A day in my life: Monday July 11, 2011

Operation Fran back at 73 kg!

I mentioned in my previous post that I made a book from my blog. When I read it, 2 things caught my attention. The first is my weight. Ever since I started my blog it has been a struggle to reach goal weight. When I read the book I have tried so many things and nothing really worked. As you know I’m trying something else (more on that in a later post) and hopefully this will finally work.

Last week I read interesting post too about weight goals. It was a post on Heidi’s blog about a friend of her who doesn’t lose weight easy (like me) and that her friend made a plan for her weight loss based on being patience. I don’t lose weight easily, no matter how much I work out, and the past year I’ve set goals that were to high for me. I decided to change the period in which I want to lose weight. I decided to take it slow and be patient. I made a monthly goal of 1.5 kg (3.3 lbs) of weight loss in a month. This will mean I will be at goal weight at the end of this year.

The second thing is that back in Summer 2009 when I was training for my first 10K in September I didn’t skip a run, not even when I catched a cold and didn’t feel well or when it was too hot to run (back then I ran in the afternoon after work). Those days when I didn’t feel well I said to myself that I just had to go and try and cut the run short if necessary which hardly ever happened. Today I skip runs or workouts easily. Reading about how I approached my running in 2009 (and also at the beginning of this year) inspired and motivated me to take my running and workouts serious again.

Exercise:
I didn’t workout this weekend but this morning I put on my running shoes and went out for a run at 6 am and it was a good run, it felt good, weather was perfect for running. I still have walk breaks, even on the short distances, but I don’t worry about that. As long as I stick to my training plan from now on I will be fine. After the run I cleaned our house for about 3 hours and took Bella for a half hour walk after dinner.

Stats:
Weather: dry, fog, little wind, 12C (53 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:44:14
Average time: 6:55 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: En Vogue – Free your mind.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 190 – Saturday July 9
What’s blooming in someone else’s garden …

Day 191 – Sunday July 10
I walked with Bella to the centre of our village:

Day 192 – Monday July 11
It’s almost impossible to buy bagels where I live and when a grocery store I usually don’t go to, had an American week and sold bagels I had to go because I do love bagels. Also bought 2 bags of dried cranberries and some cranberry juice.

18 responses to “A day in my life: Monday July 11, 2011

  1. If you’re taking walk breaks and still running 11 minute miles overall? I wouldn’t worry a bit about that either! Wow.

    I’ll be interested to see where your new plan of attack takes you. As a slow loser myself I totally understand your frustration at wanting to be a goal weight faster.

  2. Is that your goal weight 73kgs? and did you manage to lose weight this weekend, you said you would tell us what you doing only if you lost weight after the weekend which would be your test??

    we also have the American theme week here at Lidl…but never buy

  3. Glad I was able to help you with some inspiration. Am excited to hear what your new plan is about. I’m working on eating cleaner this week. And being a bit more active.

    I didn’t realize bagels were an American thing … though I guess that makes sense. We now have Bagel Thins over here, which are just a thinner version of a regular bagel, but only about 100 calories. They are fantastic, because you get everything you love about the bagel, but save at least 200 calories.

  4. I always take work breaks when I train. I stopped worrying about it. I will never be fast but that’s ok.

  5. I meant WALK breaks – I guess I have work on the brain.

  6. Hi Fran. Your village is SOOOO beautiful! I love the idea of PATIENTLY tracking weight loss. It would be so great if we could wave a magic wand and be at goal weight, but that isn’t reality. Well, not my reality anyway. I just try and see it as a long term, lifestyle change and not get TOO caught up in the numbers themselves. (which is easier said than done sometimes – but I’m doing my best) Look forward to getting the lowdown on the plan you are on! have a great week!!

  7. I think it’s easier when goals are broken down into smaller goals too. I think just taking each day by day you will do great. And I find that by looking back at my old blog posts that I get inspired by my own self sometimes too.

  8. I love your village! It is adorable 😀 I need to save up pennies (lots and lots of pennies) to get over there.

    Bagels in a plastic bag? I only like fresh made bagels. Frozen bagels are in stores, but I just don’t buy them. I feel bad that you can’t get good bagels all the time there LOL!

  9. I love the picture of your village!! I also love bagels and would make a big effort to buy them.

  10. Great job on going for a run!!!

    Your village is so beautiful…I just love the pictures!

  11. Hi Fran, Yes, I missed you too! No running even today alas…by the time I got home, it was still a sweltering 93•F. Anyway, caught up on the Tour de France, as we went away this weekend so recorded it. I felt really sorry for poor old Johnny Hoogenband. Anyway, walk breaks are not necessarily a negative thing. The recovery time actually helps build up your speed. Just keep at it, and you will see the results in the Autumn. WIth regard to the weight, well, I have actually put on 10 pounds and have not worn a dress this summer (or this winter past) as I cannot fit into them. I really don’t want to buy any new ones, so patience, and slowly, slowly it will come off. It is hard and annoying, and I don’t feel myself, but I am trying to keep a positive frame of mind – I know that it takes time and one must be gentle with oneself. It will happen for you, don’t doubt it.

  12. Our Lidl had that promotion too but I never seem to go there…oh well. Bagels are dangerous food for me to have in the house anyway!
    I totally know what you mean about the weight – it is so frustrating to feel like you are making an effort but nothing seems to work. I have been stuck at about the same spot since April and I am sincerely trying to give myself a kick start but my body doesn’t seem to want to listen – just like a stubborn old donkey. Maybe some patience would help…

  13. I think it’s a great goal you made for you and that you are now taking your time with this with being patient.

  14. It’s such a good idea to go out to run even if you don’t feel like it. Like you said, usually getting out the door is the hardest part. Now I need to take my own advice and do this! Marathon training officially starts this week! So I am going to try to hit all my runs. We can do this together.
    Oh, I was looking and I have a 15k that I might do on October 1st. Such an interesting distance and if I can run this race, we’ll be doing the distance in the same exact weekend. I just have to wait to see when and where my niece’s birthday party is since they usually have it that same weekend every year.

  15. “American Week” – that is so funny! Wonder what else they had that was considered American?

    As a slow loser (haha, I almost typed “sore loser”)I can empathize with you, and at this point, losing over 3 pounds a month would be great! I’m excited for your weight-loss and running goals – you sound renewed! 🙂

  16. No hot dogs and apple pie during Americal Week?? Bagels are the next best thing I guess!
    I’ve gained weight this spring and it is VERY,VERY slow to disappear. I am very impatient but I love your attitude about it. You seldom seem upset or hard on yourself and I find that so healthy!

    So, I’ve been “hitting” some used clothing boutiques in our area to save $$ on some cute clothes. I’m dying to post about the things I’ve bought but I wonder, who’d be interested except Fran??? Should I do it??

  17. You will achieve your goal if you can be patient. I think the key for me is always to get back on the weight loss wagon whenever I fall off. Never stop trying.

  18. I can’t imagine not having bagels!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

