A day in my life: Saturday August 6, 2011

Thoughts:
I was so tired Thursday. I could hardly get out of bed at 5.10 am for my morning run. I did get up and did get out for a run but it was a very slow one. It didn’t get better during the day. Around 3 pm I almost fell asleep behind my desk and got up and walked to a colleague to talk a little. That’s when I decided I would take a relaxing evening and do nothing.

Weekend plans: Tonight I’m going to bring Bella to my Mom. She’s going to stay there till Monday. Bella adores my Mom and my Mom adores her. When we drive into the street where my Mom lives, Bella starts jumping up and down in the car. As soon as we open the door, she sprints to the door of my Mom’s house.

We’re bringing her because we will be away all day tomorrow. My company is main sponsor of a race event. The advantage of this is that we got VIP tickets for tomorrow. This means we got a parking spot close by, food and drinks for free all day and the best seats to watch the races. There will be all kind of car races tomorrow. We both look forward to this. Of course I will take photos to show you on Monday’s post.

Exercise:
As said above: a slow, short and easy run Thursday morning.

Stats:
Weather: dry, a little bit of wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:23:09
Average time: 7:13 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Forget you.

Yesterday was my rest day and I played it safe and didn’t work in the garden 🙂  I did do some housekeeping jobs and walked with Bella for 40 minutes.

This morning I had to do my long run. Actually the schedule said run a 5K race but since I missed last weeks long run I decided to do that. I’m getting better at running the long runs slower. It’s not about finishing in a good time, I never watch the time I’ve been running during my long runs. The only thing I watch is my pace to see if I need to slow down a bit. I needed 4 walk breaks today and am happy with that. At my last long run I needed much more. All in all a good run that gave me my confidence back that I can totally do that half marathon as long as I keep running.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little bit wind, started out cloudy, ended sunny, 20C (68 degrees)
Distance: 9.6 K / 6 miles
Time: 01:08:14
Average time: 7:06 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Bad Romance

Daily Dinner:

Thursday
Chicken curry with basmati rice. Recipe from Ainsley Harriott – Feel Good cookbook.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 216 – Thursday August 4
Our beautiful happy Bella.

Day 217 – Friday August 5
Walking with Bella. This is a path that’s around our cemetery. It’s in the middle of my village but it feels a bit like you’re in a forest.

Day 218 – Saturday August 6
VIP tickets for Sunday’s event.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 6, 2011

  1. You certainly can run a half marathon. Consistency is key, which you seem to have.

    Are you bringing those big earphones like in the picture on your tickets?? I hate the noise of car races and I would probably be hiding by the food all day LOL 😀

  2. VIP baby! 🙂 I loved your picture of Bella, so cute.

  3. How sweet that Bella loves her Granny so much – I can just picture her in the car, getting all excited. Sounds like it will be a good weekend for them, and you and R. as well – very cool to get the VIP passes!

    Your running is awesome. That was a great time for 6 miles. Love that you are listening to your body (ok, and listening to Glee!).

    Have fun at the races!

  4. Great job on the running! You will be ready for your half!!!

    Have a great time at the races!

    I hope your Mom and Bella have a wonderful time together.

  5. I love that picture of Bella! You’ll be ready, don’t worry. A little tiredness is to be expected.

  6. Have a super time at the car event.Sounds like fun, especially with the VIP tickets. Bella is so cute. She is lucky to have doggy care at your Mom’s. When I had my Dachshund, I would take him to my parents, if I was gone for a long day. He loved it, and so did my parents.

  7. Yeah for VIP status. That sounds great.

  8. VIP tickets – very cool! Have a great time!

  9. You are doing great with your running Fran. As you know by now, there are good ones and there are bad ones! You definitely have the ability to run a half marathon so don’t think otherwise.

    Hope you had fun at the races, you VIP!

  10. I think its the unknown that makes us fear this half marathon. I to know I can do it, but there are days I doubt myself.
    Tomorrow I’m going to do a road run of 16km, am excited as it means I’m getting closer to my goal of 20km for the 21km….
    Once we have done it am sure we will feel so much better…..and have the confidence that all the other experienced half marathoners have.
    Syl, has made me believe I can do it….So I go forward with this months training with that in mind.

    Bella looks adorable…brings you so much joy, great to hear you mom loves her * grandchild * as well…

  11. I think you can totally do a half marathon, and there is nothing wrong with walking during a run. I use a run/walk program, so I walk quite a bit. Some might scoff and say I am not a runner, but if it is the only way I can run without getting injured, that’s what I will do! Wonderful picture of Bella – she is so cute!

  12. Of course you can run a half marathon, Fran!
    Have a good training and enjoy the rest of this Sunday!

  13. Great workouts!!! Hope you had a nice weekend!

  14. I have yet to make it through a day without taking a nap when I get up at 4:30 to run in the morning. I need to go to bed earlier, but it’s hard to get to bed before 10…. Good job on your runs!

  15. Roz@weightingfor50

    What a great day. LUCKY Bella spending time with your Mom. (love the photo of her!!!) No doubt in my mind that you are a VIP!!! Have a great day Fran.

  16. Oh love the Bella loves spending time with your Mom, my dogs are like that with my husbands parents. The think it is horrible if I take them to my dads. Silly dogs.

    HAve a great time with your VIP treatment at the reaces. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

