A day in my life: Wednesday July 13, 2011

Operation Fran back at 73 kg!

Part 2:
As said at the beginning of the month I’m trying something “new”. Diets don’t work for me, neither does counting calories or Points or whatever. The past 2 weeks I’ve adjusted my meals a bit. I have to say it’s going very well. Past weekend didn’t go exactly as planned but overall much better than my usual weekends.

Breakfast:
Before: Low fat yogurt with cereals or crackers with cheese and jelly, both with a piece of fruit.
Now: Low fat yogurt with muesli or 2 slices of whole wheat bread with cheese or meat.

Morning snack:
Before: a muesli bar or something like that.
Now: a piece of fruit.

Lunch:
Before: 2 slices of whole wheat bread with meat or cheese. A salad or soup. Glass of milk.
Now: a salad with some protein like chicken, tuna, egg or meat and a glass of milk.

Afternoon snack:
The same as before: a piece of fruit.

Dinner:
No real change here except that I’m using my cook books and recipes more and I try to have at least 1 meal with chicken, 1 with meat and 1 vegetarian. I don’t like fish that much but I do know it’s healthy to eat fish, 1 try to eat fish 1 time every 2 weeks.

Evening snack:
Before: usually a cookie with evening coffee.
Now: a bowl of yogurt (if I’m hungry).

Weekend:
Extra: 2 glasses of wine on Saturday evening and a “treat”. The treat can be pastry I made myself, or a dessert on Sunday or a snack to go with the wine on Saturday evening.

Did this work? Well …

Weight on July 4th: 82 kg (180 lbs).
Weight on July 13th: 81 kg (175 lbs).

In my book that’s a success!

Exercise:
Yesterday I went swimming. Did the same workout as I did the first time I went swimming. Swam a total of 660 meters/yards in 25 minutes. This was 5 minutes faster than the first time. I took shorter breaks and (at least that’s what I want to believe LOL) swam faster. I really like swimming and am glad I started swimming again.

Yesterday evening it started to rain here in Holland. And by rain I don’t mean drizzling rain, no a lot of rain and a lot of wind. I set my alarm for my morning run but the weather hadn’t changed this morning and decided to move my run till after work. By then it was still raining cats and dogs and I decided to go to the gym and do my run on the treadmill. I decided I would do 4.8K and choose a hill training. It was tough! Much harder than running outside. I ran the “hills” and walked when the incline was on 0%. And I made it through the entire 4.8K and was very satisfied and pleased with myself afterwards. We all know how I hate the treadmill and running after work.

Stats:
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:36:25
Average time: 7:35 /km
Average speed: 7.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Robbie Williams & Kylie Minogue

Daily Dinner:
Tuesday: R. was working late and I didn’t feel like cooking. Had 2 baked eggs with bacon on 2 slices of whole wheat bread.

Wednesday: Noodles with chicken and vegetables.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 193 – Tuesday July 12
House for sale. There are a lot of houses for sale in my village. Here an example of a house that’s for sale (more expensive price range). Maybe I will post more houses in the future when I can’t think of anything to photograph. This house can be bought for € 795.000 (USD 112,000 / CAD 107,000)

Day 194 – Wednesday July 13
4 books I still have to read (can’t wait to start the new Karin Slaughter), just a random pick of the 32 books that are on my bookshelf and that I still haven’t read :blush:

15 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday July 13, 2011

  1. Well done on the 1kg weight loss..I know this is huge for you in 9 days as well.
    Keep going as this seems to be working for you…

    I would love to live in that house…wow its really awesome bit VERY expensive…would love to see more of the houses in your area.

    Glad you had a good swim and that you got to run, I also did a treadmill run at Sarah last Saturday while she did Zumba…I felt to much faster on treadmill than on the road…too many hills where I live.

  2. At first I thought that house was only $112,00.00 Then I realized it was over 1 million dollars! A bit too much for my pocket lol!

    Congrats on moving that scale. I know it is really gratifying to see tangible results from the changes you made.

  3. Oh – I just read Helen’s comment. I was all set to hightail it to Holland and buy that house – I figured I could afford $112,000. But not 10 times that amount! Dang it. 😦

    So huge congrats on the loss – that is a great amount of weight to lose!!! Looks like your changes are really making a difference and I’m impressed (and jealous, too). Nice work, Fran!!!

    Also, I love that you are enjoying swimming so much in your beautiful pool. And since you’ve shown us a picture of it, I can “see” you doing your workout. 🙂

  4. I was so ready to pack up and move when I saw $112K LOL!

    5 pounds in a week – that is fantastic! It looks like you lowered your carb ratio a bit from what you describe. Keep it up!

  5. I would certainly say you have had success. Good work!!!!! It’s all about little changes. Glad this is working for you.

    Count me in the group that didn’t realize that the house was priced over a million dollars …. hahahhahaa. Cute house, but looks awfully small for that much money.

  6. I also thought it was a very cheap house. LOL

    Love that you posted some of your books. I always want to know what people are reading. I bought one of the Karen Rose books on your recommendation but haven’t read it yet.

  7. Yahoo on the big loss!!! I think from what you posted, that you cut out a bunch of carbs. That works for me too…when I do it.

    Great job on the treadmill too!!!

    Love the food pics and the house too…I was also ready to move…

  8. I like your menu as it is now. Congrats on the 1kg loss.

  9. Congrats on the weight loss! Sounds like your small changes are paying off.
    I was thinking that house was 112k as well and wished I could get something like that here for that price. Beautiful house but doesn’t seem worth over a million dollars.
    I like seeing the photos of your dinners. It inspires me sometimes.

  10. Woo Hoo!!!! Way to go on Operation Fran! (I’m clapping and cheering here for you!) LOVE that cute house…it would cost a FORTUNE here in Vancouver too. Time to move to the middle of nowhere! Kidding!!! Have a wonderful Thursday. (well, it’s almost over for you, so I’ll wish you a fantastic Friday too!) 🙂

  11. Awesome that your plan is working! I am getting back to where I was also and my plan is working. While I am a calorie counter – I am doing it this time just trying to be more aware of my needs. 🙂

    Oh love that house and a great price at least compared to house in my neck of the woods.

  12. Nice job on the weight loss! I’m glad you’ve found a formula that’s working for you. When I have fruit for snacks instead of something processed, I tend to feel better and sometimes lose a bit of weight as well.

  13. Great job on the weight loss and I am so glad you are finding a system that works for you. I think that is really key – it has to be personal, doesn’t it?

    And good for you on the treadmill – I know how much you hate running on the treadmill so I am really proud of you for doing it!

    Looking forward to seeing you on the 24th – woo hoo!

  14. I’m glad that your plan about healthy meals is going well 🙂
    What a beautiful house for sale! Its price seems expensive enough considering that since 2009 prices of houses have decreased in Europe. Maybe that beautiful house which you show in the photo is situated next to centre of the towm.

    Have a nice running weekend!

  15. 5 pounds…that’s a HUGE success!!!! Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

