A day in my life: Monday August 1, 2011

Thoughts:
The last Harry Potter was great although they changed the end compared to the end in the book. But it wasn’t annoying or something. I was sad when it was over. I have enjoyed the books and the movies so much and there was always something new to look forward too.

Lori asked me if our fish stay in the pond all year long. Well yes they do. They can survive Winter in our pond. If the water freezes we make a hole in it so they still have air. I think we have our garden this way over 5 years now and all the fish are in it for 5 years, well except the ones that were born in the past years. Only 2 fish died so far.
And Kandi asked if birds eat our fish. They don’t because the pond is surrounded by rocks and it’s not easy for birds to stand on it and catch the fish out of the pond.

Andrea said that working 2,5 hours in the garden doesn’t seem like rest but if I enjoyed it, she guessed it was.
Well I don’t enjoy gardening (I enjoy sitting in it) but it has to be done every now and then. I usually wait too long which makes it a lot of work once I do it. To be honest it wasn’t rest. Because of the moves I make when I garden my legs were so painful the next morning and yesterday I had to cancel my runs. Even walking wasn’t fun but I did do that.

Lesson that I learned: don’t do garden work the day before a run. Do it when the next day is a rest day.

Daily Dinner:

Cocktail Sunday: Daiquiri.

Monday
Oven dish with chicken, ham, green peas and mushrooms under a roof of pastry.
Recipe from Ainsley Harriot, Feel Good Cookbook.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 211 – Saturday July 30
It was a 3D movie 🙂

Day 212 – Sunday July 31
We went for a walk to the forest with Bella.

Day 213 – Monday August 1
Monthly view of our garden.

Workout goals July  2011

Quote of the month:
“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?’” – Peter Maher

This month a different approach of my workout goals for July. Shelley you will be happy: no numbers this time 🙂

I’m not satisfied how last month went when it comes to working out and running and I don’t feel like sharing numbers this month. It was a little bit better than June but I could have done much better.

Goals for August:

  • Follow my half marathon schedule, run at least 4 times every week.
  • Keep on going with the 31 days of activity. Doing this reminds me to keep moving for at least 30 minutes every day. Although I got close, I didn’t beat my total of June (1822 minutes) and I’m trying to beat it again this month.
  • Keep on swimming and cross training but ….. Summer has finally arrived here today and I decided that I want to do my cross training outside if the weather is good which means I will go out on my bike. If the weather isn’t good I go back indoors for swimming and cross training.

That’s it for this month. I’m not going to be a wimp but I’m going to be strong!

15 responses to “A day in my life: Monday August 1, 2011

  1. Bella is a very lucky dog! I bet she loved that walk. Sorry gardening was so hard!

  2. Love the photos you share!! Love them.

    Each month, each day is a chance to do better – forget about July and have a great August.

  3. I don’t think you are a wimp at all. Half marathon training is not for wimps!

    Harry Potter was in 3D?

  4. I like your goals!!! You know, simple is good. Sometimes I think we tend to try and overachieve – I know for me, lately I’ve been thinking I should add some more laps to my swim routine. But you know, 100 is enough. Why do I think I should do more? When do I stop? So see, you’ve got a good, sensible handle on your workout goals. 🙂

  5. I agree with the above comments…simple and strong goals!!! Go Fran!

  6. Sounds like good goals, and you are definitely NOT a wimp!
    We are planning on doing some gardening today – I guess I better be careful or my legs will be sore tomorrow! Funny how that kind of stuff can really do it you, even when you can go out and run for an hour.
    And your pastry looks very, very pretty!

  7. We all have months where we don’t do what we thought we would. Life happens. Making your goals simple and doable is the best thing you can do!

    LOVE that shot of you guys in the 3D glasses. It needs to be framed and displayed!

  8. I also saw that the ending was different than the one in the book. Both was great but I would have preferred it, if they stayed true to the book though.

  9. Go get ’em, Fran!

  10. I need to implement cocktail Sunday into my life 🙂

  11. Great goals Fran!!! You’ll rock them all!!!! LOVE that you had cocktail Sunday too!!! Who knows, one day we may be in the same place and can share our Cocktail Sundays!!! Bella is ADORABLE!!! Love all the photos. Have a great day!!!

  12. Those daiquiris look wonderful, and the puff pastry dish looks so professional! Like you could get that in a restaurant, wow. I think your goals are excellent, and you don’t seem like a wimp at all. Bella is adorable, is she a cairn, or a scottie, or some other kind of little terrier?

  13. I love the goals, especially the daily activity one!

  14. Glad you liked my idea. We can get back to that higher fitness level, we just have to keep working at it. Little goals at a time. I made it through a 3 mile (5K) run this morning without taking a walk break … that’s progress. 🙂

  15. You have some really great goals for August! I know you can do it Fran. I’m here rooting for you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

