I think I’ve spent too much time in runners in recent years and now can not wear heels comfortably. I want to again though. My legs are short and stumpy for my height so I could use the extra length. Plus, I love my calves in heels!!! 😉

  6. Rock those heels, Fran!

    You know, I count calories even when maintaining because I am kind of geeky like that. I love numbers. Points irritated me, but calories are fun. 😀

    So glad you had a good run!

  7. Yeah on the great run and beautiful picture. That was nice of you to help me find a training plan for the duathlon. It is too close to do it now but thanks for the effort.

  8. Cute, cute, cute! How tall are you? I would kill myself in those, but I envy women like you that wear them. I need to be braver…..

    Yay for your run! You are back. It’s so great to feel it again. 🙂 Congrats.

  9. I love the second pair of shoes. Beautiful.
    I like the view you had this morning when you ran. Stunning.
    I currently have the view of my treadmill. It is 09h00 when i’m writing this comment and a temperature of 6 degrees Celsius outside 😦

  10. Glad you finally had a good run! That photo is gorgeous! Looks like the perfect way to enjoy a sunrise.
    I love your new shoes, but then again, I always love your shoes. You have great taste, Fran. 🙂

  11. You know I’m coveting those neutral sandals – I’ve bee looking for something similar for summer.

    Why do we say never when we know better.?!!

    So happy you had a good run!

  12. so thrilled to hear you found your “running legs” again Fran, nothing better than a run that gives you you’re confidence back! Way to Go!

  13. Those shoes are SMOKIN’ HOT!!!! Love them BOTH! Yay for your running mojo coming back!!! Have a good day.

  14. It’s nice to meet wild rabbits along the running path 🙂
    That’s a great news! Glad you had a great run on a Sunny morning and your motivation is rising 🙂 There’s no time like the present!

    I’m running a 6 km race on June, 4th. That race will be held in support of South America’s children ( http://www.acorp.it/italiano/progetto.php )
    I’ve thought that running for social causes helps my motivation.

  15. Popping in from my iPad to see if it works xx

  16. Way to go on the run! I don’ t think it is too early to say you are back. Not at all!! You’ll get back into your groove right away. Those shoes are so sexy. I need to start buying cool shoes like that. You must feel like a million bucks wearing those around.

    And you will be happy to know that I have been giving myself treats. Chocolate won’t do it for me but I’ve had a beer and a glass of wine and counted it. That is the treat that I need. Unfortunately, wanting the potato chips is not a result of deprivation. It’s just such a part of my food world that it is going to take a long time for the desire to overindulge to go away. If it ever does. But thank you so much for the suggestion. It is great to be reminded that I can’t go to hard core or I will crash. That is for certain.

  17. Way to go Fran! And a belated happy birthday – sounds like you had a lovely celebration. Glad you enjoyed yourself. And I know you are going to make progress on your weight – we can encourage each other!

Leave a Reply

