A day in my life: Saturday July 9, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments on my last post. You will be happy to know that I did run again.

Did you ever think or consider turning your book into a blog? I did and I made books of my blog. I started blogging on June 27th 2009, over 2 years ago now. I never read posts back on my blog and a few months ago I googled if it was possible to turn your blog into a book which was. During my vacation I made 2 books. 1 from June 2009 till June 2010 (my old blog before I got my own domain) and 1 from June till December 2009. I ordered them last Saturday at a US company and they arrived yesterday. It looks very good and I’m very happy with it. I will make another one in January for 2011 and will continue that for as long as I keep blogging.

It’s cool to read back what I have been doing, the photos from my blog are in it too, and to read my improvements with my running.

Yesterday I had my yearly birthday dinner with my friend T. She cooked for me and as usual it was delicious. After dinner we sat outside with her husband, her son and his girlfriend and her daughter and her boyfriend (her first, so cute). B. (T.’s husband) played some old tapes on the laptop to show the girlfriend of his son how he looked when he was 2 years old. The funny part was that R. was on the tapes too, 20 years ago, 2 years before I met him. It was so fun to see him and I brought the DVD home to show to him this weekend. It was a great evening.

Exercise:
Well I did suck it up Thursday morning and did run before work. And you know what: it wasn’t that bad, in fact it felt pretty good. I’m still not back at running the entire distance (for the short distances) but I will get there.

Stats:
Weather: dry, cloudy, little wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:33:03
Average time: 6:53 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Amy McDonald – This is the life.

Daily Dinner:
Thursday: Lamb chop with couscous with cucumber, tomato and mint.

Friday:
Starter: Prosciutto with strawberries.

Main: Filo pastry filled with chicken and mushrooms, baked potatoes and green beans with almondbutter.

Dessert: pistachio icecream on a slice of cake with strawberries, raspberries and whipped cream.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 188 – Thursday July 7
My fridge after shopping for groceries, fruits and vegetables.

Day 189 – Friday July 8
Best friends!

18 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday July 9, 2011

  1. Those books are so awesome! Love the idea!

  2. Oh my goodness! I love those books. What a wonderful idea!

    The food for your birthday is beautiful, I especially like the prosciutto and strawberries!!!

    Yay to Just Doing It!!! Keep on running Fran!

  3. I love your blog books! What a great idea! Do they print it in reverse order, like if you order a year’s worth, it begins in January, right? Probably a dumb question, but hi, have you met me? LOL

  4. A blog book – I so need to do this!!

    I love seeing old family movies of John when he was little.

    What a lovely birthday dinner, too. Can your friend come cook for me??

  5. Where did you order the books from? Were they expensive? That is very cool.

  6. Those blog books look great? Will you let us know the website you ordered them from?

    Glad getting back out to run worked out well!

    My youngest son felt like we should also take a trip while Florian is away so guess what? We booked a weekend in the Veluwe! The kids really want to go to Apenheul and I am hoping to do some biking around the Veluwe park. We haven’t been there in over ten years.

  7. What a fantastic idea to turn one’s blog into a book. When I have the money someday, I too would do this. Thanks for telling us about this.
    Your meals look good as always and again, great work on the running.

  8. That is such a great idea to get your blog turned into a book! I think I might keep this idea in mind for a few months from now or at the end of the year.

  9. A blog-book: great idea! Please let us know where and how you did.
    Great pics as usual.

  10. The blog-book is a great idea and I’d like to know how you ordered them.
    You had lovely birthday dinner, Fran. I have never eaten prosciutto with strawberries. That dish looks delicious!

    With regards to your last comment, in my town there is the port of Rome and in summer there are four cruise ship a day. A lot of tourists come from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. That’s why I met them yesterday while I was walking along the street next to the port.

  11. I did a blog book the first year I blogged with Blurb an USA company, but within a month the pages started coming loose, so now no one can open the book, it’s a decoration in my lounge. It’s a thinker book with over 300 pages, now too scared to make more books like that besides my photo books I make.

  12. Your book looks good and so did those strawberries 🙂 Congrats on running again!

  13. The book idea is so cute, it looks great!

  14. Such a cool idea to turn your blog into books.
    All that food looks delicious (as always).

  15. The blog book thing sort of made me laugh because now you have a written diary, which is what we used to do before blogs!

    For someone who hasn’t wanted to run, that run went’ pretty darn good – 11 minute miles is great for an easy run!!

  16. That is so COOL! I have been wanting to make my blog into a book too. What site did you use??

  17. Gorgeous book and a great idea. Nice food too!

  18. I’ve looked into getting my blog (not my running one, the other one) put into books. They are such a cool idea!!!!!

Leave a Reply

