A day in my life: Monday May 30, 2011

Thoughts:
Weekend update: Saturday we went to a thing in our village which I will freely translate as “Farmers and animals”. We have it every year and it is supposed to show the farmer’s life and demonstrations of old crafts. Well I’ve seen 5 sheeps, 1 cow and 1 horse and 2 old men demonstrate old crafts. For the rest it was more a market to buy things.

Yesterday I had a date with my friend M. and Bella had a playdate with her dog Spikey. We met in a forest halfway our homes and had a nice forest walk for an hour. We stopped half way at a sheep fold where you could buy coffee. It was a nice walk and it was great to catch up with her.

Here are some pictures of the weekend:

Smoking salmon

Exercise:
This morning back to running, did a short one. It was great to be out that early. If you have never run early in the morning I recommend you try it sometime. It’s so quiet at that time. This morning I saw rabbits, lots of birds, a duck with baby ducks. I even put off my Ipod for a while to hear the birds sing.

I found a website today: http://jog.fm
If you enter your pace you get music suggestions for that pace. I’ve already looked and found some new music that I’m going to download this weekend. If you’re looking for new running, biking or walking music, take a look at it.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little wind, 12C (53 degrees)
Distance: 3.5 K / 2.1 miles
Time: 00:23:34
Average time: 6:44 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Concrete Blonde – Joey

As you can see in my weekly workout review I sucked at exercise. But I’m happy about the walks with Bella. I’m trying to walk at least 1 time a day for at least 30 minutes with her because she needs the exercise, she’s a very active dog.

The Monday Daily Dinner Files:
Monday: Pork meat, potatoes, broccoli.
Tuesday: Pork, potatoes, red cabbage with pear and cinnamon, apple sauce.
Wednesday: Noodles with vegetables, two baked eggs.
Thursday: Pasta with ham, vegetables and sauce
Monday: White asparagus with ham, egg and Hollandaise sauce.

18 responses to “A day in my life: Monday May 30, 2011

  1. sounds like a great event! Loved all your photos in this entry, especially Bella!

    Thank you for stopping by and reading my race recap, I thought of you, Marcelle, and Heidi alot while running, and everyone else who has provided support! you will get there Fran, I know you will!

    And thanks for sharing that link, sounds like a neat thing to play around with!

  2. Looks like fun!!! Love the bench in the woods. Beautiful.

    You had some activity every day so that looks good to me!!!

    The white asparagus looks so good!!! I think I will get some today!

  3. My husband would like that farmer thing very much. Sounds like a good time.
    Thanks for the nice comment about my race.

  4. Hi Fran, wow, that sounds like SO much fun!!!!!! Love the photos! Hope your week has started out well.

  5. The green woods are so gorgeous and Bella just pops out in that picture, she is just darling!!
    Thanks for the jog music site, I’m definitely going to check it out. I need some new music.

  6. That event looks so fun! It sounds kind of like either 4H or Frontier Days around here. I love going to those things.

    That asparagus dinner looks good! How do you do your baked eggs? I have never had one baked that wasn’t like a quiche.

  7. Looks like a fun weekend!

    The run/music website sounds great. I’ll have to check it out!

    Love your white asparagus pic. I used to not like asparagus growing up, but now I really miss it!

    Have a great week!

  8. The walk in the forest looks wonderful! Love hiking. Reminds me of the hikes my husband and I did in the black forest two years ago. It was wonderful.

  9. Love all your photos. That farm event looks really cool.

  10. Lovely to see your walk via your photo’s…that forest looks amazing as does that bench in the middle of no where.
    Thanks for sharing….

  11. Love the photo of the painted bench in the middle of the forest. I’m off to check out that music link – what a great idea.

  12. I’ll bet that smoked salmon is delicious! Sounds like a fun weekend. It looks cold there, is it?

  13. I’m sure that Bella appreciates the exercise! I know that Bailey is much easier to deal with when she gets time to run around in the park or a daycare and longer walks.

    I’ll have to check out that site! Thanks for the recommendation!

  14. Love that bench!

  15. I would LOVE a partner in crime :).

  16. Love the photos! I really like seeing them! Bella is the cutest dog!

  17. I went for a long walk with an old friend this weekend too. It was really great. So not running yet but headed in the right direction I think. 🙂

    Sounds like a lovely weekend.

  18. That fish story is crazy! Have never heard of something like that.

    Italy is so high on my list of places to go…lucky you for getting to see so much of it! And love Springsteen too!!

Leave a Reply

