A day in my life: Wednesday June 1, 2011

Thoughts:
My weekend has started. Tomorrow it’s Ascension day which is a Christian holiday. Most of the Christian holidays are public holidays here. Because Ascension day is always on Thursday a lot of companies are closed the following Friday, so is my and R.’s company. That means a 4 day weekend. And after that I have 4 more days of work left and my vacation starts.

I received a blogger award from Helen: The adorable blog award. Thank you Helen.
I usually don’t do much with awards but for Helen I will with this one. I have to write 10 things about me that you don’t know and I know what they are going to be too. I just need time to write them so I will be picking up the award officially on Saturday.

And now especially for my friend Shelley: numbers! 🙂

Workout goals May  2011

Quote of the month:
“We run, not because we think it is doing us good, but because we enjoy it and cannot help ourselves … The more restricted our society and work become, the more necessary it will be to find some outlet for this graving of freedom. No one can say, “You must not run faster than this, or jump higher than that”. The hum spirit is indomitable”.  Sir Roger Bannister

May has been a month to forget soon:

  • Apparently not finishing that half marathon in April has done more to me mentally than I first thought.
  • I didn’t run as much as I had set as a goal for May.
  • I didn’t do 1 yoga or strength session.

But what’s done is done. Looking back doesn’t help, looking forward does. I’m closing the book of May and start on a new page named June. Next week my training plan for my second attempt to finish a half marathon starts. In week 25 we are on vacation, I won’t following to the plan that week but will definitely bring my running shoes and just run for fun that week.

And I will be joining Heidi in her June challenge: 30 days of activity of at least 30 minutes a day. This can be running, walking or other exercises. I’ve added a table for this on the left side of my blog and will update this daily with how many minutes I did that day.
If anyone wants to join us in this challenge, feel free to do so.

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in April: 12 workouts, total time 10 hours and 32 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in May: 10 workouts, total time 5 hours and 39 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Goal kilometres/miles in 2011: 1011 K / 628 miles

Goal May: 80 K / 49 miles.
Total May:  51.5 K / 31.2 miles

Total till 05/31: 424.4 K / 263.7 miles
Total running time: 50 hours 29 minutes
Still to run to reach yearly goal: 586.6 K / 365 miles

The Wednesday Fashion Files:
In order of appearance: Thursday last week, Monday, Tuesday and today.

17 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday June 1, 2011

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you’re going to accept the award. Can’t wait to see what we’ll learn about you.

    Don’t worry about Shelley, she’s gonna skip all that numbers nonsense and go straight for the fashion photos 😀

  2. Glad you are joining in on my challenge 🙂 Cute outfits this week!

  3. NICE summery outfits this week….don’t you just love summer.
    Its a Christian holiday here in Germany as well and H has taken Friday off so a long weekend at home with him for me….( same, same 🙂 )
    May is behind you now…good attitude you have about May….close the chapter and move forward….thats the way…what is done is done….now for the next half marathon….
    I told Heidi I wont be joining as I usually do train everyday, but sometimes I crash and need a days rest….so cant commit to this as I hate to fail…and I know already with family coming over and my birthday month, oh and Berlin, I will fail….
    Have a great time with R
    My phone is still broken….maybe get new one on Friday…..was meant to be today and that never happened…:(

  4. I can’t wait to read more about you!

    Good luck with the challenge 😀

  5. I predict that you will have a great June!

  6. Very cute outfits! It’s unusually cold here in Northern California, and I don’t enjoy getting dressed right now, so I wear the same boring things over and over again. I’ll have to snap out of it!

    Have fun with the challenge!

  7. Get your confidence back this month. It is not unusual or bad to not finish a race. You made a good choice. Can’t wait to hear more about you.

  8. Looking forward to reading the 10 things I don’t know about you. Have a great long weekend!

  9. I am DYING over here, because I clicked on to comment on your outfits, and then I read Helen’s comment! Ah, you both know me so well. 🙂

    I love the black and white skirt in the second picture. You make me want to go out and buy a skirt, and I don’t even look good in them! Also, the top outfit is so classic – I would love to go shopping with you one of these days and steal your style!

  10. I have to say that you are so stylish with your outfits. Wow!
    I like that quote that you have posted. So true

  11. Looking forward to learning some random things about you. 🙂
    Loving all your outfits this week (as usual). I have a thing for black and white dresses/skirts so the first two would fit into my closet nicely.
    Can’t wait to see how June shapes up for you. I’m sending you good running vibes.

  12. great attitude and GREAT goals for June! I too have been very mentally messed up since the Half (I know, I know, I finished, but honestly it was really awful) and I’ve really had enough with feeling down. It’s our time now Fran!!

  13. Can’t wait to read more about you – and I think the outfits are super cute!

    I totally understand about the mental aspect of that half-mary….amazing how something can really twist your brain so much. But you have a fantastic attitude on getting back on track!

  14. Hi Fran, LOVE the outfits this week, and I look forward to reading more about you. Have a great day.

  15. Unfortunately, Ascension day isn’t public holiday in Italy although this is a Christian country.
    The Quote of the month is nice and I agree with this. It’s wonderful to run with no reason and just because we love it.
    Congrast for the blog award, Fran!

  16. Hi Fran, mom and I are looking forward to reading your special post tomorrow and seeing your pictures! Enjoy the four day weekend – we are too – and you can’t beat this awesome weather!
    Hugs

  17. I love the 30 days challenge. I’ve been out of the loop lately, but might start it up myself. ANY motivation that works will be good for me right now. My injury has done the same thing your half marathon did. I thought I was handling it well, but my running has been getting less and less these days.

Leave a Reply

