A day in my life: Friday July 1, 2011

I’m back to my old self, feeling rested and happy again. I had another appointment with the fysio for my arm/elbow yesterday. Still not healed and it’s going to take a while too, I have to be patient with it. Massage it every day myself and try to rest it as much as possible. Because I’m going back to work on Monday and I have a desk job where I work a lot behind my computer, he advised me to take it easy in the evenings. And I’m going to try to do that and limit my computer time at home. I even have to limit the time I make Japanese puzzles because I use my left hand with that. Don’t like that but have to if I want my arm/elbow to heal.

Today is the last official day of our vacation, time flies when you’re having fun. I can’t believe 3 weeks are already over. R. and I are having a lunch date today as a “closure” of the vacation. Tomorrow I’m home alone because R. goes to a motor event in Belgium with his brother. On Sunday he is going ballooning (if the weather is good for it) with his 2 brothers. I’m going with him to see him going up in the air. And then on Monday it’s back to normal life for the both of us.

Daily Dinner:
Wednesday: cod fish, roasted potatoes, salad with feta cheese.

Thursday: pork, baked potatoes, pees and carrots.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 180 Wednesday June 29
A few photos taken while walking with Bella

Day 181 Thursday June 30
Taking you on my shopping trip, the only that I forgot to take a photo of is the supermarket where I do my grocery shopping.

Butcher's shop

Greengrocer's shop

Left: pet store where I buy Bella's food. Right: Chemist's for my beauty and cosmetic products

Workout goals June  2011

Quote of the month:
“If you become restless, speed up. If you become winded, slow down. You climb the mountain in an equilibrium between restlessness and exhaustion” – Robert Pirsig -> eind juli aanpassen met quote juli.

June didn’t turn out to be as good as I thought it would at the beginning of the month.

  • I didn’t run as much this month as I should, therefore I haven’t reached the mileage goal I had set for myself in June.
  • I didn’t do as many workouts as planned.

But:

  • I started swimming, just once so far but am going to keep doing this.
  • I joined Heidi in her June challenge: 30 days of activity of at least 30 minutes a day and I totally rocked this challenge. I didn’t miss 1 single day. If I didn’t workout, I made sure I walked for at least 30 minutes. I reached a total of 1822 minutes which is 30 hours and 37 minutes.

Plans for July:

  • I have to get serious about my running schedule for the half marathon in October meaning stick to the plan as of next week.
  • Continue swimming and start cross training once a week.
  • I will stick to the 30 minutes of activity a day, even if it’s just walking on some days and try to beat the total of 1822 minutes in June.

Workouts June:
Running. Done: 11
Swimming. Done: 1
Strength. Done: 1

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in May: 10 workouts, total time 5 hours and 39 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in June: 13 workouts, total time 8 hours and 9 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Goal kilometres/miles in 2011: 1011 K / 628 miles

Goal June: 95 K / 59 miles.
Total June: 62.1 K / 38.7 miles

Total till 06/30: 486.5 K / 302.3 miles
Total running time: 57 hours 45 minutes
Still to run to reach yearly goal: 524.5 K / 326 miles

16 responses to “A day in my life: Friday July 1, 2011

  1. Good for you for getting so many minutes of exercise in! You still have plenty of time to get ready for your half marathon. I can’t believe your vacation is done already either – when you said three weeks it seemed like it should have lasted a lot longer. Boy, time sure flies…

  2. The photos of your supermarket, butcher, etc. reminded me how much I enjoyed (and now miss) shopping like that! It seems all we have now in the USA are giant superstore supermarkets where everything is under one roof. There is something to be said for walking into a butcher to get really fresh meats.

    So glad your vacay was a time of rest and relaxation. Amazing how it can energize for the days ahead isn’t it?

    Enjoy your weekend.

  3. you did great this month Fran! Hope you heal quickly. You meals look so great especially the fish ;-).
    So glad that you enjoyed your vacation and you feel rested, that’s the best way to feel after your vacation.
    Have a great weekend my friend!

  4. Great job on rocking the June challenge!!! I am looking forward to the start of my vacation…but it is still a few weeks away, then I will be off for five weeks!

    I wanted to take a bite of the dinner for Wednesday…the fish looks scrumptious!

    I love all the local pictures you take…they always make me want to go back to Holland.

  5. I hope you get well soon. Glad you started a swimming program, it helps a lot.
    Sorry for the end of the vacation.
    Beautiful pictures: those shops look “artistic”.
    About food: I love potatoes.

  6. Glad you are back to your old self again! I cannot believe those 3 weeks are up already. Are you sure there isn’t another week left??

    Love those little shops. Our stores around here are so huge. The only way specialty stores survive is in big cities.

  7. What a cute shopping area! I swear, the lifestyle in your town looks so quaint and relaxing. What a difference from where I shop!

    Glad your vacation was so good and I love that you and R. are having lunch to celebrate the end of it.

    I sure hope your elbow heals soon. What a pain to not even be able to do something simple like your puzzles!

  8. I just found your blog.

    You had a great month of June! Good luck with your running goals. I have a half marathon next month myself 🙂

  9. Hi Fran, holy smokes, your vacation FLEW by! Glad you enjoyed your rest! Hope your elbow heals soon too! LOVE the photos of your area. You live in a beautiful part of the world. Have a good rest of the weekend!!!

  10. Love the photos as always. Good luck with your arm/elbow healing.
    Does your husband balloon a lot? I hope you get some pictures. That is definitely on my bucket list.

  11. Ballooning is expensive here too which is one of the reasons I haven’t done it. Nice way for his mom to show her appreciation.

  12. Those are some serious hours of activity that you logged in June! Way to rock that challenge!

  13. WOW! I love your blog. I just found it. Your goals look great. Look forward to your July Goals being met

  14. My finger that I sprained on April 30th is still hurting me so I can relate to your arm pain. The only blessing is that it’s only my pinky on my right hand and it is healing but not as quickly as I’d hoped. I hope your arm feels better soon.
    I love the photos from walks with Bella and of your shopping places. I don’t go to a separate butcher so that’s kinda cool. I have always wanted to go to a butcher though. It sounds like you would get really fresh meat and have it cut to your liking.

  15. I’m sad for you because of your vacation that have ended. It is sad 😦
    But glad you have enjoyed it so much – I too due to the photos you have taken which is awesome.

Leave a Reply

