A day in my life: Wednesday August 3, 2011

Thoughts:
As you know I still have to take walk breaks during my runs since my running base still isn’t the same as it was in April.

This morning during my run I was thinking about that but didn’t figure out how I was going to do that. Shortly after that I read Heidi’s blog. She has set a goal for herself at which running level she wants to be at the end of August and while reading it I thought that was a great idea.

And I did set a goal for myself. By the end of this month I want to be back at the running level I had in April. I made a schedule how many walk breaks my runs can have the next 4 weeks. Goal is to run short distances without stopping again and the long runs with short walk breaks for fueling.

Having a plan how to do this works better for me than just do something. I’ve been struggling with this for at least 2 months now and it is obvious that that didn’t work. I think my new approach will.

Exercise:
Tuesday morning I had an easy run planned of 5.6K (3.5 miles). During my easy runs I don’t watch my pace, I run at what feels good at that moment. It was a nice run because the weather was perfect for a run. During lunch I took a walk with my friend K. and after dinner a 15 minute walk with Bella.

Stats:
Weather: dry, a little bit of wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 5.6 K / 3.5 miles
Time: 00:39:08
Average time: 6:59 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – Hungry Heart.

This morning I had to do a tempo run of 30 minutes (10 minutes warm up, 15 minutes tempo, 5 minutes cool down). Due to walk breaks it wasn’t a real tempo run in the end but the run itself was good. It was already warm at 5.30 am and I noticed the sun wasn’t up completely, dark mornings are on their way again.

Stats:
Weather: dry, no wind, bit humid, 21C (69 degrees)
Distance: 4.3 K / 2.6 miles
Time: 00:30:19
Average time: 7:03 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – Another part of me.

When I came home from work I took Bella for a 32-minute walk and after dinner I took my bike, put Bella in her basket and went for a bike ride. There were already a few raindrops when I left and at the end it started to rain harder so I biked as fast as I could. I had a walk break so Bella could pee and she ran alongside my bike at the leash for a while. I biked 7.5K (4.6 miles) in 34 minutes.

Daily Dinner:

Tuesday
Noodles with vegetables, beef tenderloin and mango.

Wednesday
Potato tortilla, tomato salsa and a sausage.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 214 – Tuesday August 2
My little herb garden in the kitchen.

Day 215 – Wednesday August 3
View during my bike ride.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday August 3, 2011

  1. Roz@weightingfor50

    Way to go Fran. Sounds like a great plan, and you’ll soon reach your running goal!!! And way to go on all the activity too!!! As always, LOVE the photos. Hope your week is going well.

  2. Love the last photo.

    I think walk breaks are ok…I am actually trying to figure out how to work them into my runs so that I can let my legs recover a little….One blogger I follow does 5 minute run 1 minute walk. I am thinking maybe a 10min/1 min….still working on that.

  3. What a long, straight road!

    Having a goal and then figuring out a plan to take you there is always a good idea – I’m sure you will be back at your previous level of running soon!

  4. You take really nice pictures. What kind of camera do you have?

  5. I love how you constantly reassess your progress so that you can make adjustments to get to your goal. That’s a great trait Fran.

    Have you heard of Jeff Galloway? He is considered the ‘father’ of the run/walk method here in the USA. He was an Olympic athlete who found he struggled as he aged. Almost by accident he found out if he added walk breaks to his running he was finishing races faster again! He has some very good training programs for all distances. If you continue to have issues maybe you’d look his training up.

  6. I am so behind in blog reading as spend so much time on Ipad and there I have no blogroll ~ I try find everyone via the comments they leave on my blogs..and that way get to their page..
    But now at computer so can read and see nicely as screen is big….hahaha, old eyes these.

    Seems all is going well in Fran household…always good to read.
    Running is a huge part of your life, so reading that you got out to run and enjoyed it, is a bonus.

  7. Like Helen says, the walk/run method by Galway is very popular. He says that people even use it during races and will have better times than if they tried to run the whole thing!

    Are there no hills where you live?

  8. Great work Fran, I think that’s a great goal.
    I’ve been out twice this week and it’s been wonderful, not overly concerned about taking walking breaks at the moment, I’m just happy to have gottten out ;-).
    Love your herb garden, I have such a black thumb ;-(.
    Happy to hear all is going well for you!

  9. Hi Fran! Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and leaving a comment!

    Good luck with your return to running – you are doing great and I look forward to following along!

  10. onelittletrigirl

    I think it is really ok to walk- but having a goal of any kind is what makes us better! Sometimes, I still walk. I am of the belief that as long as you are out there and trying to better yourself, you are headed in the right direction!

  11. About Mark Knopfler: you are very kind to say HI for me. He called me to tell that he is going to meet you. However he comes to visit me in Rome on nov. 12 and I am sure he will tell me everything about your meeting. He asked if he can bring with him Bob Dylan. I said “yes of course”.
    You have a good plan but, please, don’t be in hurry.
    Beautiful view. How long is that route?

  12. That sounds like a great plan to cut out walk breaks by the end of the month. Good luck!

  13. Keep up the good work Fran. I’ve been struggling a lot over the last few weeks too, but try not to get to down on myself. Atleast I’m still out there doing it and so are you. Just keep on keeping on! You will be where you want to be soon.

  14. Glad I could help buddy. 🙂 We’ll both be back to running non-stop again soon. It’s coming, keep at it.

Leave a Reply

