A day in my life: Saturday June 18, 2011

Yesterday we went to the Zoo. This zoo is a 15-minute drive from home and the only one in Holland that allows dogs in the Zoo. We wanted to see how Bella would react to the animals.

When we started the tour the first thing we saw were the brown bears, those were a bight frightening for her. But after that she wasn’t afraid except for the …. donkeys LOL. She wouldn’t approach them while at the tigers she was close to the glass. Below you find some photos I took yesterday.

My favorite animals in the zoo are the tigers, the elephants and the giraffes. What’s your favorite animal in the zoo?

Exercise:
Finally! I ran my first long run yesterday since May 7th. I was kind of nervous before starting: could I do this? I decided to run at a slow pace (actually it was faster than the pace recommended by my schedule) and run for 10 minutes with 1 minute walking break and this worked out very well for me.
I needed this run because it gives me confidence I can do that half marathon training again and a good long run was what I needed after struggling so much with my runs lately. Let the training continue!

Today is a rest day. My legs are still very tired from yesterdays run and walking through the zoo for about 3 hours.

Stats:
Weather: dry, sunny, little wind, 18C (64 degrees)
Distance: 11.2 K / 7 miles
Time: 01:20:43
Average time: 7:12 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Little Steven – Bitter fruit.

Daily Dinner:
Thursday: Spaghetti carbonara.

Friday: fast food (no pic).

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 168 – Friday June 17
A day at the Zoo.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday June 18, 2011

  1. I love zoos! Here in the US, you can’t bring your pets to most zoos (other than helper dogs, like seeing eye).

    That tiger is stunning. I love the big cats.

    have a great weekend Fran!

  2. Fran this new camera of yours really takes much better quality photo’s to the last one you dropped…
    The pictures are really clear and I love seeing what you captured
    Well done.

  3. Awesome zoo pictures, I love the one of Bella checking out the animals. She is so curious!
    Looks like you’re staying super active and I love this new blog layout!!!

  4. I’m curious – which zoo is it? We have been to Apenheul twice, a long time ago when the boys were little. I love the part at the beginning where the little “doodshoofdapen” climb all over you! I guess they wouldn’t let Bella in there…
    Good job on your long run – I bet you are glad to have tackled that distance again.

  5. I love the pictures with Bella checking out the animals. We haven’t been to the zoo in awhile and won’t be for some time now that our temperatures are in the 100’s. I love the elephants and mercats. Good job o our run.

  6. How fun to see Bella at the zoo – I wonder what went through her mind when she saw all the animals? You sure give her a fun life!

    And I’m SO HAPPY that you had such a great long run! Woohoo, Running Fran is back!!! :):):)

  7. I loved this post Fran, great pictures, however it really surprises me that Bella was allowed into the zoo. We are not allowed, no pets at all. The only thing you would see on a leash is a misbehaved child…or a pig ;-). Funny how things are different all over the world ;-). But it looks like Bella had a blast!

  8. I’m glad you had Spaghetti carbonara which is an Italian dish 🙂
    Have a nice weekend!

  9. Which zoo is that? LOVE spaghetti carbonara – delicious.

  10. Love the zoo pics. My favourite animal at the zoo are the giraffes. Especially baby ones. They are so cute!

  11. I love that you can take Bella to the zoo. I’m not sure what Delilah would think of all the animals! I love your pictures.
    My favorites are the giraffes and the polar bears.
    Good job on your long run! I did a long-ish run the other day of 6.5 miles – my first real longish run for the marathon training! It felt really good.

  12. I love all your ZOO pics. Especially the ones with bella in them. So cute! 🙂

  13. I used to work at a zoo. There was always a peacock or two nesting outside my window….I’ve had a fondness for them ever since. I also love the big cats, the lemurs, and the sea lions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

