A day in my life: Saturday July 23, 2011

Thoughts:
I have switched to a different training plan for my half marathon in October.

The plan I was using didn’t work for me this time (it did the first time) and it made me more and more “unhappy” and unmotivated. It became more and more difficult to get up and go out for a run. I decided to search the internet to see if I could find a different plan and I found a training plan of 12 weeks by Hal Higdon.

I’m going a few steps back in the mileage but on the other hand the mileage builds up faster than the plan I used and I will be able to run a half in October. I had a finish time in mind but after a few weeks of training I realized it was too ambitious at this moment and I adjusted it to a slower finish time (but still under 2 hours and 30 minutes). The new plan has easy, tempo, speedwork, pace and long runs. I did have to switch my mind because some of my running days are changing and it has 5 runs a week instead of the 4 I do know. If 5 runs a week proves to be too much, I’ll drop the weekly easy run of 3 miles. I hope this plan will work better for me but I think it will. Wish me luck.

Weekend plans: today we have a housewarming party in the afternoon of a colleague of R. It “messes” a bit with the Tour de France that I’ve been watching this past week because it’s so thrilling. In case you want to know: I want Andy Schleck to win this tour. I don’t like Cadel Evans. I’m recording the Tour and watch it when we get back home.

And tomorrow is the big day: I’m going to meet my blogger friend Amy in the morning for coffee. I really look forward to that.

Exercise:
My long run of today was 8K (5 miles). Very strong wind today (we’re expecting lots of rain and hard wind this weekend). Lucky for me I had it against me the first part of the run, after that it got easier.
My new pace for my long runs is 7:10 /km and I kept it at that. Still few walking breaks but overall a good run.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy with a bit of sunshine, very strong wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:57:12
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Survivor – Eye of the tiger.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 202 – Thursday July 21
Bella saying Hi to a horse

Day 203 – Friday July 22
Playground close by my house.

17 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday July 23, 2011

  1. You sound enthusiastic about the new running plan, and I really think that’s the most important part of all, because as we both know, running is SUCH a mental thing. Good luck – and congrats on a great run this morning!!!

    You have a very relaxed horse in the background of the picture with Bella and the other horse, lol! Maybe he’s imitating my backyard squirrel? 😉

    Have fun meeting your first blogger friend! So jealous someone gets to meet you, wish it was me! Take pictures and have a great time!

  2. I hope the new running plan turns out to be a better fit for you. I used a Hal Higdon plan for my first marathon and thought it was a great plan, though I did sometimes miss a run here and there.

    I love that picture of Bella and the horse!

  3. Finding a good training plan is key to enjoying it, which is what will make you stick with it.

    The Tour is really exciting, isn’t it?

    Have fun meeting Amy – wish I could come, too.

  4. Hope your new plan works out for you Fran.
    Have fun with Amy tomorrow!

  5. Good luck with the new plan!!!

    Enjoy your visit with Amy!

    I will see if I can send some of the heat your way.

  6. I love Hal Higdon. I always use him but even then I vary them to fit my schedule. Good luck

  7. Hope the new training plan works out for you. It sounds like you are already liking the change. Maybe that is what you needed to get back on track.
    I’m impressed that Bella doesn’t seem too freaked out by the horse. I’m not sure what Delilah would think. I don’t think she’s ever met a horse before.

  8. I left my comment from my ipad yesterday, but see its not here…
    Wondering now if all my ipad comments never make it to you???>

  9. I hope the new training plan will work for you!

    I love the pic of Bella and the horse. Very cute.

    Happy Sunday!

  10. You can be sure that your running plan gives you motivation.
    Have a nice time with the blogger friend Amy!

  11. How was your visit with Amy?
    This comes from my iPad, so let’s see if delivers.

  12. Finding a good plan that has all the elements you want is tough. I usually make my own plan from a few different plans because I can never find one that is just right for me.

  13. how adorable is Bella with the horse!!! Love it!

  14. Hi Fran. YAY for the running plan. OMG..could Bella be any cuter??? Wait…I’ll answer my own question. No, she couldn’t get any cuter!! AWWW.
    Look forward to hearing about your meetup with Amy!! Have a great week!!!

  15. What a polite dog you have!

  16. Good luck on your new plan. I have a good feeling about your half.

  17. I think you have a great plan in place for the half marathon.

Leave a Reply

