A day in my life: Monday July 18, 2011

Thank you for your tips for new races for my bucket list. I’ve added the following:
–          San Francisco half marathon and Las Vegas rock and roll half marathon (thanks Shelley)
–          Lake Placid half marathon (never let a change to get a cup of coffee with self roasted beans pass by, thanks Lori)
–          Rome-Ostia half marathon (thanks Stefano)
–          Disney half marathon (thanks Syl).

I have no idea if I will ever go to the USA for a run but when I do it’s got to be a half marathon. You never know what happens in the future. I didn’t add suggestions for full marathons because I still have no intention of ever running a full.

Since I started working again 2 weeks ago, the weather has been bad. Lots of rain. And what do people do when it rains a lot: complain about it. And after 2 weeks I’m kind of done with that. I hardly ever complain about the weather (except maybe when it’s too hot).

Found this on the internet: The Netherlands has a maritime climate, with cool summers and mild winters. The average temperature is 2° C (36° F ) in January and 19° C (66° F ) in July, with an annual average of about 10° C (50° F ). Clouds generally appear every day, and in the winter months fog often abounds, while rainfall occurs frequently. Average annual rainfall is about 76.5 cm (30 in). The mild, damp climate is ideal for dairying and livestock raising, but the limited sunshine restricts the growing of food crops.

It’s the kind of weather we are having now so actually it’s quite normal for this time of year.
The weather is something you don’t have influence on so why should you let it ruin your day. These days it seems all people can talk about is the weather -> BORING!

Do you complain about the weather a lot, maybe if it’s too hot, too much rain or too cold?

Exercise:
Woohoo: double workout today!
I did an early morning run this morning at 5.30 am. Had to do a short one. Running is getting easier, time between my walk breaks are getting longer and running itself gets easier. I was lucky that it was dry but there was a very strong wind this morning.

After work I went to the gym to do a cross training session. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical. Because I use workouts that has a variety, cardio isn’t that boring anymore. The 30 minutes were over before I knew it.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, strong wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:34:15
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Spandau Ballet – Lifeline

Finally my weekly workout review looks like something again. I’m happy with last weeks workouts even though I missed 2 of my planned workouts. But it’s better than the past 3 weeks and it feels like I’m back on track.

Daily Dinner:

Sunday
Chicken baked in the oven with garlic, lemon, olive oil and some white wine (recipe from Nigella Lawson – Forever Summer). It was delicious! We had some oven fries and a salad with it.

Dessert was fresh fruits (pinapple, nectarines, blueberries and strawberries) with whipped cream.

Monday
Pork chop, mashed potatoes, creamy spinach with cucumber.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 198 – Sunday July 17
I loved the look of this tree.

Day 199 – Monday July 18
Had nothing to shoot today and use another photo I took yesterday. A little girl passing me during my walk on a Shetland pony.

19 responses to “A day in my life: Monday July 18, 2011

  1. The chicken looks delish!!!!

    I complain about the rain a lot, but right now for running I would take it over the humidity we have been having. 🙂

  2. I try not to complain about the weather too much. Sometimes I comment on it but don’t complain. I am known around the office as the crazy girl who will run in any weather. I prefer when it’s cooler outside but a super hot and humid day will not keep me from running usually.
    Your village is so beautiful. Love the tree/pond photo and the girl on the pony. Beautiful brick road with the water next to it!

  3. Well you read my blog so you know I whine all winter long! I am just the sort of person who finds it easier to cool off than to warm up, I guess. Which is why I love summer. If you ever did come to the USA and it’s in the summer, you should visit the San Francisco area. They have very similar weather to yours there. In fact people often get there in summer and are SHOCKED at how cool it is.

  4. There’s a saying that goes something like “the coldest winter I ever spent was the summer in San Francisco” – Helen is right, it’s chilly there. But so pretty! If you ever get to the US for one of those races, let me know – I’ll be there right next to you!

    I hardly ever complain about the weather except for when it gets extreme, like the 111 degree day in Dallas last month. THAT was hot.

  5. I complain about the weather a fair bit. We’ve just come off one of the wettest winters on records and are in the midst of one of the coolest and wettest summers on records. It’s very depressing. Here we know that we’re going to get ALOT of rain throughout the fall, and then frequently until early spring. But usually we get a really nice spring and great summers with little rain and warm temperatures that aren’t too hot. The last 2 years have not been good and I find it hard to deal with.

    Fran … if you ever manage a trip to the US (or Canada) for a race, I will do everything I can to try to come. I’m sure we could get Syl to come too. 🙂 Things are finally turning around for me financially and hopefully soon I’ll be in a position again to do fun things like this again. It’s definitely on my bucket list to go meet Syl for a race.

  6. Chicken baked in the oven with white wine seems a good idea! It’s great to hear that your’re planning to run a half marathon in Italy 🙂 I’m glad that your workouts are going well!
    Have a nice runs!

  7. Man do I complain about the weather – you have seen our winters here on the blog. However, we also have the most awesomely beautiful weather at times as well. I like the change in seasons. I would not want to live where it was the same year round. It does sound rather cool where you live, though.

    I think you really need to visit where I am in the summer. I bet you would love Lake George. Or come in the fall when the beautiful colors happen. Nothing like New England in the fall! You would have to watch some football, though…

  8. I love that picture of the girl on the pony! Not a sight you see around here very often, I can tell you.

    I hope your weather turns soon. Rain does get old. We are in the steamy time of summer around here right now but I don’t mind–it’s better than winter!

  9. I just looked up the Lake Placid Half. I may have to do that.

  10. The girl on the Shetland pony is so cute! Food pics look great too.

    Great job running and going to the gym!!!

    The weather here is very hot and humid right now…hard to even breathe outside. Yay for air conditioning. I don’t really complain, but we do need some rain as all the grass is turning brown.

  11. What beautiful photos! Our weather is very hot and very humid. It is supposed to go up to 100 (38C) this week. I complain about it a lot, especially on days I run.

  12. I hate the constant weather talk – I live in a somewhat extreme climate (at least during this time of year) and we all know it will be hot and humid in the summer. Yes, it is hotter than in some years, but boy am I tired of talking about it every 15 minutes.

  13. in reference to Heidi’s comment – set it up, and I’ll make it happen 😉

  14. Your photos are beautiful. Here in Vancouver, we are CHRONIC whiners about the weather! And USUALLY it drives me crazy….why complain about something out of your control?? However, I have assimilated I guess, because we’ve had a miserable wet, cold spring/summer so far, and I find myself saying things like “when is summer going to arrive” and “I’m tired of this rain”. Come to Vancouver and do some of the runs here. You won’t overheat!!! And you’ll need to wear a waterproof jacket. 🙂 Have a great day Fran!!!

  15. oh and I forgot … the puppy is not mine, it was brought to me for the specific reason to cuddle with. My husband quickly made it very clear that we are not getting another dog. he’s a big meanie 😉

  16. yes, I think our climate here is very similar to yours. Roz has a good idea … come here for a run – you’d love the weather. Though I can’t recommend a good half since I’ve only done one and it was just a little one. It’s not one I’d recommend someone travel for. Personally I’d love to do one in California, near the ocean. They can be hilly, but the weather is usually pretty agreeable.

  17. I love that you got passed by a girl on a Shetland pony! Nice job with the double work out!

    I try not to complain too much about heat because I really do bitch about snow.

  18. I love how you have committed yourself to some races – will keep you on track with your training 🙂
    I complain about the weather although I know that there is nothing I can do about it.

  19. I’m used to the weather here since I grew up about 3 hours north of Seattle. But still, it’s summer time. Temps in the 50s is not summer!

Leave a Reply

