A day in my life: Monday July 4, 2011

Thoughts:
Today = dress, high heels and make-up a.k.a. back to work.
It felt good to be back at work and see my colleagues again. Do you also have the feeling that after a vacation you are ready for a fresh start, like at New Year’s for example? I always do.

One of the things I am going to do is turn of the laptop at 9 pm at the latest and do something else like reading or watching tv before going to bed.

I still want to reach goal weight. I’m going to try something different but before I tell you what I’m doing at the moment, I’m going to try it out for 2 weeks and see if it works for me.

Remember this:

My cook book collection (around 80 books). The past months I hardly used them. My “goal” is to use them as much as possible from now on. There are so many recipes in it that I haven’t made yet but want to try. When I use a recipe from one of the books I will mention it at the dinner photo.

Exercise:
As you know I haven’t been running all that much the past 3 weeks, wasn’t very motivated.  In fact when I got up this morning to go for my run before work I had such a heavy headache that I decided to skip my run. Catch up on that run later this week. However when I was at work today I talked to a lot of colleagues and you know we will be running with a team in September. There has been a lot of talking about running today at work and it got me motivated again to continue my running schedule. This week is recovery week in my schedule meaning cut back in miles but next week it’s back to normal training and I actually look forward to it.

I did go to the gym after dinner for an interval workout on the stationary bike. I found a lot of interval cardio workouts for the cardio machines on the internet and made a workout book of it that I bring to the gym. Now I can do something different every time without getting bored. And this was actually the first time I wasn’t bored with cardio because of the interval. I did it for 30 minutes and after that did 8 minutes of abs exercises.

Daily Dinner:
Friday, lunch date with R. I had bread (baked with the flower from the mill) with carpaccio. R. had bread with spicy chicken.

Monday: Cajun chicken breast (grilled) with rocket salad with red onion, oranges and a bit of olive oil (recipe from Ainsley Harriott – Low fat meals in minutes)

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 182 Friday July 1
Monthly photo of our garden.

Day 183 Saturday July 2
The Tour de France started, I saw a lot of bikers during my walk, just like they all got motivated to get out on their bikes now the Tour has started.

Day 184 Sunday July 3
R. ballooning

Day 185 Monday July 4
This is the same swan that was ready to attack me last week, now it was on a safe distance.

13 responses to “A day in my life: Monday July 4, 2011

  1. Can’t wait to hear what you have up your sleeve Fran. I did the shred today and I think I’m gonna continue it for the month. It felt good to do something with a little bit of weight. I will be running this evening, can’t wait!
    Love the photos, if I had that garden I would be sitting in it alot.. perhaps with an iced coffee ;-).
    Hope your first day back to work was a pleasant one.

  2. I think it’s very motivating to be around a bunch of enthusiastic runners and it’s great that you are getting that from your co-workers. How fun that you all have a goal race…bet you will keep on with your motivation now that it’s coming closer and everyone is so excited about it.

    Why do swans almost always look mean?

    Also, what an awesome adventure R. had, going up in that balloon! Have you ever done that? I haven’t. Kind of scared to, actually.

  3. The ballooning looks exciting. Glad the swan was farther away!

  4. The balloon looks like so much fun!!!

    Yay for going to the gym! Doing intervals is fun and it seems like the work out is over before it even started.

    The mama swan and her babies is so sweet.

  5. You are such a tease with what you are doing for 2 weeks!! I love hot air balloons. There is a festival of balloons here each fall that I like to go to.

    Those meals look delicious, too!

  6. Am sure R loved his adventure!

  7. I totally agree with you on the intervals – they make cardio on a machine much more bearable!
    Looking forward to hearing what your new eating plan is – hope it works out really well for you!

  8. I adore the garden.
    What Id NOT do to just snuggle there with a book.

  9. I’m glad your spark for running was reignited! Just in time. You probably needed a break.
    I enjoyed the ballooning pictures. I have been wanting to go hot air ballooning. Joey is less excited about it but maybe someday I’ll get to do it.

  10. OOOH….we have to wait 2 weeks? Fun!!!
    LOVE the photos as always. Especially the balloon shots. I’ve never been in one, and not sure if I could, I’m not good at heights, but it looks so fun!! Have a great day!!! (PS: you’ve inspired me to pull out my cookbooks too, get them organized and start using them more than I do!!!)

  11. Intervals definitely help make boring gym cardio a lot better. They keep you occupied so the time feels like it’s going by faster. I’m not doing any race training right now and honestly I have no desire to race. But every time I get around other runners I do think about it. Their love of the sport is contagious!

  12. At first I’m sorry for the heavy headache and I hope you’ll find your motivation soon. I always try to run run with other people as a team and this gives me motivation. I don’t like running on my own.

    What a beautiful meal! I love rocket salad. Great cook book collection.
    Nice photos of the ballooning 🙂

  13. I’m starting over this weekend. Fresh training schedule, fresh outlook. And, I get to run for the first time in over three weeks!! (very excited – can you tell?)

    Your garden is beautiful, as always!

Leave a Reply

