A day in my life: Wednesday June 8, 2011

Thoughts:

It’s official:
I
DON’T
LIKE
STRENGTH
TRAINING

I did it on Monday and while doing it I just hated it. I actually never liked doing it. And as I’m a firm believer that you have to do things you like otherwise you quit at some point, I decided I won’t be doing it again.

What am I going to do instead? I’m going to do cardio once a week and swim once a week.
Maybe I won’t have a muscular body by doing that but I’m okay with that. Besides when I read the results Shelley gets from swimming (she does swim more in a week than I will) there’s still hope.

I have never mind doing cardio in the gym and as a child I used to swim a lot. I’m a very good swimmer if I say so myself. My membership of the gym lasts till February next year and I better use it in a different way. The gym has a pool I can use so that is what I will be doing from now on and she how I like that.

I went to see the fysio today and it’s kind of serious. I have a starting tendinitis at the outside of my elbow up to my wrist. I didn’t give it enough rest after I hurt my elbow. I need to take things slow with my left arm which is a bit of a problem because I’m left handed and do everything with my left hand. But if I don’t take rest it’s going to get worse.

I can still run (don’t need my elbow for that) and I can try swimming and cardio but have to stop as soon as I feel it starts to hurt. And I have to take it easy on the housekeeping because when I do that the pain gets worse. Luckily R. is going to help me with that. I have to watch out with lifting stuff too. I have to rest it as much as possible. It’s a good thing my vacation starts on Friday and I have time to take it easy. I have another appointment Thursday next week and we’ll see how it is by then.

Exercise:
First time since a long time it rained during my run. It wasn’t raining very hard, in fact it was rather pleasant to run in it. I had to do 8K (5 miles) this morning but due to domestic circumstances I switched tomorrow’s run with today and did 3.2K (2 miles). I still had to add walk intervals but the run was much better than Monday.

Stats:
Weather: rain, little wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:21:21
Average time: 6:41 /km
Average speed: 9.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Blondie – One way or another.

The Wednesday Fashion Files:
Some of last weeks outfits.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday June 8, 2011

  1. Swimming once a week is really good and I think that all we, runners, would need it. Moreover, You’re very good swimmer 🙂
    Glad your last run went better!

  2. I completely agree – if you don’t like something, you’re not going to stick with it. There are so many forms of exercise that it’s worth it to find what you like. And as for swimming only once a week, I’ve seen many people who run several times a week, swim once, bike once, yoga or pilates once – I like to think of it as being a well-rounded athlete! That said, I’m excited for you to swim and I hope you like it! Is the pool at your gym indoors?

    Now, poor elbow. I know I’m one to talk (lol) but REST IT. Seriously. I hope it gets better soon. And if it bothers you to swim, maybe just do the kickboard – that way you aren’t moving it. Nice that you get an excuse to have R. do all the housework, though. 😉 No really, I hope it stops hurting you…that is no fun at all.

  3. I will be interested to hear how your swimming goes. Good luck.

  4. I agree. You have to do workouts that you enjoy! I used to lift weights at the gym, but I’m actually kind of bored of it at the moment. I have found that I enjoy circuit workouts with weights. I don’t use as heavy weights as at the gym, but it’s high energy and a lot more fun and my muscles get a good workout.

    I think running and swimming is a good combo. Have fun!

  5. Strength training is boring! Can’t blame you. Hope the elbow clears up quickly for you…maybe swimming will help it?

  6. That is too bad about your elbow – be sure and take good care of it. You probably shouldn’t even be doing strength training with it anyway.

    I know what you mean about weights – I have mixed feelings about them. And it is so hard to motivate yourself to do something you don’t like. My solution is to write workouts for myself with exercises that I find okay to do. I don’t make myself do exercises that freak me out anymore!

  7. Sorry to hear about your elbow. Hope it gets better soon.
    I on the other hand love strength training. I love the burn I get from it when I exercise the muscles. I like the definition I get from strength training. So with this I can’t agree with you.
    Nice outfits. I love the green one.

  8. Sorry to hear you dont like weights…but totally understand the dislike as I dislike swimming and personally could not think of anything worse to do….but hey, its about how you feel, so good that you have finally decided what you want for yourself…and now going for it.
    Hope the elbow improves quickly as you will be needing it for many things…
    Love the summer outfits..That green is really a lovely green…

  9. Elbow tendinitis sucks. Mr. Helen had it once and I swear it lasted well over a year. Of course between his job and the karate he never really rested it at all!

    I hate strength training too. I do. not. like. going to a gym and lifting weights or using machines. Not. like! That’s why I took up Muay Thai. I knew I needed something else besides running.

    I bet you’ll see all sorts of great benefits from your swimming since you are able to really swim. But I agree with Shelley (of course!) – use the kickboard if you find that elbow irritated.

  10. Hope the swimming works out for you Fran! And I am LOVING those outfits. That green is GORGEOUS!!!! Have a great day.

  11. Glad you got answers about your elbow, not glad that it’s tendinitis. I hope you are able to take it easy and let it get better.
    I’m not a fan of strength training either. I used to do it after my runs but that was back when I would do a short 3 mile run followed by weights. Now I tend to do 5 mile runs and skip the weights. It is just so boring!

  12. Rest that elbow!! I mean it. I do transcription for an ortho clinic and a lot of times patients come back in complaining that they aren’t getting better and it turns out they have not been following the advice to rest. Do you wear a brace for it?

    I also think that is full reason to have R do all the housework and cooking for a while 😀

  13. It is official: I don’t like the strength training too!
    Swimming is always a good option.
    Look after your elbow.
    Have a good week end.

  14. Sorry about the elbow issue. I guess the silver lining is that you will be on vacation and able to rest it for a while. I know it is really hard for active people to rest properly when they are injured but please take it easy and be patient and you’ll get better.

    I’ve never lifted weights either. Closest I’ve ever come is the 30 day Shred and I hated that pretty intensely. LOL

  15. Swimming is a full body workout….and I definitely believe there is muscle toning and strengthening involved. Weights aren’t for everyone, that’s for sure!

    I never enjoyed going until my sister and I went together. Now that she can’t go, I’ve stopped going. I need to get back at it. Stat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

