A week in the life: week 31-2011

As you can see my Monday post has changed. I’m trying something new and give a recap of how my week has been. Hope you like it.

Weekend recap:
Saturday was an easy day, just relaxed at home. In the evening we brought Bella to my Mom for her sleepover and I went to bed early as I had to get up early Sunday morning.

Sunday morning we got up at 6.30 am and left the house at 7.30 am. It was an 1.5 hour drive to get to the race track. Luckily there wasn’t any traffic jam at that time, we heard during the day that so many people wanted to visit the race track that there was a traffic jam of 18 K (11 miles).

We arrived at 9 am and were one of the first to arrive. We started the day with coffee and cake and after that went to the roof of the hospitality to watch the races. There were motor races, car races and kart races and some demonstrations. We also took a walk across the paddock and visited a pit box. We even sneaked into the pit lane (we weren’t allowed to be there) and watch a ceremony with a champagne shower. Lunch was very good, can’t remember what I ate and forgot to take a picture but it was delicious. Around 4.30 pm we had seen enough and drove home where we arrived at around 6.15 pm. It was a great day, we had lots of fun and definitely will go again next year.

Weekly workout review
I’m very happy with my running this week. I did all the runs that were on my schedule. I could do better at cross training workouts but to be honest this is not that important to me at the moment. Getting my running base back has priority. Also took a few walks last week.

Book I’m reading
Tess Gerritsen – Body double

Movies I’ve seen last week
This will be in this post too but I didn’t watch a movie last week.

TV shows I’ve been watching last week
Rookie Blue, Covert Affairs, few episodes of Modern Family (rerun).

Weekend Dinner
I forgot to take pictures this weekend of my plates.

Cocktail Sunday
No cocktail Sunday. I didn’t know what time we would be home and therefore didn’t plan a cocktail for Sunday night.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 219 – Sunday August 7
Day 220 – Monday August 8
Combining 2 days and show you some photos of yesterday.

In the pitbox

Dutch Superbikes champignonship

Ceremony winners Talent Cup

Kart race

Demonstration Robert Doornbos

Highlight of the week
Visiting the GAMMA racing day on Sunday.

Quote of the week
“If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.” Priscilla Welch

17 responses to “A week in the life: week 31-2011

  1. What a great adventure you had this past weekend. That actually looks like a lot of fun. 🙂

    Love the quote.

  2. Starting the day with coffee and cake sounds good to me! Looks like you had a good time at the race. I’ve never been to a car race before. Enjoyed looking at your photos.
    I like your layout of a week in review.

  3. Good job on the workouts this week. We are on the same page lately … running is improving, I did a weekly review today too. Glad you had a great weekend!

  4. Great pictures! Looks like a wonderful time.

    Yay to getting all your runs in!

  5. sounds like a great week Fran, you did great! Love all the pics you posted and the new lay out of the week. That last picture is incredible!

  6. I know meeting your running goals was a huge relief to you! I hope that has given you the mental encouragement you needed to know that you CAN do your training!

  7. Looks interesting! Lots different from the track I was at this weekend LOL!

    I like recap posts 😀

  8. That is a huge racetrack! Love the track girls in their catsuits – such a macho sport, lol!

  9. You’re doing great with your running schedule!

  10. Fun recap! Great job last week!!

  11. That looked like a lot of fun.
    I too like your new schedule.
    I think I may have read that book but I am not sure!

  12. Great workouts this week! That race track looks like a lot of fun, I’ve never been to car races. The only race track I’ve been to is a horse race track.

  13. What a fun weekend! Awesome workouts! How do you like your book?? I’m always looking for new ones to read 🙂

  14. Great training week you had ~ you getting ready for your marathon.
    Today I ran 18km…no walking, am so happy with myself….but its tiring.

    Love the photo’s. My hubby would love to have been there as well..He and R would get on so well as he used to ride bikes back in SA, but not here in Germany…

  15. Great pictures, looks like it was a fun time.
    Great workout!

  16. I am so glad to hear you were happy with your running this past week – good for you! And it sounds like you guys had a really fun day at the races… 🙂

  17. Great photos Fran!!!!! I’d like to say “glad you had the runs” but that just sounds wrong!!!! 🙂 Have a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

